2014, Tue, Jun 03

Dot, a videogame with no winner

Henrique Roscoe

Henrique Roscoe : Dot, a Videogame with no Winner | Photo: Promo

Henrique Roscoe : Dot, a Videogame with no Winner | Photo: Promo

“DOT, a videogame with no winner” is an audio-visual performance played with a videogame console, constructed and reprogrammed, manipulated through joysticks. This contemporary, original instrument is autonomous. Several people from the audience are invited to take part directly during the concert and become player-actors. Each part of the performance is produced in real time, no sound is pre-recorded, they are the result of the interactions between the artist and the five player-actors invited.

Henrique Roscoe lives and travels in Belo Horizonte in Brazil. Artist, musician and renown designer, his artistic work has been presented and exposed at numerous festivals and museums across the world.
He works in the audio-visual field since 2004, and is the initiator of the conceptual and productive project entitled “HOLHOLHOL”. These works explore the correspondences between sound and image in motion, and are performed live as concerts or installations. He is part of the “ligalingha” collective that develops interactive installations. He also constructs instruments and interactive interfaces using sensors and everyday objects. He produces videos for groups and events in Brazil, Germany and the USA. He is equally the curator of FAD Festival of Arte Digital, a grand event dedicated to digital art held at Belo Horizonte since 2007.
His works are mostly produced and exposed in Brazil at the contemporary art center Itaù Cultural and at Festival FILE Festival internacional de linguagem electrônica as well as Sónar (Spain), Art Basel (Switzerland), Robot Festival (Italy), Dialectos Digitales (Bolivia), Kunstfilmtag (Germany), Generative Arts (Italy), Espacio Enter (Spain), Videoart Athens (Greece), Computational Aesthetics (Canada).

Di, 03. Juni 2014

Dot, a videogame with no winner

Henrique Roscoe

Henrique Roscoe : Dot, a Videogame with no Winner | Foto: Promo

Henrique Roscoe : Dot, a Videogame with no Winner | Foto: Promo

“DOT, a videogame with no winner” ist eine audiovisuelle Performance, gespielt mit einer neu konstruierten und umprogrammierten Spielkonsole, die von Joysticks gesteuert wird. Dieses zeitgenössische Instrumentarium ist völlig autonom. Mehrere Personen aus dem Publikum werden gebeten, unmittelbar an der Performance teilzunehmen und werden somit zu Spielern und Darstellern. Jeder einzelne Teil der Performance wird in Echtzeit produziert, nichts ist vorab gespeichert, alles ist Resultat der Interaktionen zwischen dem Künstler und den fünf Darstellern/Spielern aus dem Publikum.

Henrique Roscoe lebt und arbeitet in Belo Horizonte, in Brasilien. Als Künstler, Musiker und Designer international anerkannt, wurden seine Arbeiten schon auf zahlreichen internationalen Festivals gezeigt.
Seit 2004 widmet er sich zunehmend audiovisuellen Arbeiten und ist Initiator des generativen Konzept-Projektes “HOLHOLHOL”. Seine Werke erforschen die Korrespondenz zwischen Ton und bewegtem Bild und werden in Form von Konzerten und Installationen präsentiert. Er ist Mitglied des Kollektivs “ligalingha”, welches interaktive Installationen erarbeitet. Er entwickelt außerdem Instrumente und interaktive Benutzeroberflächen, die mit Sensoren und Alltagsgegenständen arbeiten. Er produziert Videos Im Auftrag für Firmen oder in Events in Brasilien, Deutschland oder den USA. Seit 2007 ist er zudem Kurator des großen Festivals für digitale Kunst FAD Festival de Arte Digital in Belo Horizonte.
Die Werke von Henrique Roscoe wurden vor allem in Brasilien im Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst Itaú Cultural sowie beim FILE (Festival internacional de linguagem eletrônica) aufgeführt und ausgestellt, aber auch beim Sónar (Spanien), bei der Art Basel (Schweiz), beim Robot Festival (Italien), den Dialectos Digitales (Bolivien), bei den Kunstfilmtagen (Düsseldorf), der Generative Arts (Italien), dem Espacio Enter (Spanien), der Videoart Athens (Griechenland) und den Computational Aesthetics (Kanada).