2014, Sun, Mar 16

Keynote: Baltasar Garzón

Baltasar Garzón in conversation with Marcela Pizarro, Introduction: Silvia Fehrmann

As a Spanish judge Baltasar Garzón has erupted into public consciousness when in 1998 he issued an arrest warrant against former Chilean dictator Pinochet. Subsequently one of the most committed judges/ lawyers he has also been involved in legal controversies surrounding the exhumations of mass graves of civil war era republicans in Spain and in representing Julian Assange. Garzón will discuss the political implications of his legal work and political response to it.


Baltasar Garzón initiated a large number of precedent-setting cases as an investigating Magistrate for criminal offenses on the Audiencia Nacional, Spain’s central criminal court. He prosecuted perpetrators of Basque and paramilitary terrorism and corruption in Spain, but caused an international furor by issuing an arrest warrant in 1998 against former Chilean dictator Augusto Pinochet for the torture and killings of Spanish citizens under his rule. In 2008 Garzón triggered controversy when he ordered the exhumation of Republican victims of the Spanish Civil War in connection with legal proceedings against policymakers of the Franco dictatorship. For his political commitment, he has received honors including the 2009 Hermann Kesten Award of the German PEN Center. In 2010 he served as an external Consultant to the International Criminal Court in The Hague. Today Garzón teaches criminal law at Complutense University of Madrid and is currently the legal adviser to Julian Assange. He is the founder and President of Fundación Internacional Baltasar Garzón (FIBGAR), which has offices in four countries: Argentina, Colombia, Spain and Mexico.


Chilean by birth, exiled by history: Marcela Pizarro works as a journalist Al Jazeera English on a media critique show that dissects the dynamics of power behind news coverage. She has worked across news and programmes for the channel since its launch in 2006. In 2004 she completed her Phd funded by the British Academy on Latin American Cultural History at the University of London. Her thesis explored the work of a neo-avant-garde group of artists and writers that marked an alternative mode of intellectual production during Chilean transition to democracy.

So, 16. März 2014

Keynote: Baltasar Garzón

Baltasar Garzón im Gespräch mit Marcela Pizarro, Einführung: Silvia Fehrmann

Als spanischer Richter wurde Baltasar Garzón 1998 einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit bekannt, als er einen Haftbefehl gegen den früheren chilenischen Diktator Pinochet erließ. Als einer der engagiertesten Richter/Juristen war er in juristischen Auseinandersetzungen über die Exhumierung von Massengräbern von Republikanern aus der Bürgerkriegszeit involviert, er engagiert sich auch bei der Verteidigung von Julian Assange. Garzón wird über die politischen Implikationen seiner juristischen Arbeit und die Reaktionen der Politik darauf sprechen.


Baltasar Garzón führte als Ermittlungsrichter an Spaniens zentralem Strafgerichtshof, der Audiencia Nacional eine Reihe von Musterverfahren durch. Er verfolgte baskischen und paramilitärischen Terrorismus sowie Korruption in Spanien, internationales Aufsehen rief 1998 sein Haftbefehl für den frühreren chilenischen Diktator Augusto Pinochet hervor, dem er die Folterung und Ermordung spanischer Staatsangehöriger vorwarf. Kontrovers beurteilt wurde 2008 die Anordnung der Exhumierung von Opfern der spanischen Republikaner im Spanischen Bürgerkrieg, die mit rechtlichen Schritten gegen Politiker der Franco-Diktatur einher gingen. Für sein politisches Engagement erhielt er zahlreiche Ehrungen, wie zum Beispiel im Jahr 2009 den Hermann Kesten Preis des Deutschen Pen Zentrums. 2010 arbeitete er als externer Berater des Internationalen Strafgerichtshofs in Den Haag. Heute unterrichtet er Strafrecht an der Universität Complutense Madrid und ist Berater von Julian Assenge. Er ist der Gründungspräsident der Internationalen Baltasar Garzón Stiftung (FIBGAR) mit Sitz in den vier Ländern Argentinien, Kolumbien, Spanien und Mexiko.


Von Geburt Chilenin, von der Geschichte exiliert: Marcela Pizarros arbeitet als Journalistin bei Al Jazeera English für eine medienkritische Sendung, die die Machtdynamik hinter der Nachrichtenberichterstattung offenlegt. Seit der Gründung des Senders 2006 arbeitet sie dort in der Nachrichtenredaktion und für andere Programme. 2004 promovierte sie, von der British Academy gefördert, über lateinamerikanische Kulturgeschichte an der University of London. Ihre Dissertation beschäftigt sich mit der Arbeit einer neoavantgardistischen Gruppe von Künstlern und Schriftstellern, die während Chiles Übergang zur Demokratie einen alternativen Modus der intellektuellen Produktion darstellte.