Opening

Gilberto Gil

Speech and concert

Thu, 25 25, 2006
20h

Opening

Gilberto Gil, Copyright: Priscila Azul

Gilberto Gil, Brazil’s minister of culture, singer and composer, revolutionised Brazilian music in the 1960s. Traditional Bossa Nova with electric guitars, rock and pop: Tropicalismo was born.

The openness to international pop culture was also a manifestation of protest against the military dictatorship with its idea of “cultural purity”. Gil had to live in exile in London for two years. The man who now possess two Grammies has lost none of his openness: Stevie Wonder and Jimmy Cliff are just two of the people he has worked with. The “minister of music”—a legend—takes the stage.

Tickets: There is a limited number of free tickets for this concert available. These tickets will be available 25 May, 16h, at the ticket counter, House of World Cultures. More than 2 tickets per person or reservations will not be possible. For visitors who couldn't get concert tickets, the Gilberto Gil concert will be shown on big screen at the Foyer Futebol at the House of World Cultures.

Between 16h and 20h, during the opening of the ticket counter Brazilian music programme at the Foyer: with Samba de Roda de Nicinha with preview on their concert at the Ballroom the same evening, 19h Samba concert with Leticia Coura + Adriana Capparelli

An event within the framework of Focus Brazil IN TRANSIT 06.

Do, 25. Mai 2006

Gilberto Gil

Ansprache und Konzert

Gilberto Gil | Copyright: Priscila Azul

Gilberto Gil | Copyright: Priscila Azul

Gilberto Gil, brasilianischer Kulturminister, Sänger und Komponist, revolutionierte in den 60ern die brasilianische Musik. Er mischte traditionellen Bossa Nova mit elektrischen Gitarren, Rock und Pop: Der Tropicalismo war geboren.

Dessen Offenheit für die Popkultur der ganzen Welt galt auch als ein Manifest gegen die Militärdiktatur mit ihrem Ideal „kultureller Reinheit“. Für zwei Jahre musste Gil ins Exil nach London. Seine Offenheit blieb: Er arbeitete unter anderem mit Stevie Wonder und Jimmy Cliff. In diesem Jahr erhielt Gilberto Gil zum zweiten Mal den Grammy, den er zu den elf goldenen Schallplatten und fünf Platinscheiben stellen kann. Mit diesem “minister of music” tritt eine Legende auf die Bühne.

Tickethinweis: Für dieses Konzert ist ein limitiertes Kontingent an Freikarten verfügbar. Diese Karten werden am 25. Mai, 16h, am Ticketcounter des Hauses der Kulturen der Welt ausgegeben. Mehr als 2 Karten pro Besucher, Sammelbestellungen oder Reservierungen sind leider auf Grund der hohen Nachfrage nicht möglich. Für Besucher, die keine Karten mehr erhalten haben, wird das Konzert von Gilberto Gil auf Großbildleinwand im Foyer Futebol des Hauses der Kulturen der Welt gezeigt.

Zwischen 16h und 20h, während der Öffnung des Ticketcounters Brasilianisches Musikprogramm im Foyer: 16:30h Samba de Roda de Nicinha mit Preview auf das Konzert im Ballroom am gleichen Abend, 19h Sambakonzert mit Leticia Coura + Adriana Capparelli

Eine Veranstaltung im Rahmen von Brasilien-Fokus IN TRANSIT 06.