Sep 19–Oct 2, 2005

The Asia-Pacific Weeks Berlin 2005

A new perspective - Country focus: Korea

International dialogue

The Asia-Pacific Weeks in Berlin (APW) have taken place biennially since 1997, when they were launched at the initiative of the Governing Mayor. The Senate Office is responsible for their co-ordination. The Republic of Korea will be the focus of the 5th Asia-Pacific Weeks from 19 September to 2 October 2005, following Japan in 1999, China in 2001, and India in 2003. As always, however, we welcome events spotlighting other countries of the Asian-Pacific region extending from Australia to Mongolia and from Japan to Pakistan.

The Asia-Pacific-Weeks present the Open air-event Nomadic Plaza and the closing concert with the Philippine singer and songwriter Grace Nono at the House of World Cultures and the exhibition project The Voice of Thunder.


The House of World Cultures presents as part of the Asia-Pacific-Weeks Spaces and Shadows, Contemporary Art from South East Asia and Performing Arts from Korea.


The APW's strong partners

The APW’s strategic partners, the Asia-Pacific Forum (APFB), the Technology Foundation Berlin (TSB) and the House of World Cultures (HKW) assist the Senate Office in planning and staging the Asia-Pacific Weeks.


The Asia-Pacific Forum Berlin (APFB)

The APFB arranges the events on economic issues and assists in preparing the science programme under the overall control of the TSB. A large number of companies and individuals have joined forces in the APFB European-Asian network, which attracts forward-looking potential from the business community and society at large, as well as from the fields of culture and science. In this way, it promotes a dialogue in the German capital with the countries in the Asian-Pacific region.


The House of World Cultures

The House of World Cultures (HKW) will be responsible for conceiving and co-ordinating the cultural side of the Asia-Pacific Weeks in 2005 in co-operation with the Senate Office as well as partners in Berlin and throughout the world. In line with the overall concept, the HKW invites Berlin cultural organisations as well as Asian embassies, associations and interest groups represented in Berlin to participate in the APW with their own cultural programmes. With its extensive international connections, the HKW contributes to the international networking of the project.

Website APW 2005


The Asia-Pacific Weeks are supported by the Stiftung Deutsche Klassenlotterie Berlin (DKLB).

19.9.–2.10.2005

Asien-Pazifik-Wochen Berlin 2005

Eine neue Perspektive - Fokus: Korea

Internationaler Dialog

Auf Initiative des Regierenden Bürgermeisters finden seit 1997 alle zwei Jahre die "Asien-Pazifik-Wochen Berlin" (APW) statt. Die APW werden in der Senatskanzlei Berlin koordiniert. Die Republik Korea prägt den Länderschwerpunkt der 5. Asien-Pazifik-Wochen nachdem 1999 Japan, 2001 China und 2003 Indien im Mittelpunkt der APW standen. Veranstaltungen zu den übrigen Ländern der asiatisch-pazifischen Region von Australien bis zur Mongolei, von Japan bis Pakistan bilden eine breite Basis für die Begegnung mit den Kulturen dieses Raumes.

Die Asien-Pazifik-Wochen veranstalten im Haus der Kulturen der Welt die Open Air-Veranstaltung Nomadic Plaza und das Abschlusskonzert mit der philippinischen Sängerin Grace Nono sowie das Jugend-Ausstellungsprojekt Die Stimme des Donners.


Das Haus der Kulturen der Welt veranstaltet im Rahmen der Asien Pazifik Wochen Räume und Schatten, Zeitgenössische Kunst aus Südostasien, sowie Performing Arts aus Korea.


Die Partner der Asien-Pazifik-Wochen:

Die strategischen Partner der APW, das Asien-Pazifik-Forum (APFB), die Technologiestiftung Berlin (TSB) und das Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW) unterstützen die Senatskanzlei in der Planung und Durchführung der Asien-Pazifik-Wochen.

Asien-Pazifik-Forum Berlin (APFB)

Das APFB strukturiert die wirtschaftlichen Veranstaltungen und arbeitet unter Federführung der TSB an der Gestaltung des Wissenschaftsprogramms mit.

Im APFB haben sich zahlreiche Unternehmen und Einzelpersönlichkeiten in einem europäisch-asiatischen Netzwerk zusammengefunden. Es bündelt zukunftsweisende Potenziale aus Wirtschaft, Gesellschaft, Kultur und Wissenschaft und sichert den Dialog mit den Ländern der asiatisch-pazifischen Region in der deutschen Hauptstadt.


Haus der Kulturen der Welt

Das Haus der Kulturen der Welt konzipiert und koordiniert den Kulturteil der Asien-Pazifik-Wochen 2005 in Zusammenarbeit mit der Senatskanzlei und den internationalen und Berliner Partnern. Im Rahmen der Gesamtkonzeption werden Berliner Kultureinrichtungen sowie die in Berlin und Deutschland aktiven asiatischen Botschaften, Vereine und Interessensgruppen vom HKW eingeladen, sich mit eigenen Kulturprogrammen an den APW zu beteiligen. Das HKW trägt mit seinen internationalen Verbindungen zu einer weltweiten Vernetzung des Projektes bei.

zur Website APW 2005


Die Asien-Pazifik-Wochen werden unterstützt von der Stiftung deutsche Klassenlotterie Berlin (DKLB).