2006, Sat, May 27 and 2006, Sun, May 28

Ismael Ivo, Renée Gumiel, Dorothy Lenner (São Paulo / Berlin)

As Galinhas - The Chickens

Ismael Ivo, Renée Gumiel, Dorothy Lenner | As Galinhas | Copyright: Lenise Pinheiros

Ismael Ivo, Renée Gumiel, Dorothy Lenner | As Galinhas | Copyright: Lenise Pinheiros

Director: Takao Kusuno

Choreographer: Ismael Ivo

A very unusual constellation. In 1980, Renée Gumiel, a French pioneer of modern dance in Brazil, Dorothy Lenner, a Romanian born actress who studied acting in London, and young Afro-Brazilian dancer Ismael Ivo joined forces to work with Japanese director and Butoh master Takao Kusuno and create a radically new work. The resulting choreography still marks a radical turning point in Brazilian dance: a prototype of anthropophagy, of “cultural cannibalism”, as developed by the country’s intellectuals in the 1930s.

As Galinhas was novel. It entered into a dialogue with Butoh, whose fusion of physicality and inwardness was unheard of in Brazil at the time. The production was radical because it was conceived for the street, as an openly expressed critique of the dictatorship then ruling the land. As Galinhas revolves around racism, oppression, violence - and still manages to be very poetic nevertheless. In the same way that human beings see caged hens with clipped wings only as “consumer goods”, the human being in a cage is also a prisoner of social conditions. Inner resistance, one of the driving forces behind Butoh and a perfect response to the exigencies of the time, helped to formulate and publicise opposition. For Ismael Ivo, who has meanwhile become a star dancer, this had a very personal quality too: ‘I didn’t need to paint my body white, because my black skin alone was the statement.’

Now, As Galinhas is being performed again, proving the unbroken creative force of anthropophagy. Renée Gumiel, who was born in France and later studied under Mary Wigman and Rudolf Laban, still has a stage presence, which - especially at the age of ninety-six - is hard to find anywhere else.

Sa, 27. Mai 2006 und So, 28. Mai 2006

Ismael Ivo, Renée Gumiel, Dorothy Lenner (São Paulo / Berlin)

As Galinhas - Die Hühner

Ismael Ivo, Renée Gumiel, Dorothy Lenner | As Galinhas | Copyright: Lenise Pinheiros

Ismael Ivo, Renée Gumiel, Dorothy Lenner | As Galinhas | Copyright: Lenise Pinheiros

Regie: Takao Kusuno

Choreografie: Ismael Ivo

Eine höchst ungewöhnliche Konstellation: Unter der Regie des japanischen Butoh-Meisters Takao Kusuno fand sich im Jahre 1980 die Französin Renée Gumiel, eine der Pionierinnen den Modernen Tanzes in Brasilien, mit der in Rumänien geborenen und in London ausgebildeten Schauspielerin Dorothy Lenner und dem jungen afrobrasilianischen Tänzer Ismael Ivo zusammen, um ein radikal neues Stück zu schaffen. Die Choreografie markiert bis heute eine Zäsur im brasilianischen Tanz: der erste tänzerische Ausdruck der Antropofagia, des „kulturellen Kannibalismus“, wie er in den 30er-Jahren von den Intellektuellen des Landes entwickelt worden war.

As Galinhas war neu, konfrontierte mit dem Butoh, der mit seiner Verbindung von Körperlichkeit und Innerlichkeit in Brasilien noch völlig unbekannt war. Es war radikal, weil das Stück für die Straße konzipiert war, als öffentliche Kritik an der damaligen Diktatur. As Galinhas kreist um Rassismus, Unterdrückung, Gewalt – und ist doch sehr poetisch. Wie die Hühner mit ihren gestutzten Flügeln nur mehr als „Gebrauchsgegenstände“ wahrgenommen werden, so ist auch der Mensch im Käfig der sozialen Umstände gefangen. Der innere Widerstand, eine der Triebfedern des Butoh, war wie zugeschnitten auf die Bedürfnisse der Zeit, um Opposition zu formulieren und öffentlich zu machen. Für den mittlerweile zum Startänzer avancierten Ismael Ivo hatte das einen sehr persönlichen Aspekt: „Es war nicht nötig, meinen Körper weiß anzumalen, denn meine schwarze Haut war schon das Statement.“

Nun wird As Galinhas neu aufgeführt und beweist die ungebrochene kreative Kraft der „Antropofagia“. Insbesondere die in Frankreich geborene Renée Gumiel, die bei Mary Wigman und Rudolf Laban studierte, zeigt auf der Bühne noch heute - mit 96 Jahren - eine Bühnenpräsenz, die ihresgleichen sucht.