Thu, Jun 14 – Tue, Jul 17: Traffic restrictions around HKW. More...

2014, Sun, Mar 16

Forensics in the Anthropocene

With Nabil Ahmed, Maayan Amir, Adrian Lahoud, Hannah Meszaros Martin (Modelling Kivalina), Godofredo Pereira, Paulo Tavares.

Moderation: Kathryn Yusoff


The concept of the Anthropocene poses a number of fundamental challenges to the domain of law and in particular to that of the laws of war. This is because human violence and environmental change interact in ever more intense ways. Desertification and war have been going hand in hand in the Sahel, while resource exploitation and human rights violations have erupted in places such as Papua, Canada, the US, Chile, Brazil and many others. This panel will discuss principles productive to understand the entanglement of human and natural violence.


Nabil Ahmed is a writer, artist, and researcher on the Forensic Architecture project. His work has been presented internationally, including at the Taipei Biennale (2012), Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin, and South Asian Visual Arts Centre (SAVAC) in Toronto. He is a contributor to the “World of Matter” project and has written for Third Text, Volume, and Architecture and the Paradox of Dissidence (Routledge, 2014). He is co-curator of Call & Response, an artist run sound art project based in London. Currently Ahmed is a PhD candidate in the Centre for Research Architecture at Goldsmiths University of London. He has previously taught in the Department of Visual Cultures and currently teaches at the CASS Faculty of Art, Architecture and Design at London Metropolitan University.


Maayan Amir is an artist, curator, and researcher on the Forensic Architecture project. Her collaborative works with Ruti Sela have been shown internationally at the Sidney Biennale (2006), the Istanbul Biennale (2009), the Berlin Biennale (2010), and in venues such as Centre Pompidou, Art in General, Tate Modern, Jeu de Paume, Ludwig Museum, amongst others. In 2009 she and Sela initiated “The Exterritory Project” for which they won an award for young artists from the UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) in 2011. She has edited a book about Israeli documentary cinema and has also curated many exhibitions. Amir teaches Theory at Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design (Jerusalem) in the MFA program, as well as in the Fine Arts Program at Haifa University, Sapir Academic College, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology, and other academic institutes. Throughout 2011, she was a guest resident at the Rijksakademie, Amsterdam. She is currently a PhD candidate in the Centre for Research Architecture at Goldsmiths University of London.


Adrian Lahoud is an architect, teacher, and research fellow on the Forensic Architecture project. He joined the Centre for Research Architecture, Goldsmiths in 2011 as director of the MA Programme; prior to this he was director of postgraduate Urban Design at the University of Technology Sydney. Currently he is leading the M.Arch Urban Design at The Bartlett, University College London (UCL) and is an external thesis advisor at the Projective Cities M.Phil. Programme at the Architectural Association (London). He exhibits and lectures internationally, most recently at the Harvard Graduate School of Design, Tate Britain, and Storefront for Art and Architecture (New York). He has been a guest critic at the Royal College of Art London, Columbia GSAPP, Angewandte Vienna, and Technische Universität (TU) Berlin. His doctoral research sets out a philosophical, scientific, and architectural history of scale as a problematic, drawing on case studies of post-war urban planning, territorial governance, and climate modeling.


Modelling Kivalina is comprised of artists and architects based at the Centre for Research Architecture, Goldsmiths University of London. The group consists of Andrea Bagnato, Helene Kazan, Daniel Fernández Pascual, Hannah Meszaros Martin, and Alon Schwabe. Modelling Kivalina was formed in 2012 when the group was invited by the Anchorage-based Re-Locate project to work in the Inupiaq village of Kivalina, Alaska. The research is funded in part by the World Justice Project, a Seattle-based organization that supports initiatives seeking to promote the rule of law. Modelling Kivalina aims to facilitate planning negotiations between residents and governmental agencies in Alaska through the use of visual techniques, in order to develop new ways of engaging with the issue of climate displacement worldwide.


Godofredo Pereira is an architect and writer based in Porto and London, and a researcher on the Forensic Architecture project. His research “Underground Fetishism” investigates political and territorial conflicts within the planetary race to the underground, with a particular focus on the parallel exhumations of political leaders and natural resources as re-imaginations of the body politic. Together with lawyer Alonso Barros he is coordinating the “Atacama Desert Project,” a geo-forensic analysis of environmental violence in the Atacama Desert in Chile, in support of claims brought against copper companies by local communities and NGOs. He is also the coordinator of History and Theory at the M.Arch Urban Design program at the Bartlett, University College London; co-founder and editor of Detritos, a journal of art and critical theory; and editor of the book Savage Objects (INCM, 2012). He frequently writes on architecture, urbanization, and territory. He graduated as an architect from FAUP (Porto), holds an M.Arch from the Bartlett School of Architecture and is a PhD candidate in the Centre for Research Architecture, Goldsmiths University of London.


Paulo Tavares is an architect and urbanist who graduated in Brazil and is currently based between Quito and London, where he is also a researcher on the Forensic Architecture project. Tavares teaches architecture at the Universidad Católica de Ecuador – Facultad de Arquitectura, Diseño y Arte, Quito, and has previously held teaching posts at the Centre for Research Architecture, and at the Visual Lab of the MA in Contemporary Art Theory, both at Goldsmiths University of London. His writings have appeared in many publications worldwide and his work has been exhibited in various venues including Centre for Contemporary Arts in Glasgow, Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin, Portikus in Frankfurt, and the Taipei Biennial. He is developing a project on the politics of ecology in Amazonia within the context of the PhD Program in the Centre for Research Architecture, Goldsmiths University of London.


Kathryn Yusoff is a Senior Lecturer in Human Geography at the School of Geography, Queen Mary University of London. She has been working of questions of geologic life, political aesthetics and processes of fossilisation in the Anthropocene. Currently she is writing a book called, “Geologic Life” and co-editing “Capitalism & the Earth” and “GeoSocial Formations”.

So, 16. März 2014

Forensik des Anthropozän

Präsentation und Diskussion

Mit Nabil Ahmed, Maayan Amir, Adrian Lahoud, Hannah Meszaros Martin (Modelling Kivalina), Godofredo Pereira, Paulo Tavares.

Moderation: Kathryn Yusoff


Das Konzept des Anthropozän stellt den Bereich des Rechts, insbesondere das Kriegsrecht, vor eine Reihe von fundamentalen Herausforderungen. Vor allem deshalb, weil menschliche Gewalt und Umweltveränderung auf immer tiefgreifendere Weise zusammenwirken. Während in der Sahelzone Wüstenbildung und Krieg Hand in Hand gehen, ist in Regionen wie Papua, Kanada, den USA, Chile, Brasilien und vielen anderen die Ausbeutung natürlicher Ressourcen in Verbindung mit Menschenrechtsverletzungen zu beobachten. In diesem Panel werden die Grundsätze diskutiert, die wichtig sind, um die Verflechtungen von menschlicher Gewalt und den Naturgewalten zu verstehen.


Nabil Ahmed ist Autor, Künstler und wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter bei Forensic Architecture. Seine Arbeiten wurden international ausgestellt, u. a. bei der Taipei Biennale (2012), im Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin und im South Asian Visual Arts Centre (SAVAC) in Toronto. Er ist Mitarbeiter des Projekts „World of Matter“ und schreibt für Third Text, Volume und Architecture and the Paradox of Dissidence (Routledge, 2014). Als Co-Kurator hat er das von Künstlern geleitete Ton-Kunst-Projekt Call & Response in London mitkonzipiert. Zurzeit ist Ahmed Doktorand des Centre for Research Architecture am Goldsmiths, University of London. Er hat am Department of Visual Cultures unterrichtet und lehrt derzeit an der CASS Faculty of Art, Architecture and Design der London Metropolitan University.


Maayan Amir ist Künstlerin, Kuratorin und wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin bei Forensic Architecture. Ihre Gemeinschaftsarbeiten mit Ruti Sela wurden international ausgestellt, u. a. bei der Sidney Biennale (2006), der Istanbul Biennale (2009), der Berlin Biennale (2010) und an Ausstellungsorten wie dem Centre Pompidou, Art in General, der Tate Modern, dem Jeu de Paume und dem Museum Ludwig. 2009 initiierte sie gemeinsam mit Sela das „Exterritory Project”, für das beide 2011 von der UNESCO mit einem Nachwuchspreis ausgezeichnet wurden. Amir hat ein Buch über das israelische Dokumentarkino herausgebracht und zahlreiche Ausstellungen kuratiert. Sie unterrichtet Kunsttheorie im MFA-Studiengang Bildende Kunst an der Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design (Jerusalem) sowie im Studiengang Bildende Kunst an der Haifa University, am Sapir Academic College und am Technion – Israel Institute of Technology und an weiteren Instituten. 2011 verbrachte sie als Gastkünstlerin an der Rijksakademie in Amsterdam. Derzeit ist sie Doktorandin am Centre for Research Architecture am Goldsmiths, University of London.


Adrian Lahoud ist Architekt, Dozent und Research Fellow bei Forensic Architecture. 2011 kam er als Leiter des Masterstudiengangs an das Centre for Research Architecture am Goldsmiths, University of London; zuvor war er Leiter des Postgraduate-Studiengangs Urban Design an der University of Technology Sydney. Zurzeit leitet er das Programm M.Arch Urban Design an der Bartlett School of Architecture, University College London (UCL) und ist externer Doktorvater für den Studiengang Projective Cities M.Phil. der Architectural Association (London). Er lehrt und zeigt seine Arbeiten international, zuletzt an der Harvard Graduate School of Design, der Tate Britain und im Storefront for Art and Architecture (New York). Er war Gastkritiker am Royal College of Art London, der Columbia Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, an der Angewandten in Wien und an der TU Berlin. In seiner Doktorarbeit beschäftigte er sich mit der Problematik des Maßstabs in der Philosophie-, Wissenschafts- und Architekturgeschichte und bezog sich dabei auf Fallstudien aus den Bereichen Vorkriegsstadtplanung, territoriale Governance und Klimamodellierung.


Modelling Kivalina setzt sich zusammen aus Künstlern und Architekten am Centre for Research Architecture am Goldsmiths, University of London. Zu der Gruppe gehören Andrea Bagnato, Helene Kazan, Daniel Fernández Pascual, Hannah Meszaros Martin und Alon Schwabe. Modelling Kivalina wurde 2012 ins Leben gerufen, als die Gruppe von dem in Anchorage beheimateten Projekt Re-Locate eingeladen wurde, in dem alaskischen Inupiaq-Dorf Kivalina zu arbeiten. Ihre Arbeit wird zum Teil vom World Justice Project finanziert, einer Organisation mit Sitz in Seattle, die Initiativen unterstützt, welche sich für Rechtsstaatlichkeit einsetzen. Modelling Kivalina hat das Ziel, mit Hilfe von visuellen Darstellungsmethoden Verfahren Planungsverhandlungen zwischen Bewohnern und Regierungsbehörden in Alaska zu erleichtern und damit neue Wege der Auseinandersetzung mit dem weltweiten Klimawandel und den damit verbundenen Verdrängungseffekten zu entwickeln.


Godofredo Pereira ist Architekt, Autor und wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter bei Forensic Architecture. Er lebt in Porto und London. In seinem Forschungsprojekt „Underground Fetishism“ untersucht er politische und territoriale Konflikte im planetarischen Wettrennen ins Erdinnere, dabei liegt sein Schwerpunkt auf der parallelen Exhumierung von politischen Führern und natürlichen Ressourcen als einer neuen Vorstellung von Gemeinwesen. In Zusammenarbeit mit Alonso Barros koordiniert er das „Atacama Desert Project“, eine geo-forensische Analyse von Umweltvergehen in der Atacamawüste in Chile, mit der die Forderungen von lokalen Gemeinschaften und NGOs gegen die Betreiber dortiger Kupferminen unterstützt werden. Zudem ist er Koordinator für Geschichte und Theorie für den Studiengang M.Arch Urban Design am Bartlett, University College London. Er ist Mitbegründer und Herausgeber von Detritos, einem Magazin zu Kunst und kritischer Theorie, und Herausgeber von Savage Objects (INCM, 2012). Er schreibt regelmäßig über Architektur, Urbanisation und Territorium. Seinen Abschluss in Architektur hat er an der FAUP in Porto gemacht, außerdem hat er einen Master of Architecture von der Bartlett School of Architecture und ist Doktorand am Centre for Research Architecture, Goldsmiths University of London.


Paulo Tavares absolvierte ein Studium als Architekt und Stadtplaner in Brasilien und lebt derzeit in Quito und London, wo er u. a. wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter bei Forensic Architecture ist. Tavares unterrichtet Architektur an der Universidad Católica de Ecuador – Facultad de Arquitectura, Diseño y Arte in Quito und war zuvor Dozent am Centre for Research Architecture und am Visual Lab des Masterstudiengangs in Contemporary Art Theory am Goldsmiths, University of London. Seine Texte wurden weltweit publiziert und seine Arbeiten in zahlreichen Institutionen gezeigt, darunter im Centre for Contemporary Arts in Glasgow, im Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin, im Portikus in Frankfurt und auf der Taipeh Biennale. Derzeit arbeitet er im Rahmen seiner Promotion am Centre for Research Architecture, Goldsmiths University of London an einem Projekt zur Umweltpolitik in Amazonien.


Kathryn Yusoff ist Senior Lecturer in Human Geography an der School of Geography, Queen Mary University of London. Sie arbeitet zu Fragen des geologischen Lebens, politischer Ästhetik und Prozesse der Fossilisierung im Anthropozän. Aktuell schreibt sie an einem Buch mit dem Titel Geologic Life, zudem ist sie Mitherausgeberin von Geologic Life und GeoSocial Formations.