2015, Thu, Oct 01

Ofifus (2015)

Reto Pulfer

“The cans! Get the cans!” So I packed up this food as well. Then the seeds and kernels that could be transformed with clean water into sprouts and consumed in subterranean cellars, air bunkers, in moving flight bunkers while travelling. “The structure of the world is collapsing,” she said. Then we just fled and were among the few survivors of the dehydrated landscape.

I belonged to the flight and the flight belonged to me, the sense of being pursued is something that has not left me until today, since I later tried to give things a different trajectory and have been sought out by the new organizers of survivors until today. Gina became Ephémera. I looked around and saw how everything shook, and everything collapsed in a state of unbelievable marvel. The fixed, the concrete, the walls, things became fissured: everything fell apart. “Gina, Gina!” I was asked to pay attention, to prepare, the end of the world.
(From the novel Gina by Reto Pulfer)

Reto Pulfer was born in Bern in 1981 and currently lives in Berlin. His expansive installations of fabric sometime appear as three-dimensional expansions of abstract paintings of states, and sometimes as artful “objectivations” of the mnemotechnological architecture of visually imagined stories. The self-taught artist was recently awarded a painting scholarship from the Marianne and Hansfriedrich Defet Stiftung. In his temporal landscapes he plays with expressive performances and his own sound compositions, or musical and language improvisations. His works have been presented internationally in solo shows at Centre d’Art Contemporain, Geneva (2015), Hollybush Gardens, London (2013), and Nuremberg’s Kunstverein/Albrecht Dürer Gesellschaft (2013).

Do, 01. Oktober 2015

Ofifus (2015)

Reto Pulfer

„Die Dosen! Hol die Dosen!“ auch dieses Essen packte ich ein. Dann auch die Samen und Kerne, die sich mit sauberem Wasser zu Sprossen wandeln ließen, und in unterirdischen Kellern, in Luftbunkern, in beweglichen Fliehbunkern, auf Reisen konsumieren ließen. „Das Gefüge der Welt bricht auseinander“, sagte sie. „Die Erde zerbricht.“ Danach flüchteten wir nur noch und gehörten zu den wenigen Überlebenden in der dehydrierten Landschaft.

Ich gehörte zur Flucht und sie zu mir, das Verfolgtsein hat mich bis heute nicht verlassen, da ich später versuchte, den Dingen eine andere Bahn zu geben und von den neuen Organisatoren der Überlebenden bis heute gesucht werde. Aus Gina wurde Ephémera. Ich schaute um mich und sah, wie alles bebte, und alles Feste in einem Zustand der ungläubigen Verwunderung auseinanderfiel. Das Feste, der Beton, die Mauern, die Dinge erfuhren Risse; alles zerging. „Gina, Gina!!“ ich wurde angerufen aufzupassen, mich vorzubereiten: das Ende der Welt.
(Auszug aus dem Roman Gina von Reto Pulfer)

Reto Pulfer wurde 1981 in Bern geboren und lebt derzeit in Berlin. Seine raumgreifenden Installationen aus Stoffen treten mal als dreidimensionale Erweiterungen abstrakter Zustandsgemälde auf, mal sind sie kunstvolle „Objektivationen“ der mnemotechnischen Architektur bildlich imaginierter Geschichten. Der vielseitige Autodidakt und ehemalige Malerei-Stipendiat der Marianne und Hansfriedrich Defet Stiftung bespielt seine Zeltlandschaften mit expressiven Performances und eigenen Soundkompositionen sowie musikalischen und sprachlichen Improvisationen. Seine Arbeiten waren international zu sehen u. a. in Einzelausstellungen im Centre d’Art Contemporain, Genf (2015), bei Hollybush Gardens, London (2013) und im Kunstverein Nürnberg - Albrecht Dürer Gesellschaft (2013).