2014, Fri, Mar 21

Polyglots, Collectives, Copies & Other Happy Possibilities for the Anxious Digital Novelist

with Adam Thirlwell, Introduction: Henriette Gallus

Adam Thirlwell, a novelist who works in both digital and analog media, interrogates practices, formations, and formats in the world of digital literature. What happens to the novel as a genre and a concept when collective real-time translation, polyglot writing collectives, and new modes of interactive writing become possible and are practiced?


Keynote by Adam Thirlwell (author, London). Introduction: Henriette Gallus (Fiktion, Hamburg)


Henriette Gallus, Editor & Communications Advisor, Project Director Fiktion, lives in Hamburg. After working for several years as a literacy agent, she has worked as an editor and communications advisor for different publishers. She was press officer for dOCUMENTA (13) and directed the international press work of Bergen Assembly in Norway. In 2012 she founded a communication and editorial office for the international art and literature sector. Together with Mathias Gatza and Ingo Niermann, she directs Fiktion e.V.

Adam Thirlwell, author, London, is a British writer and literary scholar. He was included on Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists list in 2013 and in 2003—in 2003 even before his first novel Politics was published. Since then, he has published four novels, in which writing often appears as a subject. His 2007 book Miss Herbert (published as The Delighted States in the U.S.) appeared in German translation in 2013: the book deals with the adventures of translation in literary history.

Fr, 21. März 2014

Polyglots, Collectives, Copies & Other Happy Possibilities for the Anxious Digital Novelist

mit Adam Thirlwell, Einführung: Henriette Gallus

Adam Thirlwell, digital und analog arbeitender Romancier, befragt Praktiken, Formationen und Formate in der Welt des digitalen Literaturschaffens. Was passiert mit dem Roman als Genre und Konzept, wenn kollektive Sofortübersetzungen, polyglotte Schreibgemeinschaften und neue interaktive Schreibweisen möglich und praktiziert werden?


Keynote von Adam Thirlwell (Autor, London). Einführung: Henriette Gallus (Fiktion, Hamburg)


Henriette Gallus, Lektorin & PR Agentin, Projektleitung Fiktion, lebt in Hamburg. Nach einigen Jahren als Literaturagentin, war sie in verschiedenen Verlagen als Lektorin und PR-Beraterin tätig. Sie war Pressesprecherin der dOCUMENTA (13) und leitete die internationale Pressearbeit der Bergen Assembly in Norwegen. 2012 gründete sie ein Büro für Kommunikation und Redaktion für den internationalen Kunst- und Literatursektor und führt gemeinsam mit Mathias Gatza und Ingo Niermann Fiktion e.V.

Adam Thirlwell, Autor, London, ist britischer Schriftsteller und Literaturwissenschaftler. 2013 und 2003 wurde er in die Granta Best of Young British Novelists Liste aufgenommen, in 2003 bevor sein erster Roman Politics (deutsch Strategie, 2004) überhaupt veröffentlicht war. Seither hat er auf Englisch vier Romane publiziert, in denen oft das Schreiben selbst zum Thema wird. 2013 ist sein Buch Der multiple Roman auf Deutsch erschienen (engl. UK Miss Herbert/ engl. US The delighted states, 2007), in dem er sich den Abenteuern des Übersetzens in der Literaturgeschichte widmet.