2015, Sat, Oct 24

What can Architecture do in a Revolution? Stories from a Pragmatical Utopia

With Delfim Sardo (curator)

Born out of the Portuguese revolution of April 25, 1974, SAAL – the Serviço Ambulatório de Apoio Local (Local Ambulatory Support Service) – was one of the most compelling processes in twentieth-century architecture. It was a pioneering experiment in Europe, setting up technical teams (known as brigades) led by architects who, in collaboration with the local communities, tried to address the urgent housing needs of the underprivileged communities across the country.

From surveying living conditions to supporting resident committees, from the architectural project to monitoring cases of land expropriation, the brigades were reinventing the practice of architecture, designing projects with the residents and not for them. Active until October 1976, SAAL was to produce in its twenty-six months of existence, some 170 projects that involved more than 40,000 families from North to South – an amazing number compared with the population of the country.

The stories of those frantic years are also the history which can be condensed in the program set by SAAL creator, the architect Nuno Portas: "In the traditional housing system, everything is done when the tenants arrive. With the SAAL program, the tenant arrives before any decision is made.”

Sa, 24. Oktober 2015

What can Architecture do in a Revolution? Stories from a Pragmatical Utopia

Mit Delfim Sardo (Kurator)

Im Zuge der portugiesischen Nelkenrevolution vom 25. April 1974 begann mit dem SAAL – Serviço Ambulatório de Apoio Local (lokaler ambulanter Unterstützungsdienst) – eine der größten Erfolgsgeschichten in der Architektur des 20. Jahrhunderts. Der SAAL leistete europaweit Pionierarbeit. Er bildete Teams von Fachleuten unter Anleitung von Architekten („Brigaden“), die in Zusammenarbeit mit der lokalen Bevölkerung dem dringendsten Wohnungsmangel unterprivilegierter Bevölkerungskreise im ganzen Land abhalfen.

Vom Erfassen der Lebensumstände vor Ort zur Unterstützung von Bewohnerkomitees, vom architektonischen Projekt bis hin zur Begleitung von Grundstückenteignungen erfanden die Brigaden die Arbeit des Architekten, der Architektin neu. Sie entwarfen Projekte nicht nur für die Bewohner, sondern mit diesen. Der SAAL war bis Oktober 1976 aktiv. In den 26 Monaten seiner Existenz führte er landauf, landab rund 170 Bauprojekte mit mehr als 40.000 beteiligten Familien durch – eine erstaunliche Zahl im Verhältnis zur Gesamtbevölkerung.

Die Geschichte dieser fieberhaften Jahre lässt sich in einer programmatischen Äußerung von Nuno Portas, dem Schöpfer des SAAL, zusammenfassen: „Beim traditionellen Wohnungsbau ist alles fertig, wenn die Bewohner kommen. Beim SAAL sind die Bewohner schon dabei, noch bevor auch nur irgendeine Entscheidung fällt.“