Sun, May 27: Traffic obstructions around HKW More information

2016, Fri, Mar 04

Chapter 1: Alaska Aleuten

D: Ulrike Ottinger, D 2015, original version with German and English subtitles, 190 min

Der Rabe als Weltenschöpfer, Chamisso’s Shadow, 2014 | © Ulrike Ottinger

Der Rabe als Weltenschöpfer, Chamisso’s Shadow, 2014 | © Ulrike Ottinger

Screening and talk with: Ulrike Ottinger, Aleida Assmann, Jan Assmann, Bernd Scherer

Ulrike Ottinger is a multiple award-winning filmmaker, artist, photographer, writer, theater and radio director. Born in Konstanz in 1942, at the age of twenty she moved to Paris, where she lived for six years as a freelance artist and attended lectures by Claude Lévi-Strauss, Louis Althusser and Pierre Bourdieu in art history, religious studies and anthropology. In 1966 she wrote her first screenplay entitled Die mongolische Doppelschublade. It was followed by a variety of experimental documentaries and feature films (including Madame X, 1977; Freak Orlando, 1981; Südostpassage, 2002; Under Snow, 2011) covering a wide range of mythological and ethno-poetic works as well as photographic works exploring the cultures of various East Asian and Southeast European countries, but also the society of her own country. Her films have been screened at international festivals from Cannes to Toronto and have received many awards, including the audience award in Montréal and the German Film Prize (Gold, for Johanna D’Arc of Mongolia) in 1989 and the German Film Critics’ Award in 1986 (for China. Die Künste – Der Alltag) and 2008 (for Prater). In 2011 she was conferred the Hannah Höch Prize of the State of Berlin for her life’s work.

Aleida Assmann was professor of English and literature at the University of Konstanz from 1993 - 2014. Between 1968 and 1975 she and her husband went on several excavations in Upper Egypt. In 1977 she earned doctorates in English as well as in Egyptology and in 1992 she qualified as professor at the modern languages faculty of the University of Heidelberg. Visiting professorships took her to Rice University in Texas, the Ivy League universities Princeton and Yale and the University of Vienna. In 2009 she was awarded the Max Planck Research Award and in 2011 the Ernst Robert Curtius Prize for Essay Writing. Cultural anthropology has been a focus of her research since the 1990s, in which she has worked on themes of cultural memory, remembrance and oblivion. She has published numerous works on English literature, the history of reading and the culture of remembrance, including the monographs monographs Im Dickicht der Zeichen (2015), Ist die Zeit aus den Fugen? Aufstieg und Fall des Zeitregimes der Moderne (2013) and Shadows of Trauma: Memory and the Politics of Postwar Identity(2015)

Jan Assmann was professor of Egyptology at the University of Heidelberg from 1976 to 2003, since 2005 he is Honorary Professor for religious theory and general cultural studies at the University of Konstanz. He had guest professorships at several universities in Paris, at Yale, in Jerusalem and Chicago. He was awarded the Max Planck Research Award in 1996 and the German Historian´s Prize in 1998. In addition to archaeological fieldwork (Theban necropolises) his research interests are theoretical and comparative perspectives on Egyptian religion and literature, cultural theory (cultural memory), general religious studies (polytheism and monotheism) and the reception of Egypt in European intellectual history. Selected writings include Cultural Memory and Early Civilization: Writing, Remembrance, and Political Imagination (1992), The Mind of Egypt: History and Meaning in the Time of the Pharaohs (1996), Religion and Cultural Memory: Ten Studies (2000) and Death and Salvation in Ancient Egypt (2001) and Exodus - Die Revolution der Alten Welt (2015).

Fr, 04. März 2016

Kapitel 1: Alaska Aleuten

R: Ulrike Ottinger, D 2015, OV mit dt. /engl. UT, 190 min

Der Rabe als Weltenschöpfer, Chamissos Schatten, 2014 | © Ulrike Ottinger

Der Rabe als Weltenschöpfer, Chamissos Schatten, 2014 | © Ulrike Ottinger

Film, Gespräch: Ulrike Ottinger, Aleida Assmann, Jan Assmann, Bernd Scherer

Ulrike Ottinger ist vielfach preisgekrönte Filmemacherin, Künstlerin, Fotografin, Autorin, Theater- und Hörspielregisseurin. 1942 in Konstanz geboren, zog sie 1962 nach Paris, wo sie sechs Jahre lang als freie Künstlerin lebte und Vorlesungen in Kunstgeschichte, Religionswissenschaften und Ethnologie bei Claude Lévi-Strauss, Louis Althusser und Pierre Bourdieu besuchte. 1966 entstand ihr erstes Drehbuch mit dem Titel Die mongolische Doppelschublade. Es folgte eine Vielzahl an experimentellen Dokumentar- und Spielfilmen ( u.a.: Madame X, 1977; Freak Orlando, 1981; Südostpassage, 2002; Unter Schnee, 2011), die einen weiten Bogen von mytho- und ethnopoetischen Werken spannen sowie fotografischen Arbeiten, in denen sie sich den Kulturen verschiedener ostasiatischer und südosteuropäischer Länder, aber auch den gesellschaftlichen Verhältnissen ihrer Heimat widmet. Ihre Filme waren auf internationalen Festivals von Cannes bis Toronto zu sehen und wurden vielfach ausgezeichnet, u. a. 1989 mit dem Preis der Publikumsjury Montréal und dem Bundesfilmpreis (Filmband in Gold für Johanna D´Arc of Mongolia), sowie 1986 (China. Die Künste – Der Alltag ) und 2008 (Prater) mit dem Preis der deutschen Filmkritik. Im Jahr 2011 wurde ihr der Hannah-Höch-Preis des Landes Berlin für ihr künstlerisches Lebenswerk verliehen.

Aleida Assmann war von 1993 – 2014 Professorin für Anglistik und Allgemeine Literaturwissenschaften an der Universität Konstanz. Zwischen 1968 und 1975 war sie, gemeinsam mit ihrem Mann, mehrmals zu Ausgrabungen in Oberägypten. 1977 promovierte sie sowohl in Anglistik als auch in Ägyptologie; 1992 wurde sie an der neuphilologischen Fakultät der Universität Heidelberg habilitiert. Gastprofessuren führten sie unter anderem an die Rice University Texas, die Eliteuniversitäten Princeton und Yale sowie an die Universität Wien. 2009 wurde ihr der Max-Planck-Forschungspreis verliehen, 2011 der Ernst-Robert-Curtius-Preis für Essayistik. Zu ihren Forschungsschwerpunkten gehören seit den 1990er Jahren die Kulturanthropologie mit den Themen kulturelles Gedächtnis, Erinnerung und Vergessen. Sie veröffentlichte zahlreiche Arbeiten zur englischen Literatur, zur Geschichte des Lesens und zur Erinnerungskultur, darunter die Monografien Im Dickicht der Zeichen (2015), Ist die Zeit aus den Fugen? Aufstieg und Fall des Zeitregimes der Moderne (2013) und Der lange Schatten der Vergangenheit (2006).

Jan Assmann war von 1976 bis 2003 Professor für Ägyptologie an der Universität Heidelberg, seit 2005 ist er Honorarprofessor für Religionstheorie und allgemeine Kulturwissenschaft an der Universität Konstanz. Er hatte Gastprofessuren inne an diversen Universitäten in Paris, Yale, Jerusalem und Chicago. 1996 wurde ihm der Max-Planck-Forschungspreis verliehen, 1998 der Deutsche Historikerpreis. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte sind neben archäologischer Feldarbeit (Thebanische Nekropolen) ägyptische Religion und Literatur in theoretischer und vergleichender Perspektive, Kulturtheorie (kulturelles Gedächtnis), allgemeine Religionswissenschaft (Polytheismus und Monotheismus) sowie die Rezeption Ägyptens in der europäischen Geistesgeschichte. Ausgewählte Schriften: Das kulturelle Gedächtnis. Schrift, Erinnerung und politische Identität in frühen Hochkulturen (1992), Ägypten – eine Sinngeschichte (1996),Tod und Jenseits im Alten Ägypten (2001), Exodus – Die Revolution der Alten Welt (2015).