Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2014, Thu, Oct 16

Demonstrations

with Elizabeth A. Povinelli, Geoffrey C. Bowker, Ayreen Anastas and Rene Gabri with Ben Morea

A Matter Theater | © Sholem Krishtalka, 2014

A Matter Theater | © Sholem Krishtalka, 2014

The Fog of Meaning in a Voiceless Demos
Elizabeth A. Povinelli (Department of Anthropology, Columbia University, New York)

A performance. The protagonists: a meteorological entity and a geological entity. The problem: how do the differences among such entities become a difference that makes no difference under the pressure of the Anthropocene? The apparatus: an aquarium populated by plants and a little frog; a large handheld magnifying glass; a blindfold; a mortar and pestle; a digital projection. What results: a transformation.

Begin, Seedy Being!
Geoffrey C. Bowker (School of Information and Computer Science, University of California at Irvine)

This demonstrationapproaches seeds as simultaneously points of origin and ending. In a performative reading of a set of seeds, cycles of growth, regeneration, and extinction are considered as a motion that propels itself forward, while also rewinding back. A set of observations will be developed while handling the seeds, reflections on temporal alignment, timescales, and material processes of inscription.

A Politics of Departure, it Effects in Being Affected
Ayreen Anastas and Rene Gabri (artists, New York) with Ben Morea (artist, USA)

A politics of departure is a politics that attempts to destitute the anthropos of capitalism: a politics that affirms the belonging together of life and form, being and use; in which the fundamental concepts are no longer production and praxis, but unworking, use, becoming-with; which does not separate the vital and reproductive activities as unpolitical; and/or a politics no longer centered on the human.

Thanks to: Dr. Stephan Schultka from the Leibniz-Institut für Evolutions- und Biodiversitätsforschung, Museum für Naturkunde for the support of the Demonstration Begin, Seedy being!

Do, 16. Oktober 2014

Demonstrations

mit Elizabeth A. Povinelli, Geoffrey C. Bowker, Ayreen Anastas und Rene Gabri mit Ben Morea

A Matter Theater | © Sholem Krishtalka, 2014

A Matter Theater | © Sholem Krishtalka, 2014

The Fog of Meaning in a Voiceless Demos
Elizabeth A. Povinelli (Department of Anthropology, Columbia University, New York)

Eine Performance. Die Protagonisten: ein meteorologisches Gebilde und ein geologisches Gebilde. Das Problem: die Verschiedenheit dieser Sphären macht unter anthropozänen Bedingungen keinen Sinn. Der Apparat: ein Aquarium mit Pflanzen und einem kleinen Frosch, eine große Handlupe, eine Augenbinde, Mörser und Stößel, eine digitale Projektion. Das Ergebnis: eine Transformation.

Begin, Seedy Being!
Geoffrey C. Bowker (School of Information and Computer Science, University of California at Irvine)

Diese Demonstration nähert sich dem Samenkorn als gleichzeitigem Ursprungs- und Endpunkt. Ein Set fossiler und lebendiger Samen wird einer performativen Lesung unterzogen, die Zyklen des Wachstums, der Regeneration und des Sterbens als eine Bewegung betrachtet, die sich zugleich nach vorne katapultiert und zurückspult. Im Umgang mit den vorhandenen Samen wird über Synchronisation, Zeitskalen und materielle Prozesse der Einschreibung reflektiert.

A Politics of Departure, it Effects in Being Affected
Ayreen Anastas und Rene Gabri (Künstler, New York) mit Ben Morea (Künstler, USA)

Eine Politik der Abweichung ist eine Politik, die unterstreicht, dass Leben und Form, Sein und Nutzen keine getrennten Kategorien sind, sondern durch die Überwindung der Dichotomie von Produktion und Praxis Teil eines gemeinsamen Werdensprozesses sind, und/oder eine Politik, die den Menschen nicht länger in ihr Zentrum stellt.

Dank an: Dr. Stephan Schultka vom Leibniz-Institut für Evolutions- und Biodiversitätsforschung, Museum für
Naturkunde für die Unterstützung der Demonstration Begin, Seedy being!