2016, Sun, Feb 07

The Mess with Tech, Sense and Thinking

With Hannes Brunner, Ursula Damm and Mindaugas Gapševičius

The act of making a decision can be seen as a personal act of independence. But how is the decision-making process affected by our increasing dependences on networked systems?

When we relate to a group, whether online or off, our behavior is conditioned. Given the omnipresence of social media and technologically mediated communication, are we liberated by our social decisions or oppressed? Is it possible to make a decision freely? (And was it ever?) Within the event Mess with Tech: Sense and Thinking, the conditions of communication today will be explored through building tools and devices to create sensory networks. Performative practices in mediated and unmediated environments will be explored.

The project is the outcome of a collaboration between students from Bauhaus University, Weimar and Weißensee Kunsthochschule, Berlin. Initiated by Ursula Damm, Hannes Brunner, Mindaugas Gapševičius. Other contributions by Darsha Hewitt, Martin Schneider

Contributions by: Emilio Aguas, Dovile Aleksaite, Rama Bielewski, Viktor Bone, Maria Degand, Christian Doeller, Liese Endler, Michael Fischer, Yvonne Götzl, Paul Haas, Meike Halle, Esben Holk Nielsen, Jihye Hong, Yawen Huang, Stephan Isermann, Francis Kamprath, Sebastian Kaye, Stefanie Kägi, Leo Koppelkamm, Eri Kubo, Sonja Ofen, Azusena Sanchez, Matthias Schäfer, Susanne Schmitt, Marco Schöder, Rachel Smith, Tanja Szallies, Mirce Velarde-Liljehult, Tim Vischer, Lea Wieland, and others.

So, 07. Februar 2016

The Mess with Tech, Sense and Thinking

Mit Hannes Brunner, Ursula Damm und Mindaugas Gapševičius

Das Treffen von Entscheidungen kann als unabhängiger, persönlicher Akt gewertet werden. Aber wie sehr beeinflusst unsere zunehmende Abhängigkeit von Netzwerk-Systemen den Prozess des Sich-Entscheidens?

Wenn wir uns on- oder offline an eine Gruppe wenden, beinflusst das auch unser Verhalten. Werden wir angesichts der Omnipräsenz sozialer Medien und technologisch vermittelter Kommunikation durch unsere sozialen Entscheidungen befreit oder unterdrückt? Ist es möglich, eine Entscheidung frei zu treffen? (War es das jemals?) Bei The Mess with Tech: Sense and Thinking werden Tools und Geräte zum Entwickeln sensorischer Netzwerke gebaut und so die Bedingungen heutiger Kommunikation untersucht. Auch performative Praktiken in mediatisierten und nicht mediatisierten Umgebungen sollen dabei erforscht werden.

Das Projekt ist das Ergebnis einer Zusammenarbeit von Studierenden der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar und der Weißensee Kunsthochschule Berlin, und wurde von Ursula Damm, Hannes Brunner und Mindaugas Gapševičius initiiert. Mit Beiträgen von Darsha Hewitt und Martin Schneider.

Beiträge von: Emilio Aguas, Dovile Aleksaite, Rama Bielewski, Viktor Bone, Maria Degand, Christian Doeller, Liese Endler, Michael Fischer, Yvonne Götzl, Paul Haas, Meike Halle, Esben Holk Nielsen, Jihye Hong, Yawen Huang, Stephan Isermann, Francis Kamprath, Sebastian Kaye, Stefanie Kägi, Leo Koppelkamm, Eri Kubo, Sonja Ofen, Azusena Sanchez, Matthias Schäfer, Susanne Schmitt, Marco Schöder, Rachel Smith, Tanja Szallies, Mirce Velarde-Liljehult, Tim Vischer, Lea Wieland und anderen.