Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2015, Fri, Feb 27

Thinking with Farocki 4

With Christine Lang, Doreen Mende, Constanze Ruhm, as well as Kodwo Eshun and Anjalika Sagar (The Otolith Group, London)

Filmmaker, mentor, and teacher: this day is dedicated to Harun Farocki. Long-standing friends, companions, and associates will trace his work and influence in an intensive series of presentations and reflective discussions.

Moderation: Michael Baute (writer, curator, Berlin)

Program

7.30 pm – 8 pm
Arbeit an der Natur: Der Wald als Dunkelkammer, die Lichtung als Bühne
Christine Lang (filmmaker, cultural theorist, Berlin) and Constanze Ruhm (video artist, Academy of Fine Arts Vienna)

8 pm – 8.30 pm
Embarking on Farocki's Infinite Flights of Words in Images
Doreen Mende (curator, theorist, Berlin)

8.30 pm – 9 pm
Kodwo Eshun and Anjalika Sagar (The Otolith Group, London)

Contributors

Michael Baute is an author, lecturer, and media worker. Since 1992, he has published writings on cinema in various books, catalogues, and magazines, as well as the blog newfilmkritik.de, which he cofounded in 2001. He published Minutentexte: The Night of the Hunter (2006) jointly with Volker Pantenburg and coauthored the associated radio play Minutentexte (2008). In 2008/2009 he served as artistic director of the project Kunst der Vermittlung. Aus den Archiven des Filmvermittelnden Films (kunst-der-vermittlung.de), which dealt with the research, collection, and distribution of audiovisual forms of education on film and cinema. Since 2010, he has regularly held seminars and workshops on film education, as well as on film itself as a means of film education, including the production of video essays.

Kodwo Eshun is an artist and theorist. He studied English literature at University College, Oxford University, and is Lecturer in Aural and Visual Culture at Goldsmiths, University of London. In 2002 Eshun cofounded The Otolith Group, which was nominated for the Turner Prize in 2010. The Otolith Group’s work explores the potentials of liberation struggles, speculative futures and science-fictions. He is coeditor of The Ghosts of Songs: The Film Art of the Black Audio Film Collective, 2007, with Anjalika Sagar; Harun Farocki: Against What? Against Whom?, 2009, with Antje Ehmann; and The Militant Image: A Cine Geography, 2011, with Ros Gray. He is the author of Dan Graham: Rock My Religion, 2012.

Christine Lang Since 2009, she has been an artistic research associate at Film University Babelsberg Konrad Wolf in the department of dramaturgy and aesthetics. Cultural studies, art history, and literature were her focuses at Humboldt University, Berlin (MA 2002 under Friedrich A. Kittler), after which she studied film and television direction at the Academy of Media Arts Cologne (Diplom 2006). In addition to her film work (including Kalte Probe with Constanze Ruhm, 2013, and As if we were somebody else, 2015), she conducts research on film dramaturgy and aesthetics. Publications: Breaking Down Breaking Bad. Dramaturgie und Ästhetik einer Fernsehserie (with Christoph Dreher, 2013) and Come and play with us. Dramaturgie und Ästhetik im postmodernen Kino (with Kerstin Stutterheim, 2013).

Doreen Mende is an independent curator and theorist, currently living in Berlin. Her concept-driven projects often begin with archival research in connection with economics, anti-colonial thinking, non-aligned trajectories, the paradoxical forms of socialist internationalisms, solidarity, and geopolitics in contemporary exhibiting processes. Her recent curatorial engagements include A Triple Timeline for Qalandiya International Encounters 2014 in Ramallah; the exhibition and publication KP Brehmer Real Capital – Production (2014) for Raven Row in London; the research exhibition Travelling Communiqué (2012-2014, coauthored with Armin Linke and Milica Tomić) in partnership with the Museum of Yugoslav History in Belgrade, Netsa Art Village in Addis Ababa, the Dutch Art Institute, and Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin. Since 2010, she has served on the faculty of the Dutch Art Institute. In 2011 she received a research fellowship from the Arab Images Foundation in Beirut while working on her PhD, awarded by Goldsmiths, University of London in 2014.

Constanze Ruhm was a professor of film and video at the Merz Akademie Stuttgart from 2003 to 2006. Since 2006, she has held a professorship in the art and media department at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. Her film, installation, and curatorial works and projects focus on contemporary forms of a feminist art praxis that engages questions of identity and representation with an emphasis on the relationship between film (history), new media, and the visual arts. Her most recent projects are Invisible Producers / Panoramis Paramount Paranormal (with Emilien Awada, 2014/2015), Kalte Probe (with Christine Lang, 2013), and My_Never_Ending_Burial_Plot (with Christine Lang, 2010). Her publications include Coming Attractions (edited by Rike Frank, 2012) and Utopia of Sound (with Diedrich Diederichsen, 2010).

Anjalika Sagar is an artist. She studied social anthropology and Hindi at the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London. Sagar is coeditor of The Ghosts of Songs: The Film Art of the Black Audio Film Collective, 2007, with Kodwo Eshun. In 2002 she cofounded The Otolith Group with Kodwo Eshun. Nominated for The Turner Prize in 2010, The Otolith Group’s work explores the potentials of liberation struggles, speculative futures and science-fictions.

Fr, 27. Februar 2015

Mit Farocki denken 4

Mit Christine Lang, Constanze Ruhm, Doreen Mende, sowie Kodwo Eshun und Anjalika Sagar (The Otolith Group, London)

Filmemacher, Mentor und Lehrmeister. Dieser Tag ist Harun Farocki gewidmet. Langjährige Weggefährt*innen, Freund*innen und Begleiter*innen zeichnen in einer Intensivserie von Präsentationen und Betrachtungen sein Wirken nach.

Moderation: Michael Baute (Autor, Kurator, Berlin)

Programm

19.30h – 20h
Arbeit an der Natur: Der Wald als Dunkelkammer, die Lichtung als Bühne
Christine Lang (Filmemacherin, Kulturwissenschaftlerin, Berlin) und Constanze Ruhm (Filmemacherin, Kuratorin, Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien)

20h – 20.30h
Embarking on Farocki's Infinite Flights of Words in Images
Doreen Mende (Kuratorin, Theoretikerin, Berlin)

20.30h – 21h
Kodwo Eshun und Anjalika Sagar (The Otolith Group, London)

Beitragende

Michael Baute ist Autor, Dozent und Medienarbeiter. Seit 1992 schreibt und veröffentlicht er zu Kino in Büchern, Katalogen, Zeitschriften sowie im von ihm 2001 mitgegründeten Weblog newfilmkritik.de. Zusammen mit Volker Pantenburg ist er Mitherausgeber von Minutentexte. The Night of the Hunter (2006) und Co-Autor des auf jenem Buch basierenden Hörspiels Minutentexte (2008). 2008/2009 war er künstlerischer Leiter des Projekts Kunst der Vermittlung. Aus den Archiven des Filmvermittelnden Films (kunst-der-vermittlung.de), welches sich mit der Erforschung, Sammlung und Verbreitung audiovisueller Formen von Film- und Kinovermittlung beschäftigte. Seit 2010 führt er regelmäßig Lehrveranstaltungen und Workshops zu Filmvermittlung und Filmvermittelndem Film durch, inklusive Produktion von Video-Essays.

Kodwo Eshun ist Künstler und Theoretiker. Er studierte Englische Literatur am University College der Oxford University und lehrt Aural and Visual Culture an Goldsmiths, University of London. 2002 gründete er gemeinsam mit Anjalika Sagar die 2010 für den Turner Prize nominierte Künstlergruppe The Otolith Group, die die Potentiale von Befreiungskämpfen, spekulativen Zukünften und Sciencefiction-Szenarien erforscht. Eshun ist Mitherausgeber von The Ghosts of Songs: The Film Art of the Black Audio Film Collective, 2007, mit Anjalika Sagar; Harun Farocki: Against What? Against Whom?, 2009, mit Antje Ehmann; und The Militant Image: A Cine Geography, 2011, mit Ros Gray. Er ist der Autor von Dan Graham: Rock My Religion, 2012.

Christine Lang Seit 2009 künstlerisch-wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg Konrad Wolf im Fachbereich Dramaturgie und Ästhetik. Studium Kulturwissenschaft, Kunstgeschichte und Literaturwissenschaft an der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin (MA 2002 bei Friedrich A. Kittler) und Film- und Fernsehregie an der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln (Diplom 2006). Neben der filmischen Arbeit (zuletzt 2013 Kalte Probe mit Constanze Ruhm und 2015 As if we were somebody else) Forschungen zu Filmdramaturgie und -ästhetik. Veröffentlichungen: Breaking Down Breaking Bad. Dramaturgie und Ästhetik einer Fernsehserie (mit Christoph Dreher, 2013) und Come and play with us. Dramaturgie und Ästhetik im postmodernen Kino (mit Kerstin Stutterheim, 2013).

Doreen Mende ist eine freie Kuratorin und Theoretikerin und lebt in Berlin. Ihre konzeptbezogenen Projekte gehen oft von archivarischen Erkundungen aus in Bezug auf Ökonomie, antikoloniales Denken und historische Spuren von Blockfreien Politiken (Non-Aligned Movement) sowie paradoxe Formen des Sozialistischen Internationalismus, Solidarität und Geopolitiken in zeitgenössischen Ausstellungsprozessen. Zuletzt kuratierte sie A Triple Timeline für Qalandiya International Encounters 2014 in Ramallah; die Ausstellung und dazugehörige Publikation KP Brehmer Real Capital – Production (2014) für Raven Row in London; die Forschungsausstellung Travelling Communiqué (2012-2014, zusammen mit Armin Linke und Milica Tomić) in Kooperation mit dem Museum für Jugoslawische Geschichte in Belgrad, dem Netsa Art Village in Addis Abeba, dem Dutch Art Institute und dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt Berlin. Seit 2010 lehrt sie am Dutch Art Institute. 2011 erhielt sie ein Forschungsstipendium der Arab Image Foundation in Beirut während sie ihre Dissertation am Goldsmiths an der University of London ablegte (2014).

Constanze Ruhm war von 2003 bis 2006 Professorin für Film und Video an der Merz Akademie Stuttgart, seit 2006 ist sie Professorin an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien im Fachbereich Kunst und Medien. Ihre filmischen, installativen und kuratorischen Arbeiten und Projekte konzentrieren sich auf zeitgenössische Formen einer feministischen Kunstpraxis unter Berücksichtigung von Fragen der Identität und Repräsentation mit einem Schwerpunkt auf die Beziehung von Film(geschichte), Neuen Medien und Bildender Kunst. Ihre jüngsten Produktionen sind: Invisible Producers / Panoramis Paramount Paranormal (mit Emilien Awada, 2014/2015); Kalte Probe (mit Christine Lang, 2013); My_Never_Ending_Burial_Plot (mit Christine Lang, 2010). Zu ihren Veröffentlichungen zählen, u.a.: Coming Attractions (Herausgegeben von Rike Frank, 2012); Utopia of Sound (mit Diedrich Diederichsen, 2010).

Anjalika Sagar ist Künstlerin. Sie studierte Soziale Anthropologie und Hindi am School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London. Sagar ist Mitherausgeberin von The Ghosts of Songs: The Film Art of the Black Audio Film Collective, 2007, gemeinsam mit Kodwo Eshun. Zusammen mit Kodwo Eshun gründete sie 2002 die Künstlergruppe The Otolith Group, die die Potentiale von Befreiungskämpfen, spekulativen Zukünften und Sciencefiction-Szenarien erforscht.