Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2015, Fri, Oct 23

Retrofit Gecekondu

With Teddy Cruz, Fonna Forman (Estudio Teddy Cruz + Forman), and representatives of the initiative Kotti & Co (Moderated by Jesko Fezer)

Kotti & Co and Teddy Cruz with Fonna Forman give insights into their respective work in Berlin and the San Diego–Tijuana border region. They will conclude by speaking about their collaboration on the 1:1 model “Retrofit Gecekondu” in the exhibition

Kotti & Co – Die Mietergemeinschaft am Kottbusser Tor was founded in 2011 in protest of the high rents for Berlin’s social housing. By staging a large number of protest actions and events, bringing together professional expertise, publishing texts, and engaging in discussions, the tenant community at Kottbusser Tor has since become one of the central negotiating platforms for new rental and urban development policies, as well as for topics regarding migration, racism, and poverty.

Estudio Teddy Cruz + Forman is the research-based practice of architect Teddy Cruz and political theorist Fonna Forman in San Diego. With a particular focus on the relationship between bottom-up urbanization and housing, their work emphasizes urban conflict and informality as sites of intervention for rethinking public policy and civic infrastructure. They are presently investigating 'citizenship culture' in the San Diego-Tijuana border region.

Fr, 23. Oktober 2015

Retrofit Gecekondu

Mit Teddy Cruz, Fonna Forman, Vertreter*innen der Initiative Kotti & Co, Moderation: Jesko Fezer

Kotti & Co und Teddy Cruz mit Fonna Forman geben Einblicke in ihre jeweilige Arbeit: in Berlin und in der Grenzregion San Diego-Tijuana. Anschließend sprechen sie über ihre gemeinsame Arbeit am 1:1-Modell „Retrofit Gecekondu“ in der Ausstellung.

Kotti & Co – Mietergemeinschaft am Kottbusser Tor gründete sich 2011 im Protest gegen die hohen Mieten im Berliner Sozialen Wohnungsbau. Durch umfangreiche Protestaktionen und Veranstaltungen, die Organisation von Fachexpertise sowie durch Text- und Diskussionsbeiträge formierte sie sich seitdem zu einem der zentralen Verhandlungsorte einer neuen Miet- und Stadtentwicklungspolitik sowie der Themen Migration, Rassismus und Armut.

Estudio Teddy Cruz + Forman, das Büro des Architekten Teddy Cruz und der Politikwissenschaftlerin Fonna Forman in San Diego, sieht seinen Schwerpunkt in der Forschung. Cruz und Forman setzen bei urbanen Konflikten und informellen Strukturen an – unter besonderer Berücksichtigung der Beziehung zwischen Wohnungsbau und Urbanisierung ‚von unten‘ –, um ein Umdenken im Bereich öffentlicher Politik und ziviler Infrastruktur zu fördern. Aktuell arbeiten sie an einer Untersuchung der Entwicklung einer „Bürger*innenkultur“ in der Grenzregion San Diego-Tijuana.