2014, Fri, Oct 17

Demonstrations

Dorothea von Hantelmann, Bronislaw Szerszynski, Natasha Sadr Haghighian, Etienne Turpin, and others

A Matter Theater | © Sholem Krishtalka, 2014

A Matter Theater | © Sholem Krishtalka, 2014

Measuring Infinity: A Test Arrangement
STRATAGRIDS (artist collective, Berlin)

How to measure the immeasurable? According to most physicists, our universe consists of 95 percent dark matter and energy, phenomena that cannot be observed, only indirectly traced and described. This paradox serves as a point of departure for a performative inquiry involving a careful staging of tools and techniques for measurement: a sonic diagram, a computer simulation, a video animation. A point of gathering for thinkers and viewers alike, akin to an infinite bonfire in the darkness of space.

Age of the Catalyst
Benjamin Steininger (researcher and curator, Vienna)

This presentation considers the chemical catalyst’s role in mediating the Anthropocene. Three different temporal regimes compose a triangular relation between the chemical, geological, and human-historical, as new elements are introduced over the course of the 20th century into the Earth’s metabolism, such as fertilizers, fossil fuels, and plastics, significantly impacting the force of the Great Acceleration.

BOTANICAL HACK_Berlin
Etienne Turpin (anexact office, Jakarta) and Stefania Druga (HacKIDemia, Berlin)

Urban land reclamation for food production requires the development of accessible research tools to help assess soil properties. The network HacKIDemia develops DIY soil sensors to enable communities to plan and plant civic gardens and at the same time analyze and monitor potential sites for growing consumable plants. This demonstrationconsists of a collaborative assembly process, applied research, and a public proposition in the form of a group report, a detailed park-to-garden proposal.

Liberation into Matter: The Temporalities of Individual and Planetary Becoming in Twenty-Second- Century Mangalayana Buddhism
Bronislaw Szerszynski (Department of Sociology, Lancaster University), Post-production: Elke Auer, Sound: LARSEN (2014), Byron Reza Afshar

Using the materials and instruments employed in funerary rites in late 22nd century Martian settlements, this demonstration addresses how Mangalayana (“Mars vehicle”) Buddhism radically transformed conventional understandings of the relationship between matter and time, planets and space, the finite and the infinite, and moratlity and immortality. This imagined future is set within a context of a revolution in consciousness, through which human society, the evolution of the Earth, and our wider astral environment are entangled.

The Wax Slicing Machine
Flora Lysen (art historian and curator, Amsterdam)

The invention ofX-rays in 1896 initiated public excitement about the possibility of visually recording the inside of the skull. Would it be possible to take an image of an active brain to capture thought altogether? This demonstrationaddresses experiments in animation and some of those “failed” machines, scientificartistic hybrids that generated new visions of interiority, from a Berlin laboratory to a bathtub in Munich.

Floating Selection
Bettina Vismann (architect, artist, and researcher, Berlin), dramaturgy: Elise von Bernstorff (dramaturg, Berlin)

We are used to perceiving dust as a nuisance. In science, how ever, these miniscule particles carried by the air are used consistently to model reality, generating cosmological figurations not based on order, but rather contingency. This lecture performance assesses the cosmogenic processes that inform our sense of reality and its creative emergence, taking the “smallest entities” that hover amongst us into a deeper consideration.

Enquiry into Understanding Cosmic Scale
Andrew Gregory (Department of Science and Technology Studies, University College London), invited by Margarida Mendes (curator, Lisbon)

This demonstrationexamines the analogy of macrocosm/microcosm and how this has historically been used to model the heavens, as well as the earth’s weather cycles, in relation to the human mind and body. Inviting historian Andrew Gregory to address how sympathy and harmony have been employed to mediate the relations between the macro and the micro, this demonstrationcontextualizes these arguments and approaches its applications. An ongoing set of imaginations between philosophy and astronomy, cosmology and medicine, with various historical figures from Aristotle to Giordano Bruno to William Harvey act as interlocutors.

de paso
Natascha Sadr Haghighian (inquirer, Berlin), research assistance: Vera Tollmann

Tracing the stories that animate and are animated by an “object” and its global performance, the collision of a standard hand luggage trolley and a plastic water bottle gives voice to the polyvalent utterances of capital. The crushing sound of plastic expands into ever-changing rhythmic patterns as it reverberates and resounds in the space. Two objects, a sound installation, and a presentation of footnotes from the objects’ travelogue trace the appearances of the water we drink, the ways we move between places, and the means whereby we commune with things en route.

From Oct 16 to 18 at Audi Foyer and Terrace: Natascha Sadr Haghighian, de paso (2011-ongoing), sound installation involving a trolley bag and a plastic water bottle, accompanied by a demonstration on Oct 17 at 7:30pm in Auditorium

Swinging: Commented Physical Exercise with Curving Lines
Torsten Blume (researcher and artist, Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau) with Peter Wagner (performer, Berlin)

Exploring the elegance of the flowing line as it applies to the movements of a body, this demonstration exercises principles of flexibility and economy inherent in the human physical apparatus’ capacity for swinging motions. With the aim to experiment and explore possible ranges of movement, a combination of physical methods, observational commentary, and drawing instruments will translate the scale and sense of corporeal lines in motion.

The Exhibition

Dorothea von Hantelmann (documenta-Visiting Professor, Kassel), set up by Tino Sehgal (artist, Berlin)

From the perspective of cultural history, the exhibition format can be seen as a highly flexible, individualized, and in this sense, very modern ritual. As such, its basis lies upon the principle of separation, from which an object is removed from its network of connections, and through which the senses, and the capacity for perception and recognition, are partitioned amongst the exhibition goer. This demonstration considers the social, political, and economic implications such separation affords.

Glass (at the Tea Garden, entrance through Cloakroom Foyer)
Allen S. Weiss (Tisch School of the Arts, New York University)

Considering the evolution of material, form, and function in Japanese drinking vessels, this demonstrationexamines how the transmogrification of earth (mud) into artisanal ceramic objects, traditionally made of clay, maintains traces of both earthly matter and embodied touch, such that imperfections are of the essence. To confront the materiality of a cup, be it plastic, glass, or clay, is to unravel modalities of social relations, contradictory aesthetic forms, and urgent imperatives towards an ecological consciousness.

Vom 11. bis 16.6. bleibt das HKW geschlossen. Tickets für die Wassermusik sind online erhältlich. Mehr…

Fr, 17. Oktober 2014

Demonstrations

Dorothea von Hantelmann, Bronislaw Szerszynski, Natasha Sadr Haghighian, Etienne Turpin und andere

A Matter Theater | © Sholem Krishtalka, 2014

A Matter Theater | © Sholem Krishtalka, 2014

Measuring Infinity: A Test Arrangement
STRATAGRIDS (Künstlerkollektiv, Berlin)

Wie misst man das Unmessbare? Den meisten Physikern zufolge besteht unser Universum zu 95 Prozent aus dunkler Materie und Energie, aus Phänomenen also, die sich nicht beobachten, sondern nur indirekt verfolgen und beschreiben lassen. Dieses Paradoxon dient als Ausgangspunkt für eine performative Untersuchung, bei der Instrumente und Techniken des Messens sorgfältig inszeniert werden: ein akustisches Diagramm, eine Computersimulation, eine Videoanimation.

Age of the Catalyst
Benjamin Steininger (Wissenschafts- und Medientheoretiker, Universität Wien)

Der chemische Katalysator induziert im 20. Jahrhundert neuartige Stoffe in den Erdkreislauf, wie Düngemittel, Treibstoffe und Kunststoffe, und trägt wesentlich zur Great Acceleration bei. Entlang einer Befragung am Spieltisch spannen dichte Schaustücke ein Dreieck aus chemischen, geologischen und menschenhistorischen Zeitregimen auf.

BOTANICAL HACK_Berlin
Etienne Turpin (anexact office, Jakarta) und Stefania Druga (HacKIDemia, Berlin)

Die Nutzung von urbanen Flächen für den Anbau von Nahrungsmitteln erfordert die Entwicklung leicht zugänglicher Messinstrumente für die Bewertung des Zustands der Böden. Das Netzwerk HacKIDemia entwickelt DIY-Bodensensoren, die es Communities ermöglichen, Bürgergärten zu planen und zu bepflanzen und gleichzeitig potenzielle Orte für das Kultivieren essbarer Pflanzen zu identifizieren. Diese Demonstration basiert auf einer angewandten Bodenrecherche und macht in Form einer Gruppenpräsentation einen Vorschlag, wie ein Park zum Bürgergarten umgewandelt werden könnte.

Liberation into Matter: The Temporalities of Individual and Planetary Becoming in Twenty-Second- Century Mangalayana Buddhism
Bronislaw Szerszynski (Department of Sociology, Lancaster University), Bildbearbeitung: Elke Auer, Ton: LARSEN (2014), Byron Reza Afshar

Entlang der Materialien und Instrumente, die in den Beisetzungsritualen im späten 22. Jahrhundert in Siedlungen von Marsianern verwendet werden, widmet sich diese Demonstration der Frage, wie der Mangalayana-Buddhismus das konventionelle Verständnis der Beziehung zwischen Materie und Zeit, Planeten und Raum, dem Endlichen und dem Unendlichen sowie der Sterblichkeit und der Unsterblichkeit radikal verändert hat. Es wird eine Zukunft demonstriert, in der durch eine Revolution des Bewusstseins die menschliche Gesellschaft, die Evolution der Erde und unsere weiter gefasste astrale Umgebung neu verhandelt werden.

The Wax Slicing Machine
Flora Lysen (Kunsthistorikerin und Kuratorin, Universität Amsterdam)

Die Erfindung von Röntgenstrahlen im Jahr 1896 führte zu öffentlicher Erregung und wilden Diskussionen über die Möglichkeit, das Innere des Schädels abzubilden. Sollte es möglich sein, ein Bild eines aktiven Gehirns in einem lebendigen Menschen aufzunehmen? Das Denken einzufangen? Diese Demonstration widmet sich historischen Experimenten der Animation und »gescheiterten« Maschinenentwürfen, wissenschaftlich-künstlerische Hybride, die neue Visionen von Innerlichkeit generierten – von einem Berliner Labor bis hin zu einer Münchner Badewanne.

Floating Selection
Bettina Vismann (Architektin, Künstlerin und Forscherin, Berlin), Dramaturgie: Elise von Bernstorff (Dramaturgin, Berlin)

Wir sind gewohnt, jene kleinsten, gerade noch sichtbaren Partikel, die wir Staub nennen, als Störung zu betrachten. In den Naturwissenschaften werden diese luftgetragenen Stoffe immer wieder zum Modell für Wirklichkeit, sie führen zu einer Kosmologie, die nicht auf Ordnung basiert, vielmehr auf Kontingenz. Die Lecture-Performance geht jenen Prozessen nach, die unsere Wirklichkeit im Entstehen bewegen, den mikroskopisch kleinen Dingen, die zwischen uns schweben.

Enquiry into Understanding Cosmic Scale
Andrew Gregory (Department of Science and Technology Studies, University College London), eingeladen von Margarida Mendes (Kuratorin, Lissabon)

Die Analogie »Makrokosmos/Mikrokosmos« setzte den Himmel wie auch die Wetterzyklen der Erde in modellhafte Beziehung zum menschlichen Verstand und Körper. Welche Rolle spielt der Rückgriff auf die Begriffe Sympathie und Harmonie in der Vermittlung der Beziehungen zwischen Mikro und Makro? Eine fortlaufende Reihe von Imaginationen zwischen Philosophie und Astronomie, Kosmologie und Medizin, die diverse historische Figuren als Gesprächspartner heranzieht – von Aristoteles und Giordano Bruno bis William Harvey.

de paso
Natascha Sadr Haghighian (Forscherin, Berlin), wissenschaftliche Mitarbeit: Vera Tollmann

Die Kollision eines Handgepäck-Koffers und einer Wasserflasche aus Plastik gibt den verschiedenartigen Äußerungen des Kapitals eine Stimme und verfolgt dabei die Geschichten, die von Objekten und ihren globalen Auftritten belebt werden und sie beleben. Der krachende Klang des kollabierenden Plastiks wird von den Wänden zurückgeworfen und breitet sich – in ständig wechselnden Rhythmen widerhallend – im Raum aus. Zwei Objekte, eine Klanginstallation und eine Präsentation von Fußnoten aus den Reiseberichten der Objekte, verfolgen, wo und in welcher Form Trinkwasser auftritt, die Art, wie wir uns zwischen Orten bewegen, und wie wir dabei mit den Dingen in Kontakt treten.

Vom 16.10. bis 18.10. im Audi Foyer und der Terrasse: Natascha Sadr Haghighian, de paso (2011-fortlaufend), Sound Installation mit Rollkoffer und einer Wasserflasche aus Plastik, begleitet von einer Demonstration am 17.10 um 19.30h im Auditorium

Swinging. Kommentierte Leibesübungen mit Schlangenlinien
Torsten Blume (Forscher und Künstler, Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau), Peter Wagner (Performer, Berlin)

Schwingen und Schwingungen werden in dieser Demonstration auf ihr Potenzial in der Optimierbarkeit körperlicher und handlungsorientierter Bewegungsabläufe untersucht. Wie lässt sich ein gelassenes, achtsames Ein-, Aus- und Um-Schwingen von Bewegungsgewohnheiten und Denkmustern, ein Oszillieren und Irritieren von Wahrnehmungen übend einverleiben?

The Exhibition
Dorothea von Hantelmann (documenta-Gastprofessorin, Kassel), eingerichtet von Tino Sehgal (Künstler, Berlin)

Die kulturhistorische Errungenschaft der Ausstellung liegt in der Hervorbringung eines individualisierten, flexibilisierten und in diesem Sinne modernen Rituals. Als solches basiert es auf dem Prinzip der Trennung: einer Trennung der Objekte aus ihren Netzwerken und Zusammenhängen ebenso wie einer Trennung der Sinne, der Wahrnehmungs- und der Erkenntnisweisen aufseiten der Partizipierenden. Die Demonstrationentfaltet dieses Trennungsprinzip in seiner sozialen, politischen und ökonomischen Bedeutung.

Glass (im Tea Garden, Zugang über Garderobenfoyer)
Allen S. Weiss (Tisch School of the Arts, New York University)

Anhand der Evolution des Materials, der Form und der Funktion japanischer Trinkgefäße wird untersucht, wie die Verwandlung von Erde (Lehm) in kunsthandwerkliche keramische Objekte, traditionell aus Ton hergestellt, sowohl Spuren von Erdmaterie als auch verkörperter Berührung enthält, so dass Unvollkommenheiten wesentlich sind. Sich mit der Materialität eines Gefäßesauseinanderzusetzen, sei es aus Plastik, Glas, oder Ton, bedeutet, die Modalitäten von gesellschaftlichen Beziehungen, widersprüchlichen ästhetischen Formen und Notwendigkeiten eines ökologischen Bewusstseins zu entwirren.