Meridian | Urban

Curatorial Projects on Health
2011, Sep 06, Tue — 2011, Sep 17, Sat

The Haus der Kulturen der Welt invited up-and-coming curators to submit proposals for site-specific projects in Berlin’s public spaces during the next Asia-Pacific Weeks. A total of 42 projects, and their curators and artists from 29 countries, mainly from European and Asian regions, submitted their applications and have been juried during the first week of October 2010.

Members of the international jury:
Dr. Katja Blomberg, director, Haus am Waldsee, Berlin
Dr. Adele Tan, art historian and critic, Singapore
Yu Yeon Kim, independent curator (New York / Seoul)
Osvaldo Sánchez, curator, director, Museo de Arte Moderno de México, Mexico-City

The projects will be shown during the 8th Asia-Pacific Weeks 2011, from September 6 to September 17, in Berlin. A map illustrating and indicating all the projects will be published and on display in various places across the city where the projects are to be seen.

On MERIDIAN I URBAN:
Meridians, as imaginary lines run from pole to pole and map the world, they are indispensable instruments that we use to orient ourselves in space. At the same time meridians define in traditional Asian medicine a system that is like an invisible network that supports the body and gives it vital energy.

Meridian | Urban. Curatorial Projects on Health takes place in the framework of the 8th Asia-Pacific Weeks Berlin 2011, which focus on "Water, Food, Health.” Haus der Kulturen der Welt plans and coordinates the cultural section of the Asia-Pacific Weeks Berlin in cooperation with the Berlin Senate Chancellery and local and international partners.

Synapse
In 2011 Haus der Kulturen der Welt will launch the curators' network Synapse. Synapse will link and facilitate exchange between newly emerging curators who are active in the visual arts.
The local and international curators will be selected by a jury and will meet in Berlin in September 2011 to take part in a workshop on the subject "Art and Science." Alongside this and further planned workshops, an interactive project-based website will provide Synapse participants with a forum for the exchange of ideas, and the public with information on the curators.

Asien-Pazifik-Wochen Berlin

The Asia-Pacific-Weeks(APW), an initiative by the Mayor of Berlin, have been taking place every two years since 1997.
The Asia-Pacific Weeks are kindly supported by the Stiftung Deutsche Klassenlotterie Berlin.

Stiftung Deutsche Klassenlotterie Berlin DKLB

The Haus der Kulturen der Welt is responsible for conceiving and coordinating the cultural program of the Asia-Pacific-Weeks Berlin.

Kindly supported by

Aedes           culture360.org           Partner Meridian | Urban

Meridian | Urban

Curatorial Projects on Health
Di, 06. September 2011 — Sa, 17. September 2011

Das Haus der Kulturen der Welt lud Nachwuchskuratoren ein, Vorschläge für ortsspezifische Projekte einzureichen, die während der nächsten Asien-Pazifik-Wochen in den öffentlichen Räumen Berlins gezeigt werden. 42 Projekte wurden eingereicht, von Kuratoren und Künstlern aus 29 Ländern – hauptsächlich aus Europa und Asien. Anfang Oktober 2010 hat eine internationale Jury getagt und aus den Bewerbungen fünf herausragende Projekte ausgewählt.

Mitglieder der internationalen Jury:
Dr. Katja Blomberg, Leiterin Haus am Waldsee, Berlin
Dr. Adele Tan, Kunsthistorikerin und -kritikerin, Singapur
Yu Yeon Kim, unabhängige Kuratorin, New York/Seoul
Osvaldo Sánchez, Kurator, Leiter Museo de Arte Moderno, Mexiko-Stadt

Die Projekte werden während der 8. Asien-Pazifik-Wochen zwischen dem 6. und 17. September in Berlin präsentiert. Zudem wird ein Übersichtsplan veröffentlicht, in dem die Standorte der Projekte verzeichnet sind. Diese werden auch an den jeweiligen Ausstellungsorten zu finden sein.

Zu MERIDIAN | URBAN:
Meridiane sind imaginäre Linen, die zwischen Nord- und Südpol verlaufen und die Welt erfassbar machen. Sie sind unverzichtbare Instrumente, die wir nutzen, um uns im Raum zu orientieren. In der asiatischen Medizin bezeichnen Meridiane darüber hinaus ein System, das wie ein unsichtbares Netzwerk funktioniert und den Körper in der Versorgung mit Lebensenergie unterstützt.

Meridian | Urban. Curatorial Projects on Health findet im Rahmen der 8. Asien-Pazifik-Wochen Berlin 2011 mit dem Schwerpunktthema „Wasser, Ernährung, Gesundheit“ statt. Das Haus der Kulturen der Welt plant und koordiniert das Kulturprogramm der Asien-Pazifik-Wochen Berlin in Kooperation mit der Senatskanzlei Berlin sowie lokalen und internationalen Partnern.

Synapse
2011 ruft das Haus der Kulturen der Welt das Kuratorennetzwerk Synapse ins Leben. Synapse dient der nachhaltigen Vernetzung und dem Austausch unter Nachwuchskuratoren, die in der bildenden Kunst tätig sind.
Die von einer Jury ausgewählten lokalen und internationalen Kuratoren finden sich im September 2011 zu einem Workshop zum Thema "Kunst und Wissenschaft" in Berlin zusammen. Neben weiteren geplanten Arbeitstreffen bietet eine projekteigene, interaktive Webseite den Synapse-Teilnehmern ein Forum für den Ideenaustausch und der Öffentlichkeit eine Informationsplattform über die Kuratoren.

Asien-Pazifik-Wochen Berlin

Die Asien-Pazifik-Wochen (APW) finden auf Initiative des Regierenden Bürgermeisters seit 1997 alle zwei Jahre statt.
Die Asien-Pazifik-Wochen werden unterstützt durch die Stiftung Deutsche Klassenlotterie Berlin.

Stiftung Deutsche Klassenlotterie Berlin DKLB

Das Haus der Kulturen der Welt konzipiert und koordiniert das Kulturprogramm der Asien-Pazifik-Wochen Berlin 2011.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von

Aedes           culture360.org           Partner Meridian | Urban