2015, Thu, Jan 29

Keynote Capture All_Work

with: Carolin Gerlitz, Judy Wajcman

In this double-keynote, two of the most important contemporary scholars dealing with the dilemmas of post-digital labour will each deliver a talk and then engage in an in-depth conversation on questions of the possibilities and capabilities of workers to cope with and organise out of today's both highly diffuse as well as algorithmically governed labour situations.

Judy Wacjman is known for her pioneering work in Science & Technology Studies, The Social Shaping of Technology – How The Refrigerator got its Hum (with D. MacKenzie, 1985) and her long-term engagement with research at the intersection of the sociology of labour organisation, technology and feminism, as explored in books such as Women in Control: Dilemmas of a Workers' Co-operative (1983) and TechnoFeminism (2004). In her keynote, Wacjman will offer a perspective on technological acceleration and the precarious work/life balance as explored in her latest study, Pressed for Time: The Acceleration of Life in Digital Capitalism (2014). Drawing from empirical and historical studies, Wacjman elaborates a perspective beyond acceleration as merely a technological or even economic phenomenon and instead looks at how we come to favour certain structures of time-management over others in our everyday life situations.

With Free Labor: Producing Culture for the Digital Economy (2003), the activist and theorist Tiziana Terranova wrote one of the most influential statements on labour in the digital age. By shifting the focus of the new media/new economy discourse from one of participation, interactivity and collaboration to the key role of free labor, Terranova pointed out new forms of exploitation dangerously inherent in the digital paradigms of open-source and peer production models. The book Network Culture – Politics for the Information Age (2004) further sedimented Terranova's post-marxist and materialist critique of the information age but also importantly offered perspectives of how resistance and forms of counter-organisation can manifest themselves through the gaps and excesses of the cybernetic networks. In her talk, Terranova will discuss how new social forms of resistance can help labour forces organise themselves across the divides of cognitive and more physically bounded types of work.

Do, 29. Januar 2015

Keynote Capture All_Work

mit: Carolin Gerlitz, Judy Wajcman

Diese Keynote präsentiert Vorträge von zwei der wichtigsten zeitgenössischen Wissenschaftlerinnen, die sich mit dem Dilemma post-digitaler Arbeit auseinandersetzen. In einer tiefgehenden Diskussion beschäftigen sie sich mit den Möglichkeiten und Befähigungen von Arbeitern, es mit den heutigen zugleich stark zerstreuten und ebenso algorithmisch beherrschten Arbeitssituationen aufzunehmen und sich außerhalb davon zu organisieren.

Judy Wacjman ist bekannt für ihre Pionierarbeit The Social Shaping of Technology - How The Refrigerator got its Hum (mit D. MacKenzie, 1985) in den Wissenschafts- und Technologiestudien, genauso wie für ihr langjähriges Engagement in der Forschung an der Schnittstelle der Soziologie zu Arbeit, Organisation, Technologie und Feminismus, die sie in den Büchern Women in Control: Dilemmas of a Workers' Co-operative (1983) und TechnoFeminism (2004) untersucht hat. In ihrer Keynote wird Wacjman einen Ausblick auf die technologische Beschleunigung und den prekären Ausgleich von Arbeit und Freizeit geben, welche sie in ihrer letzten Studie Pressed for Time: The Acceleration of Life in Digital Capitalism (2014) genauer untersucht hat. Ausgehend von empirischen und historischen Studien bearbeitet Wacjman eine Sichtweise auf Beschleunigung nicht bloß als technologisches oder gar wirtschaftliches Phänomen, sondern untersucht, warum wir bestimmte Strukturen des Zeitmanagements in Alltagssituationen gegenüber anderen bevorzugen.

Mit Free Labor: Producing Culture for the Digital Economy (2003) hat die Aktivistin und Theoretikerin Tiziana Terranova eine der einflussreichsten Stellungnahmen zur Arbeit im digitalen Zeitalter geschrieben. Während sie innerhalb des Diskurses über neuen Medien / neue Ökonomie den Fokus weg von Partizipation, Interaktivität und Kollaboration hin zur Schlüsselrolle unbezahlter Arbeit verschob, zeigte sie neue Formen der Ausbeutung auf, die den digitalen Paradigmen von Open Source- und Peer Production-Modellen gefährlich anhaften. In dem Buch Network Culture – Politics for the Information Age (2004) schlägt sich darüber hinaus Terranovas post-marxistische und materialistische Kritik am Informationszeitalter nieder, wobei es aber auch wichtige Perspektiven auf Widerstand und Formen der Gegenorganisation aufzeigt, und wie sie durch Lücken und Überschreitungen in kybernetischen Netzwerken sichtbar werden können. In ihrem Vortrag wird Terranova diskutieren, wie neue soziale Formen des Widerstands Erwerbstätigen helfen können, sich jenseits der Trennlinie von geistigen und eher physisch eingegrenzten Arbeitstypen zu organisieren.


Aktuelle Informationen und vollständiges Programm: transmediale.de