2014, Thu, Jun 26

Extreme Orbits Before and After Sentience: A Noosphere in Nothingness as Real Science Fiction

with: Iain Hamilton Grant and Steven Shaviro

It has been remarked that modern physics, with its extremely strange conceptions of nature, space and time, has long started to sound like Science Fiction. And certainly, it is one task of SF to make the cosmological oddities of science palpable, to connect them to the world of the senses.

In recent years, the science fiction novel has increasingly been used as a medium with which to investigate questions about consciousness, cognition, and sentience, but also to construct increasingly complex theoretical phenomena, such as how to observe the end of the universe from within it. Frequently, these questionings prove most effective not when they posit the outlandish, but when they subtract the familiar: what remains when the conscious subject or other essential ingredients of the-world-as-we-know-it are deducted from the cosmological equation? Is there still sentience? And, pushing the orbit to its outermost, once everything dissipates, is there still a nature after nature? In this workshop, philosopher Iain Hamilton Grant and cultural theorist Steven Shaviro will explore these investigative uses of SF, focussing on the novels “Blindsight” by Peter Watts and “Ring” by Stephen Baxter, as well as on some well-known and not-so-well-known SF movies.


Program
12:00-12:15 h: Introduction with Armen Avanessian and Björn Quiring

12:15-13:45 h: Steven Shaviro: Presentation and Discussion

13:45-14:30 h: Lunch break

14:30-16:00 h: Iain Hamilton Grant: Presentation „The Remains of the World? Nature after Nature“ and Discussion

16:00-16:30 h: Coffee break

16:30-18:00 h: Movie Clips and Discussion


Iain Hamilton Grant is professor of philosophy at the University of the West of England in Bristol. The main focus of his work is directed at the philosophy of nature, contemporary French philosophy and Ancient thought (particularly Platonism and neo-Platonism). He is also the translator of a number of works of works in both French and German, e. g. Jean Baudrillard's Symbolic Exchange and Death and Jean-François Lyotard's The Libidinal Economy and author of Philosophies of Nature After Schelling.

Steven Shaviro is the DeRoy Professor of English at Wayne State University. He is the author of The Cinematic Body (1993), Doom Patrols: A Theoretical Fiction About Postmodernism (1997), Connected, Or, What It Means To Live in the Network Society (2003), Without Criteria: Kant, Whitehead, Deleuze, and Aesthetics (2009), and Post-Cinematic Affect (2010). His work in progress involves studies of speculative realism, of post-continuity styles in contemporary cinema, of music videos, and of recent science fiction and horror fiction. He blogs at The Pinocchio Theory ( www.shaviro.com/Blog ).


In cooperation with: Freie Universität Berlin, Sonderforschungsbereich 626

Do, 26. Juni 2014

Extreme Orbits Before and After Sentience: A Noosphere in Nothingness as Real Science Fiction

mit Iain Hamilton Grant und Steven Shaviro

Man hat schon bemerkt, dass die äußerst merkwürdigen Auffassungen der modernen Physik von Natur, Raum und Zeit zunehmend den phantastischen Ideen der Science Fiction ähneln. Es scheint in der Tat eine der Aufgaben der SF zu sein, die kosmologischen Seltsamkeiten der Wissenschaft greifbarer und konkreter zu machen.

In den letzten Jahren haben dabei viele SF-Romane Fragen nach der Natur des Bewusstseins, des Denkens und des Empfindungsvermögens gestellt, aber auch komplexe theoretische Phänomene untersucht, wie z. B. das Ende des Universums und die Beobachtbarkeit dieses Endes vom Blickpunkt eines innerhalb desselben Universums situierten Zuschauers. Oft erweisen sich diese Untersuchungen gerade dann als besonders effektiv, wenn sie nicht so sehr das Absonderliche setzen als vielmehr das Gewöhnliche subtrahieren: Was bleibt wenn das Subjekt oder andere wesentliche Elemente der Welt-wie-wir-sie-kennen aus der kosmischen Gleichung entfernt werden? Gibt es dann noch Empfindungsvermögen? Und, falls man sich auf besonders exzentrischen Umlaufbahnen bewegt, gibt es nach der Auflösung aller Dinge noch eine Natur nach der Natur? In diesem Workshop werden der Philosoph Iain Hamilton Grant und der Kulturwissenschaftler Steven Shaviro solche investigativen Aspekte der SF erkunden, unter besonderer Berücksichtigung der Romane „Blindsight” von Peter Watts und „Ring” von Stephen Baxter, ebenso wie einiger bekannter und weniger bekannter SF-Filme.


Programm
12:00-12:15 h: Einführung von Armen Avanessian und Björn Quiring

12:15-13:45 h: Steven Shaviro: Präsentation und Diskussion

13:45-14:30 h: Mittagspause

14:30-16:00 h: Iain Hamilton Grant: Präsentation „The Remains of the World? Nature after Nature“ und Diskussion

16:00-16:30 h: Kaffeepause

16:30-18:00 h: Filmausschnitte und Diskussion


Iain Hamilton Grant ist Professor für Philosophie an der University of the West of England in Bristol. Sein Interesse gilt der Naturphilosophie, zeitgenössischer französischer Philosophie und antiker Philosophie (vor allem dem Platonismus und dem Neoplatonismus). Er ist unter anderem Übersetzer zahlreicher Werke französischer und deutscher Sprache, darunter Jean Baudrillards Symbolic Exchange and Death und Jean-François Lyotards The Libidinal Economy und Autor von Philosophies of Nature After Schelling.

Steven Shaviro hat die DeRoy Professur für Englisch an der Wayne State University inne und ist u.a. Autor von The Cinematic Body (1993), Doom Patrols: A Theoretical Fiction About Postmodernism (1997), Connected, Or, What It Means To Live in the Network Society (2003), Without Criteria: Kant, Whitehead, Deleuze, and Aesthetics (2009), and Post-Cinematic Affect (2010). Er arbeitet aktuell zu Fragen des Spekulativen Realismus, zu Stilen der Post-Kontinuität im Film/ Kino der Gegenwart, Musikvideos und aktueller Science und Horror Fiktionen. Er bloggt auf Pinocchio Theory ( www.shaviro.com/Blog ).


In Kooperation mit: Freie Universität Berlin, Sonderforschungsbereich 626