2015, Fri, Feb 27

Thinking with Farocki 2

With Filipa César, Diedrich Diederichsen, Klaus Wyborny, and Anselm Franke

Filmmaker, mentor, and teacher: this day is dedicated to Harun Farocki. Long-standing friends, companions, and associates will trace his work and influence in an intensive series of presentations and reflective discussions.

Moderation: Michael Baute (writer, curator, Berlin)

Program

2 pm – 2.30 pm
The Trouble with Palms
Filipa César (artist, filmmaker, Berlin)

2.30 pm – 3 pm
1978 – 1972 – 1969
Diedrich Diederichsen (cultural scientist, journalist, curator, Berlin)

3 pm – 3.30 pm
Krieg der Welten
Klaus Wyborny (filmmaker, director, actor, Hamburg)

3.30 pm – 4 pm
Map – Matching
Anselm Franke (curator, writer, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin)

Contributors

Michael Baute is an author, lecturer, and media worker. Since 1992, he has published writings on cinema in various books, catalogues, and magazines, as well as the blog newfilmkritik.de, which he cofounded in 2001. He published Minutentexte: The Night of the Hunter (2006) jointly with Volker Pantenburg and coauthored the associated radio play Minutentexte (2008). In 2008/2009 he served as artistic director of the project Kunst der Vermittlung. Aus den Archiven des Filmvermittelnden Films (kunst-der-vermittlung.de), which dealt with the research, collection, and distribution of audiovisual forms of education on film and cinema. Since 2010, he has regularly held seminars and workshops on film education, as well as on film itself as a means of film education, including the production of video essays.

Filipa César is an artist and filmmaker based in Berlin. In her work she reflects on subjects of political and social significance. She explores the fictional aspects of the documentary film genre and the politics behind the creation of moving images. Her work encompasses the filmic languages of storytelling, chronicling, documentary, and the experimental.

Diedrich Diederichsen is a professor of the theory, practice, and communication of contemporary art at the Institute of Art Theory and Cultural Studies at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. Since the 1980s, he has regularly published writings on popular and contemporary music, as well as contemporary art, cinema, theater, design, and politics in periodicals such as die tageszeitung, Süddeutsche Zeitung, Die Zeit, theater heute, and Texte zur Kunst. Recent book publications include Über Pop-Musik (2014), The Sopranos (2012), Psicodelia y ready-made (2010), and Utopia of Sound (2010). Jointly with Anselm Franke, he curated the 2013 exhibition The Whole Earth as part of The Anthropocene Project at Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin.

Anselm Franke is a curator and critic. Since 2013, he has headed the Department of Visual Arts at Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin, where he has co-curated the exhibition and publication The Whole Earth with Diedrich Diederichsen, the exhibition After Year Zero with Annett Busch (both 2013), and recently the exhibition Forensis with Eyal Weizman, 2014. His seminal project Animism was presented in different versions in Antwerp, Bern (2010), Vienna (2011), Berlin, and on e-flux, New York (2012). Franke has edited numerous publications and regularly contributes articles to magazines such as Metropolis M, e-flux journal, and Cabinet. He was curator of the Taipei Biennial 2012 and the Shanghai Biennale 2014.

Klaus Wyborny is among the highest-profile exponents of international avant-garde film. His films are represented in the collections of numerous museums, including the Museum of Modern Art, New York. He has taught at such universities and art academies as Ohio State University, Columbus, California Institute of the Arts, Valencia, and the Akademie der Künste, Berlin. In 2009 he assumed a professorship at the Hochschule Mannheim – University of Applied Sciences. He has created a multifaceted body of work that explores the boundaries between experimental, documentary, and essay film. His books Elementare Schnitt-Theorie des Spielfilms (2013) and Grundzüge einer Topologie des Narrativen (2014) have opened up new terrain in film theory. He was awarded the Prix Walter Benjamin in France in 2013.

Fr, 27. Februar 2015

Mit Farocki denken 2

Mit Filipa César, Diedrich Diederichsen, Klaus Wyborny und Anselm Franke

Filmemacher, Mentor und Lehrmeister. Dieser Tag ist Harun Farocki gewidmet. Langjährige Weggefährt*innen, Freund*innen und Begleiter*innen zeichnen in einer Intensivserie von Präsentationen und Betrachtungen sein Wirken nach.

Moderation: Michael Baute (Autor, Kurator, Berlin)

Programm

14h – 14.30h
The Trouble with Palms
Filipa César (Künstlerin, Filmemacherin, Berlin)

14.30h – 15h
1978 – 1972 – 1969
Diedrich Diederichsen (Kulturwissenschaftler, Journalist, Berlin)

15h – 15.30h
Krieg der Welten
Klaus Wyborny (Filmemacher, Schauspieler, Hamburg)

15.30h – 16h
Map – Matching
Anselm Franke (Kurator, Autor, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin)

Beitragende

Michael Baute ist Autor, Dozent und Medienarbeiter. Seit 1992 schreibt und veröffentlicht er zu Kino in Büchern, Katalogen, Zeitschriften sowie im von ihm 2001 mitgegründeten Weblog newfilmkritik.de. Zusammen mit Volker Pantenburg ist er Mitherausgeber von Minutentexte. The Night of the Hunter (2006) und Co-Autor des auf jenem Buch basierenden Hörspiels Minutentexte (2008). 2008/2009 war er künstlerischer Leiter des Projekts Kunst der Vermittlung. Aus den Archiven des Filmvermittelnden Films (kunst-der-vermittlung.de), welches sich mit der Erforschung, Sammlung und Verbreitung audiovisueller Formen von Film- und Kinovermittlung beschäftigte. Seit 2010 führt er regelmäßig Lehrveranstaltungen und Workshops zu Filmvermittlung und Filmvermittelndem Film durch, inklusive Produktion von Video-Essays.

Filipa César ist Künstlerin und Filmemacherin und lebt in Berlin. In ihrer Arbeit reflektiert sie Themen von politischer und gesellschaftlicher Bedeutung. Sie untersucht die fiktiven Aspekte des Dokumentarfilm-Genres und die Politik hinter der Schaffung von bewegten Bildern. Ihre Arbeit umfasst die filmische Sprache des Geschichtenerzählens, der Aufzeichnung, des Dokumentarischen und des Experimentellen.

Diedrich Diederichsen ist Professor für Theorie, Praxis und Vermittlung von Gegenwartskunst am Institut für Kunst- und Kulturwissenschaften der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Wien. Seit den 1980er Jahren veröffentlicht er regelmäßig zu Gegenwartskunst, Pop-Musik und zeitgenössischer Musik, Kino, Theater, Design und Politik, u.a. in die tageszeitung, Süddeutsche Zeitung, Die Zeit, theater heute und Texte zur Kunst. Zu seinen letzten Veröffentlichungen zählen Über Pop-Musik (2014), The Sopranos (2012), Psicodelia y ready-made (2010) und Utopia of Sound (2010). Gemeinsam mit Anselm Franke kuratierte er 2013 die Ausstellung The Whole Earth im Rahmen des Anthropozän Projektes am Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin.

Anselm Franke ist Kurator und Kritiker und seit Januar 2013 Leiter des Bereichs Bildende Kunst am Haus der Kulturen der Welt. Dort kuratierte er zusammen mit Diedrich Diederichsen The Whole Earth und mit Annett Busch After Year Zero (beide 2013) und jüngst Forensis zusammen mit Eyal Weizman (2014). Sein Projekt Animismus wurde in verschiedenen Versionen in Antwerpen, Bern (2010), Wien (2011), Berlin und bei e-flux New York (2012) präsentiert. Franke hat zahlreiche Publikationen herausgegeben und veröffentlicht regelmäßig Beiträge in Zeitschriften wie Metropolis M, e-flux journal und Cabinet. Zudem war er Kurator der Taipei Biennale 2012 und der Shanghai Biennale 2014.

Klaus Wyborny gehört zu den profiliertesten Vertretern des internationalen Avantgardefilms. Seine Filme sind in den Sammlungen zahlreicher Museen vertreten, darunter dem New Yorker Museum of Modern Art. Er unterrichtete an diversen Universitäten und Kunsthochschulen wie der Ohio State University, Columbus, dem California Institute of the Arts, Valencia, und der Berliner Akademie der Künste. 2009 wurde er Professor an der Hochschule Mannheim. Er hat ein vielschichtiges Werk geschaffen, das die Grenzen zwischen Experimental-, Dokumentar- und Essayfilm auslotet. Seine Arbeiten Elementare Schnitt-Theorie des Spielfilms (2013) und Grundzüge einer Topologie des Narrativen (2014) öffneten filmtheoretisches Neuland. 2013 erhielt er in Frankreich den Prix Walter Benjamin.