2015, Thu, Oct 01

The Next War

With Pepe Escobar and Margarita Tsomou

Can the present be conceived of as a pre-war period? Or has the “next war” already begun? What must the European understanding of history clear away in order to look the present squarely in the face? Where are the new imperial rivalries and collective projections heading?

The New Great Game

Pepe Escobar

In the late 19th century, the original Great Game pitted the British against the Russian empires. In the early 21st century, the New Great Game pits the "indispensable nation", the US, against a Russia-China strategic partnership, with Europe caught in the middle. Take a magic carpet ride from Western China to Western Europe, and witness the birth of a developing new world crisscrossed by pipelines, New Silk Roads, an Eurasia Economic Union, a cooperation organization named after Shanghai, brand new ambitious banks such as NDB and AIIB, the full (re)integration of Iran after a nuclear deal struck in Vienna, and – unfortunately – a world also under the threat of a New Cold War that might eventually turn hot.

In colonies there is no need for a coup

Margarita Tsomou

#This is a Coup. The global Twitter community christened the “agreement” between the Greek government and the European institutions from July 13 a “coup”. In a capitalism characterised by debt, the relationship between European “partners” has turned into a relationship in which creditors rule over debtors—Greece, it is said, has been reduced to the status of a protectorate. To what extent can this be thought of as a neo-colonial relationship? And what role does Germany, as the “Hegemon”, play against the background of the cultivation of a new “economic nationalism” with the “German tax payer” as its subject?


Biographies

Pepe Escobar is a cosmopolitan journalist born in Brazil. He is the roving correspondent for Asia Times and writes as an analyst for a variety of international news agencies, such as Russia Today, Sputnik and the critical online portal TomDispatch.com. Since the late 1990s, he has specialized in Eurasia – from the Middle East to Central Asia, covering among other themes the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq, energy wars, and what he describes as “The New Great Game in Eurasia”, with an emphasis on Russia, China and Iran. Recent books he has authored are Globalistan: How the Globalized World is Dissolving into Liquid War (2007), Obama does Globalistan (2009) and Empire of Chaos (2014), a collection of columns he has written for Asia Times between 2009 and 2014.

Margarita Tsomou works as an author, dramaturge, cultural worker and curator in Berlin. She is a PhD-candidate researching on the Representation of the Many, in the context of the Greek Indignados movement Syntagma Square Occupation in 2011 in Athens. She is publisher of the pop-feminist magazine Missy-Magazine and writes for German newspapers and radio (f.ex., Die Zeit, taz, WDR, SWR). Her artistic work has been shown at theatres such as Volksbühne, Hebbel am Ufer, Kampnagel Hamburg and Goethe-Institut Athens. Her focuses are feminism, political art as well as the debt crisis in Greece. Her last work was a conference on representations of the Greek crisis in Germany at Kampnagel Sommerfestival 2015.

Do, 01. Oktober 2015

Der kommende Krieg

Mit Pepe Escobar und Margarita Tsomou

Ist das Heute als Vorkriegszeit zu denken? Oder hat der „kommende Krieg“ längst begonnen? Womit muss europäisches Geschichtsverständnis aufräumen, um der Gegenwart ins Gesicht zu blicken? Wohin führen neue imperiale Rivalitäten und Kollektivprojektionen?

The New Great Game

Pepe Escobar, Journalist, Paris, Bangkok, Hong Kong

Im späten 19. Jahrhundert traten im ursprünglichen „Great Game“ das britische und russische Reich gegeneinander an. Im frühen 21. Jahrhundert tritt nun die „unentbehrliche Nation“, die USA, gegen eine russisch-chinesische strategische Partnerschaft an, und Europa sitzt dazwischen. Unternähme man eine Reise mit einem fliegenden Teppich vom westlichen China ins westliche Europa, sähe man die Geburt einer entstehenden neuen Welt – durchkreuzt von einem Netz aus Pipelines, neuen Seidenstraßen, einer Eurasischen Wirtschaftsunion, einer nach Shanghai benannten Kooperationsorganisation, brandneuen ehrgeizigen Banken wie NDB und AIIB, die volle (Re-)Integration des Irans nach dem in Wien erzielten Atomabkommen und – leider – eine Welt, die von einem Neuen Kalten Krieg bedroht ist, der auch heiß werden könnte.

In Kolonien braucht es keinen Staatsstreich

Margarita Tsomou, Journalistin, Berlin

#This is a Coup. „Staatsstreich“ taufte die globale Twitter-Community die „Vereinbarung“ der griechischen Regierung mit den europäischen Institutionen vom 13. Juli. Im schuldeninformierten Kapitalismus hat sich das Verhältnis zwischen europäischen „Partnern“ in ein Herrschaftsverhältnis von Gläubigern über Schuldnern verschoben – Griechenland, so sagt man, sei in den Status eines Protektorats gezwungen worden. Inwiefern lässt sich dieses Verhältnis als ein neokoloniales denken? Und welche Rolle spielt dabei Deutschland als „Hegemon“ vor dem Hintergrund der Kultivierung eines neuen deutschen „Wirtschaftsnationalismus“ mit dem „deutschen Steuerzahler“ als sein Subjekt?


Biografien

Pepe Escobar ist ein in Brasilien geborener Kosmopolit. Als Korrespondent der Asia Times bereist er ganz Asien und schreibt politische Analysen für verschiedene Nachrichtenagenturen wie Russia Today, Sputnik und das kritische Nachrichtenportal TomDispatch.com. Ende der 1990er Jahre hat er sich auf Eurasien spezialisiert – ein Gebiet, das sich vom Nahen Osten bis nach Zentralasien erstreckt – und berichtet seither unter anderem über die Kriege in Afghanistan und Irak, die Kriege um Energieträger sowie über das, was er ein „neues großes Spiel um Eurasien“ mit Schwerpunkt auf Russland, China und Iran nennt. In den vergangenen Jahren sind von Escobar die Bücher Globalistan: How the Globalized World is Dissolving into Liquid War (2007) und Obama Does Globalization (2009) erschienen, außerdem der Band Empire of Chaos, eine Sammlung von Kolumnen, die er von 2009 bis 2014 für die Asia Times geschrieben hat.

Margarita Tsomou arbeitet als Autorin, Dramaturgin, Kulturschaffende und Kuratorin in Berlin. Für ihre Doktorarbeit erforscht sie die „Repräsentation der Vielen“ im Kontext der griechischen Indignados- Bewegung und ihrer Besetzung des Syntagmaplatzes 2011 in Athen. Sie ist eine der Herausgeberinnen des Pop-feministischen Missy Magazine und schreibt für deutsche Zeitungen und Radiosender (f.ex, Die Zeit, taz, WDR, SWR). Ihre künstlerische Arbeit wurde an der Volksbühne, im Hebbel am Ufer und im Kampnagel Hamburg sowie am Goethe-Institut in Athen gezeigt. Schwerpunkte ihrer Arbeit sind Feminismus, politische Kunst und die Schuldenkrise in Griechenland. Ihr jüngstes Projekt war die Tagung „This is not Greece“ zur Frage der Repräsentation der griechischen Krise in Deutschland beim Kampnagel Sommerfestival 2015.