2015, Fri, Sep 11

Fiktion: POPPPAPPP

with Momus and Michael Portnoy

Momus | © edisonga.de

Momus | © edisonga.de

The international model project FIKTION presents POPPPAPPP, its second e-book title by the author and musician Momus.

POPPPAPPP is a novel about two British graphic designers who find themselves imprisoned in a brutalist Syrian media centre by the Kamerads, a fanatical paramilitary organisation keen to turn the rantings of a Manchester punk poet into a new religion.

To celebrate the launch of the book, Momus and performance artist Michael Portnoy will assume the roles of the two designers – Popppappp and the Cowardly Minotaur – who are forced to spruce up the image of the bizarre guerilla clique ... and destroy a few cultural icons on the way.

POPPPAPPP will be available free of charge in English and German on Fiktion’s website http://fiktion.cc and on its own specially designed reader.

*

Momus is the artist name of Nick Currie. Born in Scotland in 1960, Currie studied literature at Aberdeen University before launching himself as a singer-songwriter specialized in electronic folk music. In the 21st century he has developed parallel careers as a performance artist and author. His work of fiction includes Book of Jokes, Solution 11-167: Book of Scotlands, Solution 214 – 238: Book of Japans, and UnAmerica. Popppappp is, following Herr F, the second novel Momus has published with Fiktion.

Michael Portnoy is an american multimedia artist, actor, choreographer, and musician. In his community projects the ironic concept of "Relational Stalinism", which questions the utopia of interactive group processes in art, plays a central role. As the “Director of Behavior”, he involves the audience in participatory structures where he constantly changes the increasingly narrow rules of the game. He has presented work internationally, at venues including: dOCUMENTA (13), The 2nd Moscow Biennial, The Taipei Biennial 2010, MOMA P.S.1 (NY), Performa Biennial 07 & 09 (NY), Art Unlimited Basel and Centre Pompidou.

Fr, 11. September 2015

Fiktion: POPPPAPPP

mit Momus und Michael Portnoy

Momus | © edisonga.de

Momus | © edisonga.de

Das internationale Modellprojekt FIKTION stellt POPPPAPPP vor, seinen zweiten E-Book-Titel des Musikers und Autors Momus.

POPPPAPPP ist ein Roman über zwei britische Grafikdesigner, die in einem syrischen brutalistischen Medienzentrum gefangen gehalten werden – von den Kameraden, einer fanatischen paramilitärischen Organisation, die bestrebt ist, das Gezeter eines Manchester Punk-Lyrikers zu einer neuen Religion zu machen.

Zur Premiere des Buchs nehmen Momus und der Performance-Künstler Michael Portnoy die Rollen der beiden Designer – Popppappp und des feigen Minotaurus – ein, die gezwungen werden, das Image der bizarren Guerilla-Clique aufzuhübschen ... und auf dem Weg ein paar kulturelle Ikonen zerstören.

Das Buch POPPPAPPP steht kostenlos in Deutsch und Englisch auf der Website von Fiktion http://fiktion.cc/ zum Download und im speziell entwickelten Reader zur Verfügung.

*

Momus ist der Künstlername von Nick Currie. 1960 in Schottland geboren, studierte Currie an der Aberdeen Universität Literatur, bevor er sich selbst als Singer-Songwriter elektronischer Folk-Musik neu erfand. Seit Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts verfolgt er außerdem eine Karriere als Performance-Künstler und Schriftsteller. Sein literarisches Werk umfasst Book of Jokes, Solution 11-167: Book of Scotlands, Solution 214-238: Book of Japans und UnAmerica. Popppappp ist nach Herr F der zweite Roman, den Momus bei Fiktion veröffentlicht.

Michael Portnoy ist ein amerikanischer Multimedia-Künstler, Schauspieler, Choreograph und Musiker. In seinen Community-Projekten spielt das ironische Konzept des Relational Stalinism, das die Utopie interaktiver Gruppenprozesse in der Kunst hinterfragt, eine zentrale Rolle. Als „Director of Behavior“ verwickelt er in seinen Arbeiten das Publikum in interaktive Spiele, deren immer enger werdende Spielregeln er permanent ändert. Sein Werk ist international zu sehen, unter anderem auf der dOCUMENTA (13), The 2nd Moscow Biennial, The Taipei Biennial 2010, MOMA P.S.1 (NY), Performa Biennial 07 & 09 (NY), Art Unlimited Basel und im Centre Pompidou.