2006, Fri, May 262006, Sun, May 28

Lia Rodrigues Companhia de Danças (Rio de Janeiro)

Incarnat - Becoming Flesh

Lia Rodrigues Companhia de Danças | Incarnat | Copyright: Nicolas Boudier

Lia Rodrigues Companhia de Danças | Incarnat | Copyright: Nicolas Boudier

Choreography: Lia Rodrigues, 70 min, 9 dancers

- A naked body smeared a bloody red, jerks inside a see-through plastic sack. Another one seems to be holding its entrails in its hands: Lia Rodrigues confronts us physically with these brutal realities. These are realities with which everyone is familiar through the media but still, or for that very reason, immediately represses and banishes to the realm of virtual reality. Inspired by Susan Sontag’s essay Regarding the Pain of Others (2003), Incarnat deals with the ambivalent pleasure experienced in watching war and violence. This work reaches the heights of physical intensity, for the nine dancers do not content themselves with mere portrayals. Instead, they abandon themselves completely to the conditions they present. Deliberate allusions to victim art expose the aesthetic voyeurism inherent in all observation of suffering - even it if is for “a good cause”.

Incarnat reaches its symbolic climax in the final scene. The body of one of the dancers is “engraved” by red lines reminiscent of indigenous tattoos. Seconds later, a body rises suddenly, destroying the drawing and turning it into a bloody red mess: the body becomes a manifesto: “Red on white, pain on the skin, a scream on the body.’ (Lia Rodrigues)

Lia Rodrigues, who commutes between Brazil and France, moves between different social classes. For her production of Incarnat, the founder of RioArte de Dança Festivals went into the Favelas of Rio de Janeiro with her dancers. There, they rehearsed in an open warehouse, surrounded by the “permanent state of war that prevails in the city”.

A coproduction of the House of World Cultures

An event within the framework of Focus Brasil IN TRANSIT 06 / Copa da Cultura – Brasil + Deutschland 2006

Fr, 26. Mai 2006So, 28. Mai 2006

Lia Rodrigues Companhia de Danças (Rio de Janeiro)

Incarnat - Fleischwerdung

Lia Rodrigues Companhia de Danças | Incarnat | Copyright: Nicolas Boudier

Lia Rodrigues Companhia de Danças | Incarnat | Copyright: Nicolas Boudier

Choreografie: Lia Rodrigues, 70 min, 9 Tänzer

Ein nackter Körper, blutrot verschmiert, zuckt in einem durchsichtigen Plastiksack. Ein anderer scheint seine Eingeweide in Händen zu halten: Lia Rodrigues bringt brutale Realitäten physisch nahe. Realitäten, die jeder aus den Medien kennt und doch - oder gerade deshalb - sofort ins Reich der Virtualität verdrängt. Inspiriert von Susan Sontags Essay Das Leiden anderer betrachten (2003) thematisiert Incarnat die ambivalente Lust an der Beobachtung von Krieg und Gewalt. Das Stück erreicht höchste körperliche Intensität, denn die neun Tänzer begnügen sich nicht damit, darzustellen. Sie begeben sich in die gezeigten Zustände hinein. Die bewussten Anspielungen auf die victim art entblößen den ästhetischen Voyeurismus, der in jeder Betrachtung von Leid steckt - und sei es auch „zum guten Zweck“.

Incarnat kulminiert symbolisch in der Schlussszene. Der Körper einer Tänzerin wird von roten Linien ziseliert, die an indigene Tätowierungen erinnert. Sekunden später zerstört ein Akt wilden Aufbäumens die Zeichnung zu einem Geschmier roten Blutes - der Körper wird zum Manifest: „Rot auf Weiß, Weiß auf Rot, Schmerz auf der Haut, ein Schrei auf dem Körper.“ (Lia Rodrigues)

Lia Rodrigues, die zwischen Brasilien und Frankreich pendelt, wechselt auch zwischen den sozialen Schichten. Die Gründerin des RioArte de Dança Festivals zog für die Produktion von Incarnat mit ihren Tänzern in die Favelas von Rio de Janeiro. In einer offenen Lagerhalle probten sie dort, mitten im „gewohnheitsmäßigen Kriegszustand der Stadt“.

Eine Koproduktion des Hauses der Kulturen der Welt

Eine Veranstaltung im Rahmen von Brasilien-Fokus IN TRANSIT 06 / Copa da Cultura – Brasil + Deutschland 2006