2014, Fri, Aug 29

Education and Democratization

Discussion with Njabulo S Ndebele, Carole Bloch and Xolela Mangcu, moderated by Birgit Morgenrath

Our time to choose | „A Voter Education Comic Book“, produced by Matla Trust on behalf of the Independent Forum for Electoral Education

Our time to choose | „A Voter Education Comic Book“, produced by Matla Trust on behalf of the Independent Forum for Electoral Education

In 1996, South Africa adopted a new constitution and passed the South African Schools Act. The thrust of this legislation was to provide for a uniform system for the organisation, governance and funding of schools. Massive literacy campaigns, a commitment to multilingualism and profound reforms marked the way. Today, there is growing unrest over low-quality tuition and overcrowded schools lacking water and electricity. Despite all rhetorics, the educational gap between rich and poor is growing. What has been achieved, what needs to be reinvented? What role could schools play in the reinvention of subjectivity, how could they contribute to ensure an active, discerning citizenship? How should civil society deal with the educational deficits? And how is digitalization changing the educational approaches to literacy?

Carole Bloch is director of PRAESA, a non-government multilingual education organization affiliated to the University of Cape Town. PRAESA researches and develops alternative forms of language and literacy education in South Africa, and drives the Nal’ibali national reading-for-enjoyment campaign to set up reading clubs that promote and sustain the joy of reading and storytelling between adults and children. She is also founder of the “Little Hands Trust,” which develops multilingual children’s literature in Africa.

Xolela Mangcu is associate professor of sociology at the University of Cape Town and the Oppenheimer Fellow at the Hutchins Center for African and African American Research at Harvard University. He is the author and co-author of seven books, including the recently published, “Biko: A Biography” (Tafelberg, 2012). Mangcu was previously a columnist for the Business Day, the Weekender and the Sunday Independent in South Africa and has also been a commentator for CNN, BBC, Al-Jazeera. He has held fellowships at the Brookings Institution, Harvard University, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and the Rockefeller Foundation. Mangcu obtained his Ph.D. in City and Regional Planning from Cornell University and holds MSc (Development Planning) and BA ( Sociology) degrees from Wits University. The Sunday Times (South Africa)has described him as “possibly the most prolific public intellectual in South Africa.”

Birgit Morgenrath is an author and journalist for, among other outlets, the ARD’s radio departments. After studying German studies and political science and her education in journalism, Morgenrath worked in the middle of the 1980s as an editor, reporter, and moderator at WDR from 1985 to 1989. She was later a member of the collective Rheinisches JournalistInnen Büro in Cologne until 2011. Her main focuses include history, economics, and environmental issues in South Africa and the southern African region as well as African literature. She is co-author of the book “Deutsches Kapital am Kap—Kollaboration mit dem Apartheidregime,” published by Edition Nautilus in 2003, further she translated Denis Goldberg’s autobiography “The Mission: A Life for Freedom in South Africa” into German.

Njabulo S Ndebele is a fiction and essay writer, public commentator, and one of the key figures in South African higher education. Since 2013, Ndebele has served as chairman of the Mandela Rhodes Foundation and the Nelson Mandela Foundation, and in 2012 was appointed Chancellor of the University of Johannesburg. As a publicist he is known for his essays about South African literature and culture as well as his precise interventions in political questions. His most well-known publications include the collection of essays “Rediscovery of the Ordinary” (COSAW, 1991), the Noma Award-winning volume of short stories “Fools and Other Stories” (Ravan Press, 1984), his novel “The Cry of Winnie Mandela” (Ayebia Clarke, 2004), and the essay collection “Fine Lines from the Box” (Umuzi, 2007).

Fr, 29. August 2014

Bildung und Demokratisierung

Diskussion mit Njabulo S Ndebele, Carole Bloch und Xolela Mangcu, moderiert von Birgit Morgenrath

Our time to choose | „A Voter Education Comic Book“, produziert von Matla Trust im Auftrag des Independent Forum for Electoral Education

Our time to choose | „A Voter Education Comic Book“, produziert von Matla Trust im Auftrag des Independent Forum for Electoral Education

1996 wurde Südafrikas neue Verfassung verabschiedet, und der South African Schools Act trat in Kraft. Der Vorstoß dieser Gesetzgebung bestand in der Absicht, ein einheitliches System in der Organisation, Leitung und Finanzierung von Schulen zu schaffen. Die Umsetzung zeigte sich in breit angelegten Bildungskampagnen, einem Abkommen zur Mehrsprachigkeit und tiefgreifenden Reformen. Doch trotz aller Rhetorik nimmt das Bildungsgefälle zwischen Arm und Reich weiter zu. Was wurde erreicht? Was steht noch aus? Was können Schulen zur Neuerfindung von Subjektivität und zur Sicherung einer aktiven und kritischen Bürgerschaft beitragen? Wie sollte die Zivilgesellschaft auf das Bildungsproblem reagieren? Und wie verändert Digitalisierung den Zugang zu Bildung?

Carole Bloch ist Leiterin von PRAESA, einer Nichtregierungsorganisation für multilinguale Bildung, angeschlossen an die University of Cape Town. PRAESA untersucht und entwickelt alternative Bildungswege im Bereich Sprache und Alphabetisierung in Südafrika und unterstützt die nationale Lesekampagne „Nal’ibali“ in der Einrichtung von Leseclubs, die unter Erwachsenen und Kindern die Freude am Lesen und Erzählen fördern und aufrechterhalten sollen. Zudem ist Bloch die Gründerin von der Initiative „Little Hands Trust“ zur Förderung von multilingualer Kinderliteratur in Afrika.

Xolela Mangcu ist Lehrbeauftragter für Soziologie an der Universität Kapstadt und Oppenheimer Fellow am Hutchins Center for African and African American Research der Universität Harvard. Er ist Autor und Ko-Autor von sieben Veröffentlichungen, u. a. „Biko: A Biography“ (Tafelberg, 2012) und war zuvor Kolumnist für u. a. Business Day, the Weekender sowie die Sunday Independent in Südafrika und Kommentator für CNN, BBC und Al-Jazeera. Mangcu war Stipendiat der Brookings Institution der Universität Harvard, des Massachusetts Institute of Technology und der Rockefeller Foundation. Seinen Ph. D. erhielt er in Stadt- und Regionalplanung an der Universität Cornell, an der Wits University erhielt er seinen MSc in Entwicklungsplanung und seinen BA in Soziologie. Die südafrikanische Sunday Times nannte ihn „den wahrscheinlich vielversprechendsten öffentlichen intellektuellen in Südafrika“.

Birgit Morgenrath, Autorin und Journalistin, ist u.a. für Hörfunkanstalten der ARD tätig. Nach ihrem Studium der Germanistik und der Politischen Wissenschaft sowie ihrer Journalistenausbildung arbeitete sie zunächst Mitte der 1980e Jahre als Redakteurin, Reporterin und Moderatorin für den WDR. Danach war Birgit Morgenrath bis 2011 Mitglied im Kollektiv des Rheinischen JournalistInnenbüros Köln. Ihre Schwerpunktthemen sind u. a. Geschichte, Wirtschaft und Umwelt in Südafrika und in der Region des südlichen Afrika sowie afrikanische Literatur. Sie ist Ko-Autorin des Buches Deutsches „Kapital am Kap – Kollaboration mit dem Apartheidregime“, Hamburg 2003, sowie Übersetzerin und Bearbeiterin der Autobiografie von Denis Goldberg: "Der Auftrag. Ein Leben für die Freiheit in Südafrika", Hamburg 2010.

Njabulo S Ndebele ist Schriftsteller, Essayist, Publizist und eine Schlüsselfigur des südafrikanischen Hochschulwesens. Seit 2013 ist er Vorsitzender der Mandela Rhodes Foundation und der Nelson Mandela Foundation, 2012 wurde er ins Amt des Kanzlers der Universität von Johannesburg berufen. Als Publizist ist er bekannt für seine Essays über südafrikanische Literatur und Kultur sowie seine präzisen Interventionen zu politischen Fragen. Zu seinen bekanntesten Veröffentlichungen gehören die Essaysammlung „Rediscovery of the Ordinary“ (COSAW, 1991), der mit dem Noma Award prämierte Erzählband „Fools and Other Stories“ (Ravan Press , 1984), der Roman „The Cry of Winnie Mandela“ (Ayebia Clarke, 2004) und die Essaysammlung „Fine Lines from the Box“ (Umuzi, 2007).