2015, Wed, Sep 30

Speaking from the Laboratory

With Jimena Canales, Orit Halpern, Mark B. N. Hansen, S Løchlann Jain, Hans-Jörg Rheinberger, and Henning Schmidgen

How did the rise of the laboratory influence the political, economic, social tendencies and events of the last one hundred years? How does it shape our contemporary world? Three dialogues will explore the epistemological grounding that shaped our understanding and perception of the world within the last century.

Laboratories are the exemplary space of modernity, a frontline wherein human and machine, as well as organism and mechanism, are deconstructed and reassembled. They are spaces of power, control and creation and operate as the central node for world-making. Through this task the laboratory displaces chapel, legislature, and prison-house as our most sanctified space for social and spiritual transformation as well as the atelier and other spaces for creative and pedagogical practice. “Speaking from the Laboratory” investigates the laboratory-made assertions, claims, insights, inventions and truths that inform (literally, give form to) our present. Speaking from the laboratory aims to show the influence of the scientific developments and paradigms in shaping our history within political, social, economic and ideological fields and examines the collective practice of “experimental speculation” and its role in the century to come.

S Løchlann Jain & Jimena Canales: Migrant time
This conversation among an historian of science and an anthropologist examines how the modern laboratory shapes the different ways of conceiving time, beginning with the assumption that time is a socially agreed upon fiction. Starting from “migrant time”, a decisively post-Kantian notion, a concept sustained by rituals of caring, sharing, giving, taking, and waiting, Jain and Canales will bring together these macro- and micro- readings of time and temporality, and will unpack common sense notions of progress, futurity, and history.

Hans-Jörg Rheinberger & Mark B. N. Hansen: The laboratory as a future-generating machine
How did new modes of writing, embodiment, and instrumentation produced in the laboratory shape everyday perception? And how can experimentation be understood as an aesthetic phenomenon? This dialogue brings together historian of science Rheinberger in dialogue with media theorist Hansen to discuss the apparatuses of bodies and machines, the laboratory as a “machine for generating the future”, practices of experimentation and their outcomes as well as the attendant aesthetics, that define our society today.

Orit Halpern & Henning Schmidgen: From Experimental Spaces to Architectural Machines
What happens when the fabric of everyday life is enclosed by experiment? Schmidgen and Halpern trace the extension and transformation of the laboratory, starting from the notion of “architectural machines”: Differing in the respective understanding of the term, Félix Guattari, administrative director of the psychiatric avant-garde clinic “La Borde” in Cour-Cheverny (France) and Nicholas Negroponte, co-founder of the “Media Lab” at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge (USA), developed independently from each other the notion of “architectural machines” in order to establish experimental practices that remain crucial constituents of our post-cybernetic present. Both of their institutions have contributed in important ways to reconsider interactions between humans, technologies, and architectures.


Biographies

Jimena Canales is the author of The Physicist and the Philosopher: Einstein, Bergson and the Debate That Changed Our Understanding of Time (Princeton University Press) and A Tenth of a Second: A History (University of Chicago Press). She currently holds the Thomas M. Siebel Chair in the History of Science at the University of Illinois-UC and was previously an Assistant and Associate Professor in History of Science at Harvard University and a senior fellow at the IKKM (Internationales Kolleg für Kulturtechnikforschung und Medienphilosophie). She also writes for wider audiences in WIRED magazine, for the BBC, for Aperture and Artforum.

Orit Halpern is presently an associate professor of Interactive Design in the Department of Sociology and Anthropology at Concordia University in Montréal. In her work, she studies the histories of digital technologies, cybernetics, the human and cognitive sciences, and design. Halpern especially focuses on histories of big data, interactivity, and ubiquitous computing. Her most recent book, Beautiful Data: A History of Vision and Reason since 1945 (Duke Press 2015), is a genealogy of interactivity, the interface, and “big data”. She has also published and created works for a variety of venues including The Journal of Visual Culture, Public Culture, Configurations, and at ZKM.

Mark Hansen is professor of Literature and Visual Studies at Duke University. Crossing a host of disciplines, including literary studies, film and media, philosophy, science studies, and cognitive neuroscience, he investigates the role of technology in human agency and social life. Exploring the meaning of the relentless technological exteriorization that characterizes the human as a form of life, his research pays particular attention to the key role played by visual art, literature, and cultural practices in brokering individual and collective adaptation to technology from the industrial revolution to the digital revolution.

S. Løchlann Jain is Associate Professor in the Anthropology Department at Stanford University, where she teaches medical and legal anthropology. Jain’s publications include, among others, Injury (Princeton University Press, 2006) and Malignant: How Cancer Becomes Us (University of California Press, 2013), which won the Victor Turner Prize, the Edelstein Prize, the Diana Forsythe Prize, and the Fleck Prize. Jain is currently working on three projects. The first is developing methods for anthropology from theater and art practices, the second is studying origin stories of HIV, and the third is on the history and theory of automobile crashes.

Hans-Jörg Rheinberger is a molecular biologist and historian of science. He studied philosophy, linguistics, and biology in Tübingen and Berlin. He is an honorary professor for the history of science at Berlin’s Technische Universität, holds an honorary doctorate from ETH Zürich, he is a member of the Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften and the Leopoldina and former director of Berlin’s Max Planck Institute for the History of Science. His current research interests are the history and epistemology of experimentation and the relationship between the sciences and the arts.

Henning Schmidgen is professor for the theory of media worlds at Bauhaus-Universität Weimar. He studied psychology, philosophy, and linguistics in Berlin and Paris, was a researcher at the Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte, and professor for media aesthetics at Universität Regensburg. He has written numerous publications on the history of experimental life sciences, the philosophy and aesthetics of machines and actor-network theory. Recently publications include: Hirn und Zeit. Die Geschichte eines Experiments, 1800-1950 (Berlin, 2014) and Bruno Latour in Pieces. An Intellectual Biography (New York, 2015).

Mi, 30. September 2015

Reden aus dem Labor

Mit Jimena Canales, Orit Halpern, Mark B. N. Hansen, S Løchlann Jain, Hans-Jörg Rheinberger und Henning Schmidgen

Wie haben Labore die politischen, ökonomischen, sozialen Ereignisse der letzten hundert Jahre beeinflusst? Wie formen sie die gegenwärtige Welt? Drei Gespräche erkunden das epistemologische Fundament, das unser Weltverständnis im letzten Jahrhundert geprägt hat.

Labore bilden den exemplarischen Raum der Moderne, in dem Mensch und Maschine, Organismus und Mechanismus dekonstruiert, neu verhandelt und zusammengesetzt werden. Sie sind Orte der Macht, Kontrolle und Schöpfung und fungieren als zentrale Knotenpunkte für das „Weltmachen“. Damit ersetzen sie Kapelle, Legislative und Gefängnis als Ort sozialer und geistiger Transformation sowie Atelier und andere Räume für kreative und pädagogische Praxis. „Reden aus dem Labor“ verhandelt die Implikationen naturwissenschaftlicher Forschung auf die Gestaltung unserer Geschichte und Gegenwart, auf politische, gesellschaftliche, wirtschaftliche und ideologische Sphären und blickt auf die kollektive Praxis „experimenteller Spekulation“ und ihre Rolle im kommenden Jahrhundert.

Jimena Canales & S Løchlann Jain: Migrant time
Ausgehend von der Annahme, dass Zeit gesellschaftlich vereinbarte Fiktion ist, untersuchen die Wissenschaftshistorikerin Canales und die Anthropologin Jain, wie das moderne Labor unterschiedliche Zeitvorstellungen formt. Ausgehend vom Begriff der „Migrant time“ (wandernde Zeit) - einem Konzept, das sich auf Rituale der Fürsorge, des Teilens, Gebens, Nehmens und Wartens stützt – bringen sie Mikro- und Makro-Lesarten von Zeit und Zeitlichkeit zusammen und hinterfragen die allgemeingültigen Begriffe von Fortschritt, Zukunft und Geschichte.

Mark B. N. Hansen & Hans-Jörg Rheinberger: Das Labor als zukunftsgenerierende Maschine
Wie haben neue, im Labor produzierte Arten des Schreibens, der Verkörperung und Instrumentierung unsere Alltagswahrnehmung geformt? Und wie lässt sich das Experiment als ästhetisches Phänomen verstehen? Rheinberger und Hansen erörtern die Dispositive von Körpern und Maschinen, das Labor als eine „Maschine zur Erzeugung der Zukunft“, Praktiken des Experiments und ihre Resultate sowie die dazugehörigen Ästhetiken, die unsere Gesellschaft heute definieren.

Orit Halpern & Henning Schmidgen: Von experimentellen Räumen zu „architectural machines“
Der Wissenschaftshistoriker Schmidgen und die Medientheoretikerin Halpern zeichnen die Ausweitung und Transformation des Labors anhand des Begriffs der „architectural machines“ nach: Félix Guattari (administrativer Direktor der psychiatrischen Avantgarde-Klinik “La Borde” in Cour-Cheverny, Frankreich) und Nicholas Negroponte (Mitgründer des MIT Media Lab in Cambridge, USA) entwickelten unabhängig voneinander, allerdings unter grundverschiedenen Voraussetzungen das Konzept der „architectural machines“, um experimentelle Praktiken zu etablieren, die heute entscheidende Bestandteile unserer post-kybernetischen Gegenwart sind. Beide Institutionen haben so entscheidend dazu beigetragen, die Formen der Interaktion zwischen Menschen, Technologien und Architekturen neu zu denken.


Biografien

Jimena Canales ist die Autorin von The Physicist and the Philosopher: Einstein, Bergson and the Debate That Changed Our Understanding of Time (Princeton University Press) und A Tenth of a Second: A History (University of Chicago Press). Zurzeit hat sie den Thomas M. Siebel Lehrstuhl für Wissenschaftsgeschichte an der University of Illinois-UC inne und war zuvor Assistant and Associate Professor für Wissenschaftsgeschichte an der Harvard University und senior fellow am Internationalen Kolleg für Kulturtechnikforschung und Medienphilosophie (IKKM). Sie schreibt auch für ein breiteres Publikum in WIRED magazine, für die BBC, für Aperture und in Artforum.

Orit Halpern ist Associate Professor of Interactive Design am Department für Soziologie und Anthropologie der Concordia University in Montréal. Der Fokus ihrer Arbeit liegt auf den Geschichten digitaler Technologien, Kybernetik, Human- und Kognitionswissenschaften und Design. Insbesondere beschäftigt sich Halpern mit den Ursprüngen und Verläufen von Big Data, Interaktivität und ubiquitous computing. Ihr aktuelles Buch Beautiful Data: A History of Vision and Reason since 1945 (Duke Press 2015), stellt eine Genealogie von Interaktivität, Interfaces und Big Data dar. Sie erarbeitete Werke und Veröffentlichungen für diverse Veranstaltungshäuser und Fachblätter, darunter The Journal of Visual Culture, Public Culture, Configurations und das ZKM in Karlsruhe.

Mark Hansen ist Professor für Literatur und Visual Studies an der Duke University. Er erforscht die Bedeutung von Technik für Mensch und Gesellschaft und überschreitet dabei eine Vielzahl an Disziplinen wie Literaturwissenschaft, Film und Medien, Philosophie, Wissenschaftsgeschichte und kognitive Neurowissenschaft. Die Menschsein als Lebensform charakterisierende unablässige technologische Entäußerung erforschend, fokussiert er sich insbesondere auf die zentrale Rolle von bildender Kunst, Literatur und kulturellen Bräuchen bei der Vermittlung von individueller und kollektiver Anpassung an Technik von der industriellen Revolution bis zur digitalen Revolution.

S. Løchlann Jain ist Associate Professor am Institut für Anthropologie an der Stanford University, wo sie Medizin- und Rechtsanthropologie lehrt. Zu ihren Veröffentlichungen zählen unter anderem Injury (Princeton University Press, 2006) und Malignant: How Cancer Becomes Us (University of California Press, 2013), welches den Victor Turner Prize, den Edelstein Prize, den Diana Forsythe Prize und den Fleck Prize gewann. Jain arbeitet derzeit an drei Projekten – an der Entwicklung von Methoden für die Anthropologie aus der Theater- und Kunstpraxis, der Untersuchung der Ursprünge von HIV sowie der Geschichte und Theorie von Autounfällen.

Hans-Jörg Rheinberger ist Molekularbiologe und Wissenschaftshistoriker. Er studierte Philosophie, Linguistik und Biologie in Tübingen und Berlin. Er ist Honorarprofessor für Wissenschaftsgeschichte an der TU Berlin, Dr. h.c. der ETH Zürich, Mitglied der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften sowie der Leopoldina und ehemaliger Direktor des Max-Planck-Instituts für Wissenschaftsgeschichte in Berlin. Seine heutigen Arbeitsschwerpunkte sind die Geschichte und Epistemologie des Experiments und die Beziehungen zwischen den Künsten und den Wissenschaften.

Henning Schmidgen ist Professor für Theorie medialer Welten an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar. Er studierte Psychologie, Philosophie und Linguistik in Berlin und Paris, war wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte und Professor für Medienästhetik an der Universität Regensburg. Seine Veröffentlichungen befassen sich mit der Geschichte der experimentellen Lebenswissenschaften, mit der Philosophie und Ästhetik der Maschinen und mit der Akteur-Netzwerk-Theorie. Zuletzt erschienen von ihm Hirn und Zeit. Die Geschichte eines Experiments, 1800-1950 (Berlin 2014) sowie Bruno Latour in Pieces. An Intellectual Biography (New York 2015).