2015, Wed, Sep 30

Eigenzeit Revisited

Helga Nowotny

“Rows and Rows” | Photo: Jurvetson (flickr) CC BY 2.0

“Rows and Rows” | Photo: Jurvetson (flickr) CC BY 2.0

In her visionary study on Eigenzeit from 1989, Helga Nowotny opposed a time regime characterised by acceleration and uniform intervals with the idea that time is made by people and that we are not at the mercy of a universal time. In her lecture she re-examines the concept of time in light of current developments: Increasing numbers of people feel overwhelmed by speed, a feeling generated by new technologies and organisational structures.

For the first time Nowotny will examine two developments that are central for an understanding of our present: The destruction of natural resources and life with big data. Accessible in real time and around the clock via worldwide information networks, we now live in a media-dominated proper time which increasingly encompasses ourselves. Through an examination of such time structures, Helga Nowotny makes the social imagination of a radically open future possible, in which remembrance of the past and hope for the future are rescued from the omnipresent longing for the perfect moment.

Helga Nowotny is Professor emerita at ETH Zurich of Science and Technology Studies and former president of the European Research Council. She has held teaching and research positions among other at the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin; King’s College, Cambridge; Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales, Paris and Collegium Budapest/Institute of Advanced Study, Budapest. She continues to be actively engaged in research policy at national and European level. Her main publications cover science, technology and society relations and social time.

Mi, 30. September 2015

Eigenzeit Revisited

Helga Nowotny

“Rows and Rows” | Foto: Jurvetson (flickr) CC BY 2.0

“Rows and Rows” | Foto: Jurvetson (flickr) CC BY 2.0

In ihrer visionären Studie zur Eigenzeit setzte Helga Nowotny bereits 1989 dem Zeitregime von Beschleunigung und einheitlicher Taktungen entgegen, dass Zeit von Menschen gemacht wird und es keine universelle Zeit gibt, der wir ausgeliefert sind. In ihrem Vortrag stellt sie die Frage nach dem Zeitbegriff unter dem Eindruck aktueller Entwicklungen neu: Immer mehr Menschen fühlen sich überwältigt von Geschwindigkeiten, ausgelöst von neuen Technologien und organisatorischen Strukturen.

Dabei geht Nowotny erstmals auf zwei Entwicklungen ein, die für das Verständnis unserer Gegenwart zentral sind: Die Zerstörung natürlicher Ressourcen und das Leben mit Big Data. Jederzeit über weltweite Informationsnetze in Echtzeit erreichbar, leben wir heute in einer medialen Eigenzeit, die zunehmend unser Selbst einschließt. Durch die Untersuchung solcher Zeitstrukturen ermöglicht Helga Nowotny die gesellschaftliche Imagination einer radikal offenen Zukunft, in der die Erinnerung an die Vergangenheit und die Hoffnung auf die Zukunft nicht durch die allgegenwärtige Sehnsucht nach dem perfekten Augenblick ersetzt werden.

Helga Nowotny, emeritierte Professorin für Wissenschaftsforschung an der ETH Zürich und ehemalige Präsidentin des European Research Council, lehrte und forschte unter anderem am Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin, dem King’s College, Cambridge, der Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales, Paris und am Collegium Budapest/Institute of Advanced Study, Budapest. Sie ist weiterhin auf nationaler und europäischer Ebene in der Forschungspolitik aktiv. Ihre wichtigsten Publikationen beschäftigen sich mit Wissenschaft, Technologie und Gesellschaft und sozialer Zeit.