2014, Sat, Mar 15

Anarchists Against the Law

Michael Sfard in conversation with Susan Schuppli, Introduction. Ayesha Hameed

After the end of the 2008/2009 attack on Gaza in which Israeli military lawyers were "creatively" interpreting the laws of war, Michael Sfard called these legal advisors “anarchists against the law”, designating a strange inversion. In this conversation Sfard, Israel’s foremost activist-lawyer, will discuss the new phenomena of "forensic warfare" or "lawfare" and new avenues for legal activism designed to confront Israel’s occupation.


Michael Sfard is a lawyer specializing in international human rights law and the laws of war. He has served as counsel in numerous important cases on these topics in Israel. Sfard grew up in Jerusalem and served in the Israeli Defense Forces (IDF) as a military paramedic. He was a conscientious objector and spent three weeks in military prison because of his refusal to serve in Hebron. He obtained his law degree from the Hebrew University in Jerusalem, after which he apprenticed with Attorney Avigdor Feldman and worked in Feldman’s office for five years. During this period, he spent one year studying in London, where he completed a master’s degree in International Human Rights Law at University College London (UCL). In early 2004, Sfard opened his own legal practice in Tel Aviv. Today Sfard is the legal adviser to several Israeli human rights organizations and peace groups (such as Yesh Din, Peace Now, and Breaking the Silence) and represents Palestinian communities (such as the village of Bil’in) and Israeli and Palestinian activists.


Susan Schuppli is an artist and writer as well as senior research fellow and project coordinator on the Forensic Architecture project. Prior to working at Goldsmiths she was associate professor at the University of Western Ontario, Canada. She received her doctorate in 2009 between the Centres for Cultural Studies and Research Architecture at Goldsmiths and participated in the Whitney Independent Study Program after completing her MFA at the University of California San Diego. Her creative projects have been exhibited throughout Canada, USA, Australia, Europe, and Asia. Forthcoming exhibitions include Casino Luxembourg and Stroom Den Haag. Her written work has appeared in Cabinet, Photoworks, Borderlands, Cosmos & History, Memory Studies, and publications by Academia Press, Imprensa Nacional, Ciel Variable, Sternberg Press, Yale University Press, and Cambridge Scholars Press. She is author of the forthcoming book, Material Witness: Forensic Media and the Production of Evidence (MIT Press, 2015), which is also the subject of an experimental documentary.

Sa, 15. März 2014

Anarchisten gegen das Gesetz

Michael Sfard im Gespräch mit Susan Schuppli, Einführung: Ayesha Hameed

Nach dem Ende des Angriffs auf Gaza 2008/2009, während dessen israelische Militärjuristen das Kriegsrecht „kreativ“ auslegten, nannte Michael Sfar diese Rechtsberater „Anarchisten gegen das Gesetz“ und bezeichnete so eine merkwürdige Umkehrung. In diesem Gespräch wird sich Sfard, der wichtigste aktivistische Jurist Israels, mit dem neuen Phänomen „forensischer Kriegsführung“ oder „lawfare“ und neuen Möglichkeiten für juristischen Aktivismus auseinandersetzen, der Israels Besatzung entgegentreten soll.


Michael Sfard ist Rechtsanwalt und spezialisiert auf internationales Menschenrecht und Kriegsrecht; er war in Israel in vielen großen Prozessen als Berater tätig. Sfard wuchs in Jerusalem auf und diente als Sanitäter bei den Israeli Defense Forces (IDF). Weil er sich weigerte, für die Armee nach Hebron zu gehen, verbrachte er als Verweigerer aus Gewissensgründen drei Wochen im Militärgefängnis. Nach Abschluss seines Jurastudiums an der Hebrew University in Jerusalem arbeitete er fünf Jahre lang in der Kanzlei von Avigdor Feldman. Während dieser Zeit verbrachte er ein Studienjahr in London, um dort seinen Master in Internationalem Menschenrecht am University College London (UCL) zu machen. Anfang 2004 eröffnete Sfard eine eigene Kanzlei in Tel Aviv. Sfard ist heute Rechtsberater mehrerer israelischer Menschenrechtsorganisationen und Friedensgruppen (darunter Yesh Din, Peace Now und Breaking the Silence) und vertritt palästinensische Gemeinden (wie das Dorf Bil’in) und israelische und palästinensische AktivistInnen.


Susan Schuppli ist Künstlerin und Autorin sowie Senior Research Fellow und Projektkoordinatorin bei Forensic Architecture. Vor ihrer Arbeit am Goldsmiths war sie Dozentin an der University of Western Ontario in Kanada. Sie promovierte 2009 am Centre for Cultural Studies und am Centre for Research Architecture, Goldsmiths. Nach Abschluss ihres M.F.A. an der University of California San Diego nahm sie teil am Whitney Independent Study Program. Ihre kreativen Projekte waren bereits in ganz Kanada, in den USA, Australien, Europa und Asien zu sehen. Zu den nächsten Ausstellungsorten gehören das Casino Luxembourg und das Stroom Den Haag. Texte von Susan Schuppli sind erschienen in Cabinet, Photoworks, Borderlands, Cosmos & History, Memory Studies sowie in Publikationen von Academia Press, Imprensa Nacional, Ciel Variable, Sternberg Press, Yale University Press und Cambridge Scholars Press. Sie ist Autorin des in Kürze erscheinenden Buches Material Witness: Forensic Media and the Production of Evidence (MIT Press, 2015), das zugleich Gegenstand eines experimentellen Dokumentarfilms ist.