Dec 8, 2007–Jan 13, 2008

DI/VISIONS. Culture and Politics of the Middle East

Talks, Discussions, Screenings
A project by Catherine David.

The House of World Cultures as a multidimensional documentation platform, projection screen and sounding board: intellectuals, actors from diverse fields, artists and film-makers from the Middle East illuminate the context in which the current situation with its ‘Divisions’ and exclusion has arisen and show new ways out of the crisis.

Three generations of observers and political and cultural actors from the Middle East will have an opportunity to present their views. Their talks with Catherine David can be followed every day as large projections on all levels of the House. A film programme showing new documentary films and mini-retrospectives will broaden our knowledge of culture and politics in the Middle East. Over two weekends (8 and 9 December and 11 to 13 January), the House of World Cultures will serve as a forum for talks and discussions with intellectuals and artists from various countries in the region.

In the Middle East, the long 20th century was marked by violence, division, expulsion and loss: from the division of Palestine to the wars of independence to the first Gulf War of 1990. Since 11 September 2001, however, this violent history, which also includes Islamic violence, has become the dominant background against which “reality” in the Middle East as well as cultural and social productions in the region are perceived. To the orientalist contrast of East and West have now been added several new dichotomies – use to simplify matters – such as ‘secular’ and ‘religious’, ’moderate’ and ‘extremist, ‘democracy’ and ‘tyranny’. DI/VISIONS aims to examine these oversimplifying cultural and political contrasts, which shape our views of the region.

Since 1916 at the latest, when France and Great Britain divided up the region between themselves, the drawing of colonial borders has shaped the geography, the institutions and the social structures of the Middle East. This process of dividing up territories has been the dominant strategy right up to the present. The current processes of globalisation and economic neo-liberalism have imposed new landscapes of division, exclusion and exile on the region. These are, in turn, continually reproduced in the societal languages and practices of art, town planning, education and the media. Consequently, DI/VISIONS proceeds from the conviction that a concrete vision can only be developed by reflecting upon the borders created by ‘division’.

Among the program guests are the sociologist Mona Abaza (Cairo), the flim director Hala Al Abdallah (Damascus/Paris), the author and filmmaker Sinan Antoon (Baghdad/California), the historian Amnon Raz-Krakotzkin (Jerusalem), the essayist and publisher Pierre Abi-Saab (Beirut), the poet and political analyst Tamim Al-Barghouti (Cairo/Berlin), the political scientist Meron Benvenisti (Jerusalem), the historian Ussama Makdissi (Houston), the literature theorist Samah Selim (Marseille), the essayist Wael Sawah, the historian Fawwaz Traboulsi (Beirut/Berlin), the political scientist Sherif Younis (Cairo/Berlin), the sociologist and political scientist Sami Zubaida (London).

Project management: Hila Peleg. Architecture: Juan Lucas Young.

The program is conceived within the broader framework of the Berlin-based research program of the Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften, the Fritz Thyssen Foundation and the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin, “Europe in the Middle East; the Middle East in Europe ” which explores the historical, social and cultural entanglements that have both given meaning to the terms ‘East’ and ‘West’ and shaped their mutual modernities. www.eume-berlin.de

8.12.2007–13.1.2008

DI/VISIONS. Kultur und Politik im Nahen Osten

Stimmen, Gespräche, Projektionen
Ein Programm von Catherine David.

Das Haus der Kulturen der Welt als multidimensionale Dokumentationsplattform, als Projektionsfläche und Resonanzraum: Intellektuelle, Akteure, Künstler und Filmemacher des Nahen Ostens beleuchten den Kontext, der zur gegenwärtigen Situation der „Divisions“, Ausgrenzungen und Teilungen geführt hat, und zeigen neue Wege aus der Krise auf.

Drei Generationen politischer und kultureller Akteure und Beobachter aus Nahost kommen zu Wort. Ihre Gespräche mit Catherine David sind als Großprojektionen täglich auf allen Ebenen des Hauses zu sehen. Ein Filmprogramm mit neuen Dokumentarfilmen und Miniretrospektiven erweitert den Einblick in Kultur und Politik des Nahen Ostens. An zwei Wochenenden (8. und 9. Dezember sowie 11. bis 13. Januar) wird das Haus zu einem Forum für Gespräche und Diskussionen mit Intellektuellen und Künstlern aus Ländern der Region.

Im Nahen Osten ist das lange 20. Jahrhundert gezeichnet durch Gewalt, Teilung, Vertreibung und Verlust: von der Teilung Palästinas über die Unabhängigkeitskriege bis hin zum Ersten Golfkrieg von 1990. Seit dem 11. September 2001 ist jedoch diese Geschichte der Gewalt, die auch die islamistische umfasst, zur alles beherrschenden Wahrnehmungsfolie geworden - sowohl für die „Wirklichkeit“ im Nahen Osten als auch für die kulturellen und sozialen Produktionen der Region. Zur orientalistischen Gegenüberstellung von Ost und West gesellt sich heute eine Reihe weiterer vereinfachender Gegensatzpaare wie „säkular“ und „religiös“, „moderat“ und „extremistisch“, „Demokratie“ und „Tyrannei“. DI/VISIONS möchte die vereinfachenden kulturellen und politischen Gegenüberstellungen, die die Vorstellungen über die Region prägen, hinterfragen.

Spätestens seit 1916, als Frankreich und Großbritannien die Region unter sich aufteilten, haben koloniale Grenzziehungen die Geografie, die Institutionen und die gesellschaftlichen Strukturen des Nahen Ostens geprägt. Das Auseinanderdividieren ist bis zum heutigen Tage die vorherrschende Strategie. Die gegenwärtigen Prozesse der Globalisierung und des wirtschaftlichen Neoliberalismus haben der Region neue Landschaften der Teilungen, der Ausgrenzungen und des Exils aufgeprägt. Sie werden wiederum in den gesellschaftlichen Sprachen und Praktiken von Kunst, Stadtplanung, Bildung und Medien immer wieder reproduziert. Ausgangspunkt von DI/VISIONS ist deshalb die Überzeugung, dass eine konkrete Vision nur dann entwickelt werden kann, wenn die durch „Division“ konstruierten Grenzen neu reflektiert werden.

Zu den Teilnehmern gehören die Soziologin Mona Abaza (Kairo), die Filmemacherin Hala Al Abdallah (Damaskus/Paris), der Schriftsteller und Filmemacher Sinan Antoon (Bagdad/Kalifornien), der Historiker Amnon Raz-Krakotzkin (Jerusalem), der Essayist und Verleger Pierre Abi-Saab (Beirut), der Dichter und Politikwissenschaftler Tamim Al-Barghouti (Kairo/Berlin), der Politikwissenschaftler Meron Benvenisti (Jerusalem), der Historiker Ussama Makdissi (Houston), die Literaturwissenschaftlerin Samah Selim (Marseille), der Essayist und Aktivist Wael Sawah, der Historiker Fawwaz Traboulsi (Beirut/Berlin), der Politikwissenschaftler Sherif Younis (Kairo/Berlin), der Soziologe und Politikwissenschaftler Sami Zubaida (London).

Projektleitung: Hila Peleg. Architektur: Juan Lucas Young.

In Verbindung mit dem Forschungsprogramm „Europa im Nahen Osten - Der Nahe Osten in Europa“ der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, der Fritz Thyssen Stiftung und des Wissenschaftskollegs zu Berlin. www.eume-berlin.de