Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2015, Sat, Feb 28

DEDICATION / PRECISION / VOCATION

With Rahel Jaeggi, Volker Pantenburg, Gadi Algazi, and Rembert Hüser

The workshop films form the starting point of the second day of the conference: a small selection of specific films, chosen according to thematic and associative terminological fields, provide an opening for each panel and serve as a common knowledge base for presentations and discussions.

DEDICATION / PRECISION / VOCATION
What is the significance of the acquisition of knowledge and skills in the field defined by the formation of self, educational techniques, and social recognition? What is the influence of training, apprenticeship, and routine? Of talent, skill, and chance? What potentials and contradictions, what capacities to act and shape, arise for the interplay of work and life and inform individualization strategies, entrepreneurship, and the willingness to take risks?

With
Rahel Jaeggi (philosopher, Humboldt University, Berlin), Volker Pantenburg (film and media theorist, Bauhaus University, Weimar), Gadi Algazi (historian, activist, University of Tel Aviv)
Moderator: Rembert Hüser (media, film and theater theorist, Goethe University Frankfurt)

Contributors

Gadi Algazi is a professor of medieval history in the Department of History at Tel Aviv University . He was senior editor of the journal History & Memory (2001-2011) and is a member of the publishing collective for the journals Past & Present and Historische Anthropologie. His research encompasses, in particular, the social and cultural history of the late Middle Ages and early modern period, historical anthropology, colonial history, and the history of the social sciences.

Rembert Hüser has been a professor of media studies in the theater, film, and media studies department at Goethe University Frankfurt since January 2014. From 2003 to 2013 he was an associate professor of cultural and media studies at the University of Minnesota in the department of German, Scandinavian & Dutch and the department of cultural studies & comparative literature. He obtained his doctorate in 1992 at the University of Bielefeld with a dissertation on the rhetoric of criticism. From 1992 to 1998 he worked as an assistant professor in German studies at the University of Bonn. As a research fellow at the cultural research institute “Media and Cultural Communication” in Cologne from 1999 to 2001, he led a project on the title sequence in Hollywood film. He has held temporary professorships in media studies at HbK Braunschweig (2001/2002) and film studies at Goethe University Frankfurt (2008/2009).

Rahel Jaeggi is a German philosopher and professor of practical philosophy at Humboldt University in Berlin with focuses in social and political philosophy, philosophical ethics, anthropology, and social ontology. In her research she critically examines concepts of alienation, commodification/objectification and ideology, way of life, and solidarity. In 2011, with Daniel Loick, she was the chief organizer of the international conference Re-thinking Marx at Humboldt University. Her most recently published books are on the subjects of alienation (Entfremdung, 2005), the critique of ways of life (Kritik der Lebensformen, 2013) and the essay collection Nach Marx (2013, with Daniel Loick).

Volker Pantenburg is a junior professor of image theory with a focus in moving images at the Bauhaus University Weimar. From 2010 to 2012 he was junior director of IKKM (Internationales Kolleg für Kulturtechnikforschung und Medienphilosophie). He has published a variety of books, including Film als Theorie. Bildforschung bei Harun Farocki und Jean-Luc Godard (2006), Ränder des Kinos. Godard – Wiseman – Benning – Costa (2010), Screen Dynamics. Mapping the Borders of Cinema (coeditor, 2012) and Wörterbuch kinematografischer Objekte (coeditor, 2014). The English translation of his book on Harun Farocki and Jean-Luc Godard is to be published in spring 2015.

Sa, 28. Februar 2015

HINGABE / GENAUIGKEIT / BERUFUNG

Mit Rahel Jaeggi, Volker Pantenburg, Gadi Algazi und Rembert Hüser

Ausgewählte Workshopfilme aus den 15 Städten sind visueller Ausgangspunkt wie auch gemeinsame Wissensbasis des zweiten Konferenztages, dessen Konzept gemeinsam mit Farocki und Ehmann entwickelt wurde: Sortiert nach thematischen und assoziativen Begriffsfeldern eröffnen spezifisch ausgewählte Filme den Einstieg in die Panels.

HINGABE / GENAUIGKEIT / BERUFUNG
Welche Bedeutung haben der Erwerb von Wissen und Fertigkeiten im Spannungsfeld von Selbstformierung, Bildungstechniken und gesellschaftlicher Anerkennung? Wie wirken Ausbildung, Lehre und Routine, aber auch Talent, Geschick und Zufall? Welche Potentiale und Widersprüche, Handlungs- und Gestaltungsvermögen ergeben sich für das Zusammenspiel von Arbeit und Leben und prägen Individualisierungsstrategien, Unternehmertum und Risikobereitschaft?

Mit
Rahel Jaeggi (Philosophin, Humboldt Universität zu Berlin), Volker Pantenburg (Filmwissenschaftler, Bauhaus-Universität, Weimar), Gadi Algazi (Historiker, Aktivist, Universität Tel Aviv)
Moderation: Rembert Hüser (Medien-, Film- und Theaterwissenschaftler, Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt)

Beitragende

Gadi Algazi ist Professor für mittelalterliche Geschichte im Fachbereich Geschichte an der Universität Tel Aviv. Er war Herausgeber der Zeitschrift History & Memory (2001-2011) und ist Mitglied des Herausgeberkollektivs der Zeitschriften Past & Present und Historische Anthropologie. Sein Forschungsinteresse gilt besonders der Sozial- und Kulturgeschichte des späten Mittelalters und der Frühen Neuzeit, der historischen Anthropologie, der Kolonialgeschichte und der Geschichte der Sozialwissenschaften.

Rembert Hüser ist seit Januar 2014 Professor für Medienwissenschaft am Institut für Theater-, Film- und Medienwissenschaft der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt. Von 2003 bis 2013 war er Associate Professor für Kultur- und Medienwissenschaft an der University of Minnesota in den Fachbereichen German, Scandinavian & Dutch und Cultural Studies & Comparative Literature. 1992 promovierte er an der Universität Bielefeld mit einer Arbeit zur Rhetorik der Kritik (Kommissar Lohmann). Von 1992 bis 1998 arbeitete er als Hochschulassistent im Germanistischen Seminar der Rheinischen Friedrich-Wilhelms Universität Bonn. Als Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Kulturwissenschaftlichen Forschungskolleg „Medien und kulturelle Kommunikation“ in Köln leitete er von 1999 bis 2001 ein Projekt zum Hollywood-Filmvorspann. 2001/2002 vertrat er die Professur für Medienwissenschaft an der HbK Braunschweig, 2008/2009 die Professur für Filmwissenschaft an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt.

Rahel Jaeggi ist eine deutsche Philosophin und Professorin für Praktische Philosophie an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin mit thematischen Schwerpunkten in den Bereichen der Sozialphilosophie sowie der politischen Philosophie, der philosophischen Ethik, Anthropologie und Sozialontologie. In ihrer Forschung setzt sie sich mit Begriffen der Entfremdung, der Kommodifizierung bzw. Verdinglichung und der Ideologie, Lebensform und Solidarität auseinander. Zusammen mit Daniel Loick war sie 2011 Hauptorganisatorin der internationalen Konferenz Re-thinking Marx an der Humboldt-Universität. Kürzlich erschienen ihre beiden Publikationen Entfremdung (2005), Kritik der Lebensformen (2013) und der Aufsatzband Nach Marx (2013, gemeinsam mit Daniel Loick).

Volker Pantenburg ist Juniorprofessor für Bildtheorie mit dem Schwerpunkt Bewegtbildforschung an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar. Von 2010 bis 2012 war er Juniordirektor des IKKM (Internationales Kolleg für Kulturtechnikforschung und Medienphilosophie). Zu seinen Buchpublikationen gehören u.a. Film als Theorie. Bildforschung bei Harun Farocki und Jean-Luc Godard (2006), Ränder des Kinos. Godard – Wiseman – Benning – Costa (2010), Screen Dynamics. Mapping the Borders of Cinema (Mitherausgeber, 2012) und Wörterbuch kinematografischer Objekte (Mitherausgeber, 2014). Sein Buch über Harun Farocki und Jean-Luc Godard wird im Frühjahr 2015 in englischer Übersetzung erscheinen.