2014, Fri, Aug 29

Truth and Justice

Discussion with Ben Khumalo-Seegelken, Antjie Krog and Dumisa Buhle Ntsebeza, moderated by Bernd Pickert

Our time to choose | „A Voter Education Comic Book“, produced by Matla Trust on behalf of the Independent Forum for Electoral Education

Our time to choose | „A Voter Education Comic Book“, produced by Matla Trust on behalf of the Independent Forum for Electoral Education

The Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) created by Nelson Mandela and directed by Desmond Tutu has been widely credited for its contribution to the transitional process. It served as a benchmark for post-conflict processes and transitional justice; around 18 truth commissions were created worldwide following its example. Nevertheless strong criticism has been voiced, pointing mainly to the fact that the structural violence of apartheid was not condemned or that the amnesty to perpetrators of gross violations of human rights gave way to a culture of impunity. Criticism has also focused on the failures to implement the TRCs recommendations. How does South Africa assess its response to its unjust past today? What is the relationship between truth and justice, accountability and reconciliation?

Ben Khumalo-Seegelken is a theologist and professor for education, social sciences, Evangelical theology, and religious education at the University of Oldenburg. After completing his studies in South Africa, he was forced to leave the country in 1975 due to his resistance to the apartheid system. From 1985 to 1986 he was assistant professor for systematic and ecumenical theology at the University of Vienna, after which he served as an Evangelical minister in the Rhineland until 1994. In 2004/2005 he directed an integration center for gay and lesbian migrants and organized the events series “Berliner Tage des interkulturellen Dialogs” (Berlin Days of Intercultural Dialogue).

Antjie Krog is a poet, writer, journalist and professor at the University of the Western Cape. She published twelve volumes of poetry and three non-fiction books. “Country of my Skull” (1998) about the South African Truth and Reconciliation Commission on which she reported as a radio journalist, and “A Change of Tongue” (2004) about the transformation in South Africa after ten years, have been nominated by South African librarians (LIASA) as two of the ten most important books written in ten years of democracy. Her third non-fiction book “Begging to be Black” (2009) deals with learning to live within a black majority. Further she translated the autobiography of Nelson Mandela, “Long Walk to Freedom” into Afrikaans. Krog won all of the prestigious South African awards for non-fiction, translation and poetry available in Afrikaans and English, as well as the Stockholm Award from the Hiroshima Foundation for Peace and Culture for the year 2000, and the Open Society Prize from the Central European University (previous winners were Jürgen Habermas and Vaclav Havel).

Dumisa Buhle Ntsebeza was a commissioner for the Truth and Reconciliation Commission in 1995. He obtained his law degree while imprisoned for political activism in the mid- 1970s and early 1980s. Ntsebeza, on several short term periods has been appointed an acting judge of the High court of South Africa and the Labour Court. Some of his judgments have been a subject of extensive reviews in such academic law journals as the South African Law Journal. In 2004, he was appointed by the UN then Secretary-General Kofi Annan, to serve as a commissioner on the UN International Commission of Inquiry into human rights violations in Darfur, Sudan. In 2005, Ntsebeza became the first African Senior Counsel in the history of the Cape Bar, a society of advocates of the High Court of South Africa. Among other leadership positions in the legal profession, he is the founder member and the President of the National Association of Democratic Lawyers and the President and subsequently the Deputy President of the Black Lawyers Association. Currently he is also the National Chairman of the Advocates for Transformation. Besides being chairman for the companies Barloworld and Equillore Limited, as well as the Desmond Tutu Peace Trust and others, Ntsebeza however, remains a practicing advocate, and holds chambers in Sandton, Johannesburg, as a member of the Victoria Mxenge Group of Advocates.

Bernd Pickert has worked as an editor for taz. die tageszeitung’s foreign desk since 1994. His main topics of focus are human rights, the United States, and Latin America. From 2000 to 2012 he was a member of the board in the taz cooperative, and for the last few years he has sat on the jury for the taz’s Panther Prize.

Fr, 29. August 2014

Wahrheit und Gerechtigkeit

Diskussion mit Ben Khumalo-Seegelken, Antjie Krog und Dumisa Buhle Ntsebeza, moderiert von Bernd Pickert

Our time to choose | „A Voter Education Comic Book“, produziert von Matla Trust im Auftrag des Independent Forum for Electoral Education

Our time to choose | „A Voter Education Comic Book“, produziert von Matla Trust im Auftrag des Independent Forum for Electoral Education

Die von Nelson Mandela und Desmond Tutu eingesetzte Wahrheits- und Versöhnungskommission (TRC), fand als wichtiger Beitrag zum Prozess der Transition weltweite Beachtung. Sie galt als Maßstab für Post-Konfliktprozesse und transnationale Gerechtigkeit; um die 18 Wahrheitskommissionen wurden, dem Beispiel folgend, weltweit eingesetzt. Trotzdem wurde starke Kritik laut, die vor allem darauf abzielte, dass die strukturelle Gewalt der Apartheid nicht verurteilt wurde oder auch, dass die Amnestie von Tätern brutaler Verbrechen gegen die Menschenrechte den Weg freimachte zu einer Kultur der Straflosigkeit. Kritisiert wurde auch das Scheitern in der Umsetzung der Empfehlungen der TRC. Wie geht Südafrika heute mit den Ungerechtigkeiten der Vergangenheit um? Wie sieht die Beziehung zwischen Wahrheit und Gerechtigkeit, zwischen Verantwortung und Versöhnung aus?

Ben Khumalo-Seegelken ist Theologe und Hochschullehrer für Bildungs- und Sozialwissenschaften sowie Evangelische Theologie und Religionspädagogik an der Universität Oldenburg. Nach seinem Studium in Südafrika musste er 1975 im Widerstand gegen die Apartheid das Land verlassen. Von 1985 bis 1986 war er Lehrbeauftragter für Systematische und Ökumenische Theologie an der Universität Wien, anschließend war er bis 1994 als Evangelischer Pfarrer im Rheinland tätig. 2004/2005 leitete er das Integrationszentrum für lesbische Migrantinnen und schwule Migranten und organisierte 2005/2006 die Veranstaltungsreihe „Berliner Tage des interkulturellen Dialogs“.

Antjie Krog ist Lyrikerin, Schriftstellerin, Journalistin und Professorin an der University of the Western. Sie veröffentlichte zwölf Lyrikbände und drei Sachbücher: „Country of my Skull“ (1998) über die südafrikanische Wahrheits- und Versöhnungskommission (TRC), über die sie als Radiojournalistin berichtete, und „A Change of Tongue“ (2004) über den Transformationsprozess Südafrikas nach zehn Jahren wurden 2004 von LIASA, dem Verband südafrikanischer Bibliothekare, zu zwei der zehn wichtigsten Bücher des demokratischen Südafrikas erklärt. Ihr drittes Buch „Begging to be Black“ (2009) handelt vom Umgang mit dem Leben innerhalb einer `schwarzen´ Mehrheit. Darüber hinaus übersetzte Krog Nelson Mandelas Autobiografie „Long Walk to Freedom“ ins Afrikaans. Sie wurde mit allen renommierten südafrikanischen Preisen für Sachliteratur, Übersetzung und Lyrik in Afrikaans und Englisch ausgezeichnet und gewann den Stockholm Award der Hiroshima Foundation for Peace and Culture im Jahr 2000 sowie den Preis der Open Society der Central European University (frühere Gewinner waren Jürgen Habermas und Vaclav Havel).

Dumisa Buhle Ntsebeza war 1995 Mitglied der Wahrheits- und Versöhnungskommission. Sein Jurastudium absolvierte er, während er wegen politischem Aktivismus Mitte der 1970er und Anfang der 1980er Jahre inhaftiert war. Ntsebeza war verschiedentlich für kürzere Perioden amtierender Richter am High Court of South Africa sowie am Arbeitsgericht. Einige seiner Urteile wurden ausführlich in juristischen Zeitschriften wie dem „South African Law Journal“ besprochen. 2004 wurde er vom damaligen Generalsekretär der Vereinten Nationen Kofi Annan in die Internationale Untersuchungskommission zu Verstößen gegen die Menschenrechte in Dafur, Sudan, berufen. 2005 wurde Ntsebeza der erste afrikanische Senior Counsel in der Geschichte der Cape Bar, einer Gesellschaft von am High Court of South Africa zugelassenen Anwältinnen und Anwälten. Immer wieder nimmt er führende Positionen im Rechtssystem Südafrikas ein. So ist er Gründungsmitglied und Präsident der National Association of Democratic Lawyers sowie vormaliger Präsident und jetziger Vizepräsident der Black Lawyers Association. Zurzeit ist er zudem Vorsitzender der Advocates for Transformation. Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender der Firmen Barloworld und Equillore Limited sowie des Desmond Tutu Peace Trusts und weitere Organisation praktiziert er weiterhin als Anwalt und betreibt seine Kanzlei in Sandton, Johannesburg, als Mitglied der Victoria Mxenge Group of Advocates.

Bernd Pickert ist seit 1994 Redakteur im Auslandsressort bei taz.die tageszeitung. Seine Themenschwerpunkte sind Menschenrechte, die USA und Lateinamerika. Von 2000 bis 2012 war er Mitglied im Vorstand der taz-Genossenschaft und engagiert sich seit ein paar Jahren in der Jury des taz-Panterpreises.