2015, Sun, May 17

The Evolutionary Origins of Human Mind and Culture: Insights from Research on Japanese Monkeys and Chimpanzees

Lecture by Tetsuro Matsuzawa, Kyoto University

Tetsuro Matsuzawa | Photo: private

Tetsuro Matsuzawa | Photo: private

Tetsuro Matsuzawa, current president of the International Primatological Society, has been researching chimpanzee cognition for over thirty years, both in the laboratory and in the wild. In his talk he will give an insight into the cultural variations of behavior of monkeys in Japan as well as present a possible evolutionary scenario of cognition that is uniquely human.

Humans and chimpanzees are largely similar at early developmental stages, however, there remain several crucial differences. Chimpanzees have been very rarely observed to engage in general imitation and active teaching. Young chimpanzees possess exceptional working memory capacities often superior to those of human adults. In contrast, their ability to learn the meaning of symbols is relatively poor. The development of social cognition and culture in humans may be integrally linked to a very specific mother-infant relationship and the species-specific way of rearing the children.

Tetsuro Matsuzawa is a Professor at the Primate Research Institute, Kyoto University, Japan. The ‘Ai Project' began in 1978 with the study of language-like skills and number concepts in the female chimpanzee, Ai. As a parallel effort, since 1986, he has recorded the behavior of a group of chimpanzees in Bossou-Nimba, Guinea, West Africa. His publications include: "Primate origins of human cognition and behavior", 2001; "Cognitive development in chimpanzees", 2006; "Chimpanzees of Bossou and Nimba", 2011. He was awarded the Jane Goodall Award in 2001, the Medal of Purple Ribbon in 2007, and the Person of Cultural Merit in 2013. He is also the Editor-in–chief of the journal “Primates”, the general director of Japan Monkey Centre.

So, 17. Mai 2015

The Evolutionary Origins of Human Mind and Culture: Insights from Research on Japanese Monkeys and Chimpanzees

Vortrag von Tetsuro Matsuzawa, Universität Kyoto

Tetsuro Matsuzawa | Foto: privat

Tetsuro Matsuzawa | Foto: privat

Tetsuro Matsuzawa, Präsident der International Primatological Society, erforscht seit über dreißig Jahren die kognitiven Fähigkeiten vom Schimpansen – im Labor und in der freien Wildbahn. In seinem Vortrag gibt er einen Einblick in die kulturellen Unterschiede im Verhalten von Affengruppen in Japan und skizziert, wie sich die kognitiven Fähigkeiten, die ausschließlich Menschen besitzen, im Zuge der Evolution möglicherweise entwickelt haben.

Menschen und Schimpansen sind sich in frühen Entwicklungsstadien sehr ähnlich, trotzdem trennen sie verschiedene grundlegende Unterschiede. Schimpansen wurden nur sehr selten bei allgemein imitierendem Verhalten und aktivem Beibringen beobachtet. Junge Schimpansen verfügen über ein außergewöhnliches Erinnerungsvermögen, das oft die Fähigkeiten menschlicher Erwachsener übersteigt. Im Gegensatz dazu ist ihre Fähigkeit, die Bedeutung von Symbolen zu lernen, relativ gering. Die Entwicklung von sozialer Kognition und Kultur bei Menschen ist möglicherweise wesentlich verbunden mit einer spezifischen Mutter-Kind-Beziehung und der Spezies-spezifischen Weise, Kinder aufzuziehen.

Tetsuro Matsuzawa ist Professor am Primate Research Institute der Universität Kyoto in Japan. Das von ihm initiierte „Ai Projekt“ begann 1978 mit dem Erforschen von sprachähnlichen Fähigkeiten der Schimpansin Ai und ihrer Vorstellung von Zahlen. Parallel erforscht Matsuzawa seit 1986 das Verhalten einer Schimpansengruppe in Bossou-Nimba im westafrikanischen Guinea. Er hat zahlreiche Studien veröffentlicht, darunter „Primate origins of human cognition and behavior“, 2001; „Cognitive development in chimpanzees“, 2006; „Chimpanzees of Bossou and Nimba“, 2011. Er erhielt 2001 den Jane Goodall Preis, 2007 die japanische Ehrenmedaille am lila Band und wurde 2013 als Person mit besonderen kulturellen Verdiensten ausgezeichnet. Er ist außerdem Chefredakteur der Zeitschrift Primates, Generaldirektor des Japan Monkey Centre.