Worldtronics 2007

Festival of Electronic Music
2007, Nov 27, Tue — 2007, Dec 01, Sat

The first edition explores the electronic music scenes in Japan, Congo, Chile and Israel. It will be opened by Harmonia, the Krautrock pioneers of electronic music. For five days, the 1950’s architecture of the former Congress Hall on the River Spree will be welcoming musicians and DJs who play music ranging from minimal, abstract, techno and deep house to experimental pop, congotronics and acitón. We are indebted to experts and scouts in the various countries for this exquisite selection.

WORLDTRONICS invites you to come along and discover these scenes and their backgrounds. For Worldtronics is also a reminder that electronic music arises through sheer joy in experimentation. And that dancing is the most wonderful way of appropriating public space. With listening lounges and dance floors, a trade-show and talks, installations and videos, the House of World Cultures will be the festival meeting place in an autumnal Tiergarten. The House will be brimming with excitement – Welcome to WORLDTRONICS!

The music will be accompanied in the House's foyer by a small tradeshow at which participating musicians, labels, club operators, software and hardware producers and others active in the scene can meet each other and exchange goods, music, information and ideas.

The curators

Santiago de Chile
Eva-Christina Meier and Andreas Fanizadeh: The artist and the journalist from Berlin are, among other things, editors of Chile International – Kunst, Existenz, Multitude (ID-Verlag, 2005) and curators of the exhibition Museo Santiago – Die Stadt als Versprechen (Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien, 2007).

Japan
Jörg Follert a.k.a. Wechsel Garland lives and works in Cologne as a musician and producer. Now, with seven albums to his name, he still continues to carve out new paths – off the beaten track – with his electronic music. His experience of the Japanese scene ranges from his collaboration with Sohichiro Suzuki (World Standard) to diverse remixes.

Congo
Vincent Kenis and Marc Hollander, both musicians and producers, operate the Crammed Discs label. The forerunner of this venture was their duet, Aksak Maboul, to whom we are indebted for musical discoveries like Congotronics, Bebel Gilberto, and others. Their avant-garde sound in the interface between fake jazz, electronics, as well as their very own version of African and Balkan music and minimalism is a milestone in the history of music.

Israel
The Israeli video artist and photographer Ronni Shendar lives and works in Jerusalem. Till Rohmann, AKA glitterbug, is a DJ, producer and artist who lives and works in Germany and Israel. Together, the two of them curate and stage c.sides, a festival for electronic music and political media art, which has been staged in Jerusalem for the past three years.

Past Events
Sunday, Dec 2 2007
Saturday, Dec 1 2007
Friday, Nov 30 2007
Thursday, Nov 29 2007
Wednesday, Nov 28 2007
Tuesday, Nov 27 2007

Das HKW-Programm läuft digital weiter. Das Haus bleibt bis zum 28. Januar 2021 geschlossen. Mehr…

Worldtronics 2007

Festival of Electronic Music
Di, 27. November 2007 — Sa, 01. Dezember 2007

Die erste Ausgabe erkundet die elektronischen Musikszenen in Japan, Kongo, Chile und Israel. Den Auftakt gibt Harmonia, die Krautrock-Pioniere der elektronischen Musik. Fünf Tage lang empfängt die 50erJahre-Architektur der Ex-Kongresshalle an der Spree Musiker und DJs mit einer Bandbreite, die von Minimal, Abstract, Techno und Deep-House über experimentellen Pop bis hin zu Congotronics und Acitón reicht. Die exquisite Auswahl verantworten Kenner und Scouts der jeweiligen Länder.

WORLDTRONICS lädt dazu ein, diese Szenen und ihre Zusammenhänge zu entdecken. Nicht zuletzt bringt Worldtronics in Erinnerung, dass elektronische Musik aus reinster Experimentierfreude entstanden ist. Und dass Tanzen die schönste Form ist, sich den öffentlichen Raum anzueignen. Mit Hörlounges und Dancefloors, einer Trade-Show und Gesprächen, Installationen und Visuals wird das Haus zum Treffpunkt im herbstlichen Tiergarten. Das Haus ist geladen - Willkommen in WORLDTRONICS!

Neben der Musik wird im Foyer des Hauses tagsüber eine kleine Trade-Show stattfinden, auf der sich beteiligte Musiker, Labels, Club-Betreiber, Software- und Hardware-Hersteller und andere Aktivisten der Szene präsentieren und austauschen können.

Die Kuratoren

Santiago de Chile
Eva-Christina Meier und Andreas Fanizadeh: Die Künstlerin und der Publizist aus Berlin sind u. a. Herausgeber von „Chile International – Kunst, Existenz, Multitude“ (ID-Verlag, 2005) und Kuratoren der Ausstellung “Museo Santiago – Die Stadt als Versprechen” (Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien, 2007).

Japan
Jörg Follert aka Wechsel Garland lebt und arbeitet in Köln als Musiker und DJ. Mit seinen mittlerweile sieben Alben bringt er elektronische Musik immer wieder auf neue Wege jenseits von Festschreibungen. Seine Japan-Expertise reicht von der Zusammenarbeit mit Sohichiro Suzuki (World Standard) bis zu unzähligen Remixen.

Kongo
Die Musiker und Produzenten Vincent Kenis und Marc Hollander betreiben das Label Crammed Discs. Vorgänger dieser Unternehmung, der musikalische Entdeckungen wie Congotronics, Bebel Gilberto u. a. zu verdanken sind, war ihr gemeinsames Duo Aksak Maboul: Ihr Avantgarde-Sound in der Schnittstelle von Fake Jazz, Elektronik, erfundene African & Balkan-Music und Minimalismus ist ein Meilenstein der Musikgeschichte.

Israel
Die israelische Videokünstlerin und Fotografin Ronni Shendar lebt und arbeitet in Jerusalem. Till Rohmann, AKA glitterbug, ist DJ, Produzent, Künstler und arbeitet sowohl in Deutschland als auch in Israel. Gemeinsam kuratieren und veranstalten sie c.sides, ein Festival für elektronische Musik und politische Medienkunst, das seit drei Jahren in Jerusalem stattfindet.

Vergangene Veranstaltungen
Sonntag 02.12.2007
Samstag 01.12.2007
Freitag 30.11.2007
Donnerstag 29.11.2007
Mittwoch 28.11.2007
Dienstag 27.11.2007