2015, Mon, Jul 13

Technology and Performance

With contributions by Jeremiah Runnels, Hugo Morales Murguia, and Wolfgang Heiniger. Introduction by Bjoern Erlach

Disklavier | © Bjoern Erlach

Disklavier | © Bjoern Erlach

The event provides insights into various creative approaches to technology in the concert situation. Focusing on the possibilities of partially automated playback systems, we take a look at interesting examples for the inclusion of loudspeakers, real-time score generation, motors which engage into the performance on the instruments, and performing "reverse simulation music" when people carry out algorithmic processes on stage.

The Netherlands-based composer and sound artist Hugo Morales Murguia will talk about his work which features modifications and extensions of musical instruments to alter the performance situation.
Afterwards we will hear a performance of his piece Torque with Emily Yabe (Harp). A presentation by Wolfgang Heiniger that demonstrates different modes of loudspeaker deployment and their perceived functions. Wolfgang Heiniger's analysis distinguishes among loudspeakers that function as media, as instruments, or as generators and examines how sound sources and their movements in the room can be categorized as real, virtual, or artificial.
The Swedish composer and pedal steel guitarist Jeremiah Runnels will present one of his recent projects including a performance that focuses on an unique connection among the composer, performers and the audience. It allows for audience participation (though does not require it).

An event within the framework of “Salon of Aesthetic Experiments,” a collaborative project with the Graduate School at the Forum for Post Graduate Studies at Berlin University of the Arts. The Graduate School is supported by the Einstein Stiftung Berlin.

Mo, 13. Juli 2015

Technologie und Aufführungspraxis

Mit Beiträgen von Jeremiah Runnels, Hugo Morales Murguia und Wolfgang Heiniger. Einführung: Bjoern Erlach

Disklavier | © Bjoern Erlach

Disklavier | © Bjoern Erlach

Die Veranstaltung gibt einen Einblick in eine Reihe von sehr verschiedenen Ansätzen, sich mit Technologie in der Konzertsituation auseinanderzusetzen. Die Möglichkeiten der teilweise automatisierten Wiedergabe spielen dabei eine zentrale Rolle. Neben der Einbindung von Lautsprechern und elektronischen Klängen gibt es Beispiele für das Generieren von Partiturfragmenten in Echtzeit, Motoren die an den Instrumenten ins Spielgeschehen eingreifen und "Reverse Simulation Music", bei der Menschen einen algorithmischen Vorgang auf der Bühne ausführen.

Der in den Niederlanden wohnende Komponist Hugo Morales Murguia spricht über seine Arbeit, bei der die Aufführungs-Praxis durch alternative Instrumente sowie durch traditionelle Instrumente beeinflusst wird. Es folgt eine Aufführung seines Stückes "Torque" mit Emily Yabe (Harfe).

Die Präsentation von Wolfgang Heiniger demonstriert verschiedene Arten des Einsatzes von Lautsprechern und ihre Funktionen. Wolfgang Heinigers Analyse differenziert zwischen Lautsprechern, die als Medien, als Instrumente, oder als Generatoren fungieren, and kategorisiert Schallquellen und ihre Bewegungen im Raum als real, virtuell oder artifiziell.

Der schwedische Komponist und Pedal-Steel-Gitarrist Jeremiah Runnels präsentiert eine Performance, die auf einer interessanten Verbindung zwischen dem Komponisten, Interpreten und dem Publikum basiert. Sie ermöglicht die Beteiligung des Publikums (aber erfordert diese nicht).

Eine Veranstaltung im Rahmen der Reihe „Salon für ästhetische Experimente“, eine Kooperation zwischen dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt und der Graduiertenschule im Postgradualen Forum der Universität der Künste Berlin. Die Graduiertenschule wird unterstützt durch die Einstein Stiftung Berlin