Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2015, Sat, Feb 28

HANDS / TOOLS / GESTURES

With Birger Priddat, Christine N. Brinckmann, Wolfgang Beilenhoff, John Akomfrah, Bernhard Siegert, and Gregory Williams

The workshop films form the starting point of the second day of the conference: a small selection of specific films, chosen according to thematic and associative terminological fields, provide an opening for each panel and serve as a common knowledge base for presentations and discussions.

HANDS / TOOLS / GESTURES
Using observations of the execution of work from art-historical, philosophical, and film-theoretical perspectives, this panel will outline the history of production and of the transformation of labor between the poles of material and immaterial production. What practices of manufacturing and production, what work media and techniques, what choreographies and gestures of labor are negotiated and shown in the films? What individual and socially effective regulations and potentials for attachment and commitment become visible, or remain invisible, in the execution of labor?

With
Birger Priddat (economist, philosopher, Witten/Herdecke University), Christine N. Brinckmann (film theorist, University of Zurich) and Wolfgang Beilenhoff (film theorist, Ruhr University Bochum), John Akomfrah (artist, writer, theorist, London), Bernhard Siegert (media historian, theorist, Bauhaus University, Weimar)
Moderator: Gregory Williams (art historian, Boston University)

Contributors

John Akomfrah is an artist, writer and cultural activist. He has produced various documentaries, feature films, and gallery installations, which have won prizes and critical acclaim across Africa, Asia, Europe, and North America. Known principally as one of the originators of Black British Cinema and latterly as a trailblazer for British digital cinematography, Akomfrah was a founding member of the Black Audio Film Collective. His most recent works are Peripeteia, Psyche, At the Graveside of Andre Tarkovsky and The Stuart Hall Project, a single-channel work that premiered at the 2013 Sundance Film Festival in the World Documentary Competition.

Wolfgang Beilenhoff is professor emeritus of film studies in the department of media studies at Ruhr University, Bochum. The focuses of his research include the theory and aesthetics of Russian formalist film, as well as the difference between seeing and reading with respect to media. From 2002 till 2008, he headed the research project Medialität und Körper: Das Gesicht im Film at the inter-university research institute Media and Cultural Communication (Aachen, Bochum, Bonn, and Cologne). In 2008/2009 he was a senior fellow at IKKM (Bauhaus-Universität Weimar). He is currently working on the research project Masse und Medium: Historische Figurationen filmischer MassenBilder.

Christine N. Brinckmann is a German filmmaker and film theorist. The first female professor of film studies in Switzerland, she established the Department of Film Studies at the University of Zurich in 1989, laying the foundation for a field that is now firmly embedded in the humanities curriculum. Until 2002, she held the department chair as Professor of Film Studies. She has published seminal texts on many subjects, including film history and narrative theory, especially with respect to Hollywood films; American documentarism; aesthetics of experimental film; and feminist issues. Her films have been featured at many international experimental-film festivals.

Birger Priddat is a professor, philosopher and economist. Since 2009, he has held the chair in political economy on the Faculty of Economics at Witten/Herdecke University. He was additionally a visiting professor at Zeppelin University in Friedrichshafen until 2014. Priddat was a research fellow at the Zentrum für Religion, Wirtschaft und Politik at the University of Basel from 2010 to 2012, visiting professor at the University of Basel from 2011 to 2013, and at the Center of Excellence at the University of Konstanz (Cultural Sciences, subgroup “Unknowing”) in 2011/2012. His monograph Akteure, Verträge, Netzwerke: Der kooperative Modus der Ökonomie (2012), draws on his intensive research on the theory of political economy, the future of work, and the history of economic thought.

Bernhard Siegert is a cultural and media scholar. He is the Gerd Bucerius Professor of the history and theory of cultural techniques at Bauhaus-Universität Weimar and, since 2008, director of IKKM (international institute for research on cultural techniques and media philosophy) in Weimar. Since 2013, he has additionally served as speaker of the DFG research group “Media and Mimesis.” Focuses of his work include: the ship; genesis and limits of representation; excessive mimesis; textile media – textile arts; and history and theory of cultural techniques. His current book, Cultural Techniques: Grids, Filters, Doors, and Other Articulations of the Real, will be published this year in New York. He is editor of Zeitschrift für Medien- und Kulturforschung and Archiv für Mediengeschichte.

Gregory Williams is an associate professor of contemporary art and the director of graduate studies in History of Art and Architecture at Boston University. An editor-at-large of Brooklyn’s Cabinet magazine, he has published numerous art reviews in periodicals such as Art Journal, Artforum, frieze, Parkett, and Texte zur Kunst. He has written catalogue essays and book chapters on Martin Kippenberger, Imi Knoebel, Rosemarie Trockel, and Cosima von Bonin, among others. His book, Permission to Laugh: Humor and Politics in Contemporary German Art, was published in 2012. With Roy Grundmann, Williams directed the conference Labor in a Single Shot in Boston in November 2014.

Sa, 28. Februar 2015

HÄNDE / WERKZEUG / GESTEN

Mit Birger Priddat, Christine N. Brinckmann, Wolfgang Beilenhoff, John Akomfrah, Bernhard Siegert und Gregory Williams

Ausgewählte Workshopfilme aus den 15 Städten sind visueller Ausgangspunkt wie auch gemeinsame Wissensbasis des zweiten Konferenztages, dessen Konzept gemeinsam mit Farocki und Ehmann entwickelt wurde: Sortiert nach thematischen und assoziativen Begriffsfeldern eröffnen spezifisch ausgewählte Filme den Einstieg in die Panels.

HÄNDE / WERKZEUG / GESTEN
Skizziert wird die Produktions- und Transformationsgeschichte(n) von Arbeit im Spannungsfeld von materieller und immaterieller Produktion anhand kulturhistorischer, philosophischer und filmtheoretischer Beobachtung von Arbeitsverrichtungen. Welche Fertigungs- und Produktionspraktiken, Medien und Techniken des Arbeitens, welche Choreographien und Gesten des Arbeitens werden in den Filmen verhandelt und gezeigt? Welche individuellen und gesellschaftlich wirksamen Regulierungen und Bindungspotentiale werden sicht- oder bleiben unsichtbar bei den Verrichtungen von Arbeit?

Mit
Birger Priddat (Ökonom, Philosoph, Universität Witten/Herdecke), Christine N. Brinckmann (Filmwissenschaftlerin, Universität Zürich) gemeinsam mit Wolfgang Beilenhoff (Filmwissenschaftler, Ruhr-Universität Bochum), John Akomfrah (Künstler, Autor, Theoretiker, London), Bernhard Siegert (Medienhistoriker und-theoretiker, Bauhaus-Universität, Weimar)
Moderation: Gregory Williams (Kunsthistoriker, Universität Boston)

Beitragende

John Akomfrah ist Künstler, Autor und Kultur-Aktivist, der bereits mehrere Dokumentar- und Spielfilme gedreht und Installationen in Galerien geschaffen hat, die in Afrika, Asien, Europa und Nordamerika ausgezeichnet wurden und bei Kritikern großen Anklang fanden. Der Pioniere des Black British Cinema und Wegbereiter der digitalen Filmkunst in Großbritannien war Gründungsmitglied des Black Audio Film Collective. Seine jüngsten Arbeiten sind Peripeteia, Psyche, At the Graveside of Andre Tarkovsky und The Stuart Hall Project, eine Videoarbeit, die 2013 beim Sundance Film Festival in der World Documentary Competition Premiere feierte.

Wolfgang Beilenhoff ist emeritierter Professor für Filmwissenschaft am Institut für Medienwissenschaft der Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Zu seinen Forschungsschwerpunkten zählen Filmtheorie und Filmästhetik des russischen Formalismus sowie die mediale Differenz von Sehen und Lesen. Von 2002 bis 2008 war er Leiter des Forschungsprojekts Medialität und Körper: Das Gesicht im Film am interuniversitären kulturwissenschaftlichen Forschungskolleg Medien und kulturelle Kommunikation (Univ. Aachen, Bochum, Bonn und Köln). 2008/2009 war er Senior Fellow am IKKM (Bauhaus-Universität Weimar). Gegenwärtig arbeitet er an dem Forschungsprojekt Masse und Medium: Historische Figurationen filmischer MassenBilder.

Christine N. Brinckmann ist Filmkünstlerin und Filmwissenschaftlerin. Als erste Professorin für Filmwissenschaft in der Schweiz etablierte sie 1989 das Fach Filmwissenschaft an der Universität Zürich und legte damit das Fundament für ein Gebiet, das heute zum Fächerkanon der Geisteswissenschaften zählt. Bis 2002 war sie ordentliche Professorin für Filmwissenschaft an der Universität Zürich. Sie publizierte bedeutende Texte zu Filmgeschichte und Erzähltheorie, insbesondere des Hollywoodfilms, zum amerikanischen Dokumentarismus, zur Ästhetik des Experimentalfilms und zu feministischen Fragestellungen. Ihre Filme wurden bei zahlreichen internationalen Experimentalfilm-Festivals gezeigt.

Birger Priddat ist Professor, Philosoph und Ökonom. Seit 2009 hält er den Lehrstuhl für Volkswirtschaft und Philosophie an der Wirtschaftsfakultät der Universität Witten/Herdecke inne und war außerdem Gastprofessor an der Zeppelin Universität Friedrichshafen bis 2014. Von 2010 bis 2012 war er Fellow der Forschungsinstitution Zentrum für Religion, Wirtschaft und Politik an der Universität Basel, Gastprofessor an der Universität Basel 2011-2013 und am Exzellenzcenter der Universität Konstanz (Kulturwissenschaften: Subgroup „Nichtwissen“) 2011/2012. Seine Monografie Akteure, Verträge, Netzwerke. Der kooperative Modus der Ökonomie (2012) schließt an seine intensive Forschung zur Theorie der politischen Ökonomie, zur Zukunft der Arbeit und zur Geschichte des ökonomischen Denkens an.

Bernhard Siegert ist Kultur- und Medienwissenschaftler. Er ist Gerd-Bucerius-Professor für Geschichte und Theorie der Kulturtechniken an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar und seit 2008 Direktor des Internationalen Kollegs für Kulturtechnikforschung und Medienphilosophie (IKKM) in Weimar. Seit 2013 ist er außerdem Sprecher der DFG-Forschergruppe „Medien und Mimesis“. Seine Arbeitsschwerpunkte sind: Das Schiff; Genesis und Grenzen der Repräsentation; Exzessive Mimesis; textile Medien – textile Künste; Geschichte und Theorie der Kulturtechniken. Sein aktuelles Buch Cultural Techniques: Grids, Filters, Doors, and Other Articulations of the Real erscheint 2015 in New York. Er ist Herausgeber der Zeitschrift für Medien- und Kulturforschung und des Archivs für Mediengeschichte.

Gregory Williams leitet das Graduiertenkolleg für Kunst- und Architekturgeschichte und ist Professor für Zeitgenössische Kunst an der Boston University. Er ist Editor-at–Large des Brooklyner Magazins Cabinet und hat zahlreiche Kunstkritiken in Zeitschriften veröffentlicht, z.B. in Art Journal, Artforum, frieze, Parkett und Texte zur Kunst. Er hat Katalogbeiträge und Aufsätze über Martin Kippenberger, Imi Knoebel, Rosemarie Trockel und Cosima von Bonin, u.a geschrieben. Sein Buch Permission to Laugh: Humor and Politics in Contemporary German Art wurde 2012 veröffentlicht. Zusammen mit Roy Grundmann leitete Williams im November 2014 in Boston die Konferenz Eine Einstellung zur Arbeit.