The Laboratory of Manuel Buerger, Simon Schindele

2022, Jan 28, Fri — 2022, Jan 29, Sat

transmediale 2022

This is Not Anarchy, This is Chaos

Fri & Sat, Jan 28 & 29, 2022, 1–7 pm
Symposium
Streamed live on transmediale.de

Fri, Jan 28, 8.30pm
Film night
HKW, Auditorium
More about the program and tickets

Sat, Jan 29, 8.30 pm
Closing keynote by Byung-Chul Han
HKW, Auditorium
More about the program and tickets

What possibilities can refusal open up? What limitations does it impose? The year-long transmediale 2021–2022 festival edition will conclude with an online symposium and an evening program at HKW.

Human existence is completely absorbed by activity and thus completely exploitable. In the closing lecture of transmediale, philosopher Byung-Chul Han explores idleness as a formula for liberation. In their films, Katerina Suvorova, Effi & Amir, Sasha Litvintseva & Beny Wagner tell of the civil rights movement in Kazakhstan, the identifying potential of language and the political dimension of measurement systems.

The online symposium This is Not Anarchy, This is Chaos, featuring artists, theorists and activists who resist the seduction and lure of technological promises and logic in their work, explores the frictions that arise between different practices of refusal. This festival edition of transmediale entitled for refusal has unfolded over the course of a year since January 2021. The symposium along with the exhibition abandon all hope ye who enter here at the Akademie der Künste are the closing program of transmediale 2021-2022.

The symposium will take place exclusively as a livestream and can be accessed without registration at transmediale.de

With AM Kanngieser, Antonia Hernández, Bassam El Baroni, Bassem Saad, Cindy Kaiying Lin, Che Applewhaite, Distributed Cognition Cooperative (Anna Engelhardt, Sasha Shestakova), Donal Lally, Magda Tyżlik-Carver, Mary Maggic, Maya Indira Ganesh, Max Haiven, Nishant Shah, Olúfẹ́mi O. Táíwò, Patricia Domínguez and Nicole L'Huillier, Paolo Gerbaudo, Phanuel Antwi, Robert Gerard Pietrusko, Samir Bhowmik, Sabine Gruffat, Tatjana Söding, Timothée Parrique, Xenia Chiaramonte, Zach Blas and others.

The Laboratory of Manuel Buerger, Simon Schindele

Fr., 28. Januar 2022 — Sa., 29. Januar 2022

transmediale 2022

This is Not Anarchy, This is Chaos

Symposium
Fr 28.& Sa 29.1.2022 13–19h

Filmnacht
Fr 28.1. 20.30h, HKW-Auditorium

Closing Keynote von Byung-Chul Han
Sa 29.1. 20.30h, HKW-Auditorium

Welche Möglichkeiten kann Verweigerung eröffnen und welche Einschränkungen bringt sie mit sich? Die transmediale 2021–2022 Einjahres-Festivalausgabe schließt mit einem Online-Symposium und einem Abendprogramm im HKW.

Die menschliche Existenz wird restlos von der Tätigkeit absorbiert und dadurch komplett ausbeutbar. Der Philosoph Byung-Chul Han lotet im Abschlussvortrag der transmediale Untätigkeit als Befreiungsformel aus. Katerina Suvorova, Effi & Amir, Sasha Litvintseva & Beny Wagner erzählen in ihren Filmen von der Bürgerrechtsbewegung in Kasachstan, dem identifikatorischen Potential von Sprache und der politischen Dimension von Messsystemen.

Das Online-Symposium This is Not Anarchy, This is Chaos mit Künstler*innen, Theoretiker*innen und Aktivist*innen, die sich in ihren Arbeiten der Verführung und den Verlockungen technologischer Versprechungen und Logik widersetzen, geht den Reibungen nach, die zwischen verschiedenen Praktiken der Verweigerung entstehen. Die Festivalausgabe der transmediale hat sich seit Januar 2021 unter dem Titel for refusal über ein Jahr hinweg entfaltet. Das Symposium bildet mit der Ausstellung abandon all hope ye who enter here in der Akademie der Künste das abschließende Programm der transmediale 2021–2022.

Das Symposium findet ausschließlich als Livestream statt und ist ohne Registrierung zugänglich auf transmediale.de

Mit AM Kanngieser, Antonia Hernández, Bassam El Baroni, Bassem Saad, Cindy Kaiying Lin, Che Applewhaite, Distributed Cognition Cooperative (Anna Engelhardt, Sasha Shestakova), Donal Lally, Magda Tyżlik-Carver, Mary Maggic, Maya Indira Ganesh, Max Haiven, Nishant Shah, Olúfẹ́mi O. Táíwò, Patricia Domínguez and Nicole L'Huillier, Paolo Gerbaudo, Phanuel Antwi, Robert Gerard Pietrusko, Samir Bhowmik, Sabine Gruffat, Tatjana Söding, Timothée Parrique, Xenia Chiaramonte, Zach Blas, Laura Cugusi u. a.