2005, Aug 11, Thu — 2005, Aug 14, Sun

Import/Export

Cultural transfer between India and Germany/Austria

Festival

German tourists view India as the perfect setting for spiritual trance music, following in the footsteps of parents and grandparents who, in the 1930s and 70s, went there searching for religious inspiration. Meanwhile, Indian tourists are visiting sights in the Alps used as ideal backdrops in Indian films. At the same time, in India, a German car brand's glittering star evokes just those 'German virtues' most likely viewed as historical atavism in Germany itself.

Although, as cultural projections, reciprocal perceptions of foreign cultures need not necessarily bear any relation to reality, they can still coin attitudes and shape policy strategies. The reciprocal images each country creates of another can fuel reactions to cultural conflicts, as was so apparently the case after 9/11. And these images also affect economic decisions - for example, how cars are marketed on the Indian subcontinent.

The "Import/Export" festival in the House of World Cultures in August 2005 is dedicated to examining the paths and patterns of cultural transfer between India, Austria and Germany. The project is realised in three venues - Berlin, Bombay/Mumbai (25-27.03.2005) and Vienna (20-22.05.2005) - with each venue hosting the common elements of a symposium, a film series, and an exhibition. Producing three documentary film essays forms an integral part of the project, together with a publication, due to be shown in August 2005 in the House of World Cultures.

"Import/Export" provides both a practical and conceptual platform, with the three symposia allowing an exchange of ideas between scholars, artists and curators, and the interested general public. The key themes revolve around three topics, "moving people - moving concepts - moving goods", examining the social, intellectual and economic elements in trans-cultural relations between these three countries - an approach turning the project itself into a living example of just such cultural transfers.

"Import/Export" is jointly organised by the House of World Cultures, the Werkleitz Gesellschaft e.V., Halle, majlis, a legal and cultural resource centre in Bombay/Mumbai, and the art and theory network DeEgo, Vienna. The symposia, film productions and book publication are supported by funds from the European Union - India Economic Cross Cultural Programme and the Hauptstadtkulturfonds, with artistic direction by Merle Kröger and Dorothee Wenner.

The scholars, artists and curators involved in this project include Flavia Agnes (Bombay/Mumbai), Nancy Adajania (Delhi), Sun-ju Choi (Cologne), Helmut Dietrich (Berlin), Julia Eckert (Berlin), Madhusree Dutta (Bombay/Mumbai), Angelika Fitz (Vienna), Ranjit Hoskote (Delhi), Anke Illing (Berlin), Merle Kröger (Berlin), Shantanu Lodh (New Delhi), Mamta Murthy (Bombay/Mumbai), Navina Sundaram (Hamburg), Alexandra Schneider (Berlin), Dorothee Wenner (Berlin), and Michael Wörgötter (Vienna).

Do., 11. August 2005 — So., 14. August 2005

Import/Export

Wege des Kulturtransfers zwischen Indien und Deutschland/Österreich

Festival

Indische Touristen besuchen die Alpen, um ideale Schauplätze indischer Filmproduktionen kennen zu lernen. Deutsche Touristen bereisen Indien als Ort spiritueller Trance Musik. Sie folgen den Spuren ihrer Eltern und Großeltern, die im Indien der dreißiger und siebziger Jahre bereits religiöse Inspiration suchten ...

Gegenseitige Fremdwahrnehmung hat als kulturelle Projektion nicht zwangsläufig etwas mit der Realität zu tun. Sie prägt dennoch Sichtweisen und formt politische Strategien. Bilder, die jeweils vom anderen Land entstehen, motivieren Reaktionen auf kulturelle Konflikte, so nach dem 11. September 2001. Sie lenken zugleich auch wirtschaftliche Entscheidungen, wie die Vermarktung einer Automarke auf dem indischen Subkontinent.

Im August 2005 widmet sich das Festival "Import/Export" im Haus der Kulturen der Welt den Wegen des Kulturtransfers zwischen Indien, Österreich und Deutschland. Berlin ist einer von drei Spielorten nach Bombay/Mumbai (25.-27.03.2005) und Wien (20.-22.05.2005). Gemeinsame Elemente des Projekts in allen Städten sind jeweils ein Symposium, eine Filmreihe und eine Ausstellung. Anlässlich von "Import/Export" werden drei Dokumentarfilm-Essays produziert, sowie eine Publikation erstellt, der im August 2005 im HKW vorgestellt werden soll.

"Import/Export" schafft eine praktische wie konzeptuelle Plattform. Auf drei Symposien begegnen sich Wissenschaftler, Künstler, Kuratoren und die interessierte Öffentlichkeit. Entlang der Rahmenthemen "moving people - moving concepts - moving goods" untersuchen sie das soziale, intellektuelle und ökonomische Feld transkultureller Beziehungen zwischen den drei Ländern. Das Projekt selbst wird dabei zu einem lebendigen Beispiel kulturellen Transfers.

Das Haus der Kulturen der Welt ist als Partner der Werkleitz Gesellschaft e.V. (Halle), dem Zentrum für Kultur und Recht majlis (Bombay/Mumbai) und des Kunst- und Theorienetzwerks DeEgo (Wien). Mitveranstalter von "Import/Export". Symposien, Filmproduktionen und die Buchpublikation werden mit Mitteln des European Union - India Economic Cross Cultural Programme und des Hauptstadt Kulturfonds gefördert. Die künstlerische Leitung haben Merle Kröger und Dorothee Wenner.

Zu den mitwirkenden Wissenschaftlern, Künstlern und Kuratoren gehören u.a.: Flavia Agnes (Bombay/Mumbai), Nancy Adajania (Delhi), Sun-ju Choi (Köln), Helmut Dietrich (Berlin), Julia Eckert (Berlin), Madhusree Dutta (Bombay/Mumbai), Angelika Fitz (Wien), Ranjit Hoskote (Delhi), Anke Illing (Berlin), Merle Kröger (Berlin), Shantanu Lodh (New Delhi), Mamta Murthy (Bombay/Mumbai), Navina Sundaram (Hamburg), Alexandra Schneider (Berlin), Dorothee Wenner (Berlin), Michael Wörgötter (Wien).