Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

July 18/19 and 25/26, 2015 | 11 am – 04 pm

Mother India in Berlin

With Almut Wetzstein and Katja Berls

© HKW

© HKW

From the initial concept to the edited, finished film, this is where adults interested in film can learn to create a documentary short. Our first filmic exercises will be based on the preparations for the evening concerts at the HKW and then expanded during excursions in Berlin. On the second weekend, the material will be viewed, edited and given a soundtrack under the guidance of the workshop instructors.

Katja Berls is a writer and director for film and TV productions and also runs workshops in the fields of art and the media. She studied media culture in Hamburg and film direction at the self-organized film school FilmArche in Berlin. She has realized TV reports for the Arte magazine “Kurzschluss”, among others. Her documentary film “Außen Frieden, Innen Krieg” (“Peace Outside, War Inside”) is currently in post-production.

Almut Wetzstein works as an independent cinematographer, documentary filmmaker and lecturer for political education and media seminars. She studied intercultural education focusing on cultural science, art and audiovisual media in Oldenburg and Istanbul. She has been studying cinematography and (documentary) film at the self-organized film school filmArche in Berlin since 2010. In 2014, she managed and taught audio-visual art projects for the Westberlin exhibition at the Stiftung Stadtmuseum Berlin. Her documentary film Kumbia Queers: More louder bitte! (2013) was shown at international film festivals from Bogotá to Berlin.

In cooperation with filmArche e.V.

18./19. und 25./26. Juli 2015 | 11h–16h

Mother India in Berlin

Mit Almut Wetzstein und Katja Berls

© HKW

© HKW

Vom ersten Konzept bis zum fertig geschnittenen Film: Hier lernen filminteressierte Erwachsene, einen kurzen Dokumentarfilm zu erstellen. Ausgehend von den Vorbereitungen der Konzertabende am HKW werden erste filmische Übungen durchgeführt, die in Exkursionen in Berlin ausgeweitet werden. Am zweiten Wochenende wird das Material unter Anleitung der Workshopleiter*innen gesichtet, geschnitten und mit Ton unterlegt.

Katja Berls ist Autorin und Regisseurin für Film- und TV-Produktionen, außerdem Workshopleiterin in den Bereichen Kunst und Medien. Sie studierte Medienkultur in Hamburg und Regie an der selbstorganisierten Filmschule filmArche in Berlin. Sie realisierte u.a. TV-Beiträge für das Arte-Magazin „Kurzschluss“. Ihr Dokumentarfilm „Außen Frieden, Innen Krieg“ befindet sich momentan in der Postproduktion.

Almut Wetzstein arbeitet als freie Kamerafrau, Dokumentarfilmmacherin und Dozentin für politische Bildungs- und Medienseminare. Sie studierte Interkulturelle Pädagogik mit Schwerpunkt auf Kulturwissenschaften, Kunst und audiovisuellen Medien in Oldenburg und Istanbul. Seit 2010 studiert sie Kamera und (Dokumentar-)Film an der selbstorganisierten Filmschule filmArche e.V in Berlin. 2014 leitete sie als Dozentin audio-visuelle Kunstprojekte für die Ausstellung „Westberlin“ der Stiftung Stadtmuseum Berlin. Ihr Dokumentarfilm „Kumbia Queers: More louder bitte!“ (2013) wurde auf internationalen Filmfestivals von Bogotá bis Berlin gezeigt.

In Kooperation mit der filmArche e.V.