Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2016, Sun, Apr 17

The ‚Smart‘ Mandate: A Speculative History

With Orit Halpern

Today, growing concerns (whether real or imagined) with climate change, energy scarcity, security threats, and economic instability have turned the focus of urban planners, investors, and governments towards a new paradigm of high technology development obsessed with “smart” infrastructures and big data. Orit Halpern will situate this contemporary situation by offering a speculative genealogy of the rise of the "responsive" environment and the “progressive quantification and monetization” of everyday life through an exploration of the work of early pioneers in computer aided design, architecture, cybernetics and neural nets working with the Architecture Machine Group at MIT. Arguably, this history offers a mirror through which to interrogate the assemblage of human sciences, machine learning, design and urban and global politics that continues to inform our fundamental faith that increased penetration of computational media into life is both desirable and necessary for human survival.

Orit Halpern is an Associate Professor and Strategic Hire in Interactive Design and Theory in the Department of Sociology and Anthropology at Concordia University, Montréal. Her work bridges the histories of science, computing, and cybernetics with design and art practice.

Her most recent book Beautiful Data: A History of Vision and Reason since 1945 (2015) is a genealogy of interactivity and our contemporary obsessions with “big” data and data visualization. She has also published and created works for a variety of venues including The Journal of Visual Culture, Public Culture, Configurations, C-theory, and ZKM in Karlsruhe. She has an MPH. from Columbia University School of Public Health, and completed her Ph.D. at Harvard University in the History of Science. She has also held fellowships from the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin, the Graham Foundation, Digital Culture Research Lab at Leuphana University, the Institute for Public Knowledge at NYU, and the BMW Stiftung Herbert Quandt.

So, 17. April 2016

The ‚Smart‘ Mandate: A Speculative History

Mit Orit Halpern

Heute haben die zunehmende Sorge (sei sie nun real oder eingebildet) über Klimawandel, Energieknappheit, Sicherheit und wirtschaftliche Instabilität den Fokus von Stadtplaner*innen, Investor*innen und Regierungen auf ein neues Paradigma der Technologisierung verschoben, das besessen von „intelligenten“ Infrastrukturen und Big Data ist. Orit Halpern entwirft eine spekulative Genealogie des Aufstiegs eines „responsive environment“ und der „fortschreitenden Quantifizierung und Monetisierung“ des Alltagslebens. Sie blickt dazu auf die Arbeit früher Pioniere in computergestütztem Design , Architektur, Kybernetik und neuronalen Netzen, die in der Architecture Machine Group am MIT beteiligt waren. Diese spekulative Geschichte illustriert, wie die Assemblage aus Humanwissenschaften, maschinellem Lernen, Design, Stadt- und Weltpolitik den festen Glauben an die Vorzüge und die Notwendigkeit eines von Computermedien durchdrungenen Lebens fortwährend speisen.

Orit Halpern ist Associate Professor and Strategic Hire in Interactive Design and Theory am Department of Sociology and Anthropology an der Concordia University, Montréal. Ihre Arbeit verbindet Wissenschafts-, Computer- und Kybernetikgeschichte mit künstlerischen und gestalterischen Praktiken.

Ihr jüngstes Buch, Beautiful Data: A History of Vision and Reason since 1945 (2015) ist eine Genealogie der Interaktivität und unserer aktuellen Obsession mit Big Data und Datenvisualisierung. Sie hat für eine Vielzahl von Institutionen publiziert und Werke geschaffen, darunter The Journal of Visual Culture, Public Culture, Configurations, CTheory und das ZKM in Karlsruhe. Sie hat einen Master in Public Health von der Columbia University School of Public Health und promovierte in Wissenschaftsgeschichte an der Harvard University. Sie war Fellow am Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte in Berlin, an der Graham Foundation, am Digital Culture Research Lab der Leuphana Universität, am Institute for Public Knowledge an der NYU und bei der BMW Stiftung Herbert Quandt.