From Nov 2 the HKW program continues in digital form. The building is closed. More…

Open Call

The Whole Life Academy Berlin

The current situation of global social and political unrest is strongly connected to archival practices. In recording, storing and sharing lived experience, data and knowledge, the present is captured within a constellation of complex historical and contemporary social choreographies and sensual protocols. The Whole Life Academy Berlin rehearses collaborative forms of knowledge production in archives, taking up urgent questions on decolonizing archives and objects and unfolding marginalized narrations.

What strategies of commoning, collectivity and solidarity can archives offer in the face of health, economic, natural and political crises? How can local narratives, archival objects and biographies contained within archives be made legible today? How do current human and non-human relations shape the ways in which archives are built and function?

Embedded in an international long-term research process, the Academy in April 2021 continuously develops a nomadic curriculum offering a week-long local program with excursions, seminars and archival viewings. In 10 different workshops connecting theory, practice and on-site research, locations such as the Computerspielemuseum, the Harun Farocki Institute, the personal archive of Veronika Radulovic, the Lili-Elbe-Archiv, the Museum für Naturkunde Berlin and the archive of the Schwules Museum are taken as the premise from which participants will reformulate an understanding of contemporary and historical practices of collecting, gathering and distancing and test alternative forms of access to archival material using both analogue and digital tools.

With guest contributions by Alice Creischer and Andreas Siekmann, Doreen Mende, Adam Jasper, Anna-Sophie Springer, Florian Wüst and Vadim Zakharov, among others.

The Academy will be accompanied by a public evening program of lectures, talks, and screenings and will be followed by a congress at HKW from April 22–24, 2021.

The first edition of The Whole Life Academy took place in Dresden in May 2019.

Who can participate?

The call for participation is addressed to scholars and practitioners from a wide range of disciplines including the arts, humanities, social and natural sciences, design and architecture. The Academy promotes an interdisciplinary working environment and welcomes applications from masters and doctoral students, artists, writers, researchers, curators, journalists, activists, or from professionals working within institutions with collections, archives or other systems of knowledge.

Participation in The Whole Life Academy is free of charge and meals are covered throughout the week. Participants are expected to finance their own travel costs and accommodation. HKW can support participants in their possible applications for travel grants or funding.

Requirements and Submission

Applicants are expected to actively participate in one workshop for the duration of the week and to be committed to interdisciplinary collaboration and engaged discussion. The program will be conducted in English.

Please submit proposals clearly indicating three workshop choices in preferential order and attaching a short CV and a motivation letter. The motivation letter should be between 200 and 400 words in length and include information about your research interests and/or practices in relation to the Academy’s methods and the urgency of such archival research today.

Please send proposals as pdf files to

Deadline for submission: January 15, 2021

#1: Archive for the Eleventh Hour

With Ollie George, Ekaterina Golovko, Edi Danartono Winarni

How is a singular tale of history disarticulated? Imagined as a gathering of bodies, narratives and alternative (pre)positions, this workshop seeks to think through the “immaterial archive” and perform its im/possible conception. Participants will weave a collective tale of the “unarchivable” via the interrelations of the subject and object, guided by positions of decolonial thinking that situate themselves in the collections of objects and narratives outside the hegemonic form(s) of Western knowledge production.

#2: Archiving Club Cultures from Late Socialism through the Era of Social Distancing

With Megan Hoetger, Carlos Kong

Looking through the lens of DEFA’s little known Disco Films, the workshop takes up the turbulent case of Berlin as a model for thinking about how cities and their nightlife architectures are themselves archives of these layered histories. DEFA (Deutsche Film-Aktiengesellschaft) was the state-owned film studio of the German Democratic Republic. Guiding questions are: What does archival research mean in an embodied relation to history? How can the past imagined futures be archived that club cultures have brought into being? How can this be done even in the pandemic situation as the futures of the dance floor become harder to imagine? The workshop positions participants as archaeologists of the party, exploring how the contested lives and present remains of Berlin’s club cultures might be uncovered and archived.

#3: Desktop Shortcuts

With Geli Mademli, Jacob Moe, Marie Schamboeck

How is knowledge situated in a fluid metropolis with a complex history of division, segregation, and uprootedness? Conceptualizing the desktop as the interface of the real and the virtual and as an open space for renegotiating standardized perceptions of archiving, this workshop aims at developing a self-reflective “shortcut” to a methodology for exploring small and large schemes of knowledge production and their visual articulations.

#4: Archival Burnout in the Age of Vulnerability: [Disobedient] Commons and their Dilemmas, Speculations, Emotions

With Özge Çelikaslan, Naz Cuguoğlu

Humankind lives in the catastrophic moments of a historical rebellion: “The Earth is rebelling against the world, and the agents of planet Earth are floods, fires, and most of all critters” (Franco “Bifo” Berardi). How can the age of vulnerability be envisioned: as the end of human history or by embracing and caring for each other? In this workshop, participants will visit archive commons who exist as temporary autonomous zones to create spaces for studying together. They will discuss and think together about their materiality in the context of collectivity, connectivity, transversality but also in the sense of isolation and extinction.

#5: Life Stories and Archives

With Arnika Ahldag, Eva Bentcheva, Gulzat Egemberdieva, Assaf Gruber, Ann Harezlak

This workshop explores the multifaceted relationship between biography and archives. It looks beyond subjective collecting strategies and connoisseurship, and asks: how are biographies mirrored in archives? By situating “biography” on the spectrum between the state, institutions, and individual drives, it examines the archive-builder as activist, facilitator, gatekeeper and diplomat in transnational, postcolonial and non-Western archives.

#6: The Perverted Archival Image

With Ayman Nahle

Focusing on the archives of Studio Baalbeck – what could be thought of as a national film heritage of Lebanon – the workshop focuses on outlining and exploring the intermingled economies that shape and surround cultural production in general and the film industry in specific. How do the specific geopolitics of a region unfold through the labor of individuals and institutions? How can archival work – through research and reconstruction – draw out the intricacies of local and global economic, political, and personal structures?

#7: (Adjustment to) Non-Linear Timelines

With Marina Valle Noronha, Viktorija Šiaulytė

In this workshop, Spiralism, a literary movement that emerged in Haiti in the 1960s, will guide participants in a survival search for freedom and imagined realities within archives. By taking the spiral notion further, they will challenge the conventional “cartesian” straight line approach to objects (and their narratives) in institutions and propose cross-chronological perspectives to the acts of archiving, collecting, and curating through conceptual infographics, e.g. in form of illustrations, physical installation, text, audio, 3D, digital files.

#8: An Archive of Western Escape Fantasies

With Viola Hildebrand-Schat, Paul Wiersbinski

The workshop is invested in questioning how notions of a “pure” nature, immortality and space travel have always been a fantasy in Western science and art to escape and alter a flawed existence instead of accepting its limits. Participants will attempt to create their own archive on escape fantasies, both through theory and practice and several excursions to local Berlin artists and locations.

#9: Un-/Learning Archives in the Age of The Sixth Extinction

With Priyanka Basu, Imani Jacqueline Brown, Steve Rowell, Dubravka Sekulic

This workshop will deal with archives as related to overlapping sites of nature/culture, climate change, deep time and the built environment. Is the archive a viable repository of potential regenerative material for the future? Can it be an input in a positive feedback system of mutually assured destruction – an irrational fear response in the face of loss that condemns that which is not-yet-dead to the already-past?

#10: The Hedonistic Archive

With Daniela Duca, Ingrid Kraus, Ksenia Jakobson, Ting Tsou, Julian Volz, Marlena von Wedel

Throughout the workshop participants will delve into queer visual culture in post-Soviet Russia, addressing the synergies between queerness, cultural presentation and the visualization of self-archiving methods. They will also excavate potential educational strategies exercised by the New Academy, a group that was active in Leningrad in the 1980s and 90s. Can a hedonistic approach to archives be an alternative to a dully systematic and positivist approach, especially when it comes to practices which render the life-art opposition irrelevant?

Ab 2.11. läuft das HKW Programm digital weiter. Das Haus bleibt geschlossen. Mehr…

Open Call

The Whole Life Academy Berlin

Die gegenwärtige Situation globaler sozialer und politischer Anspannung ist eng mit Archivierungspraktiken verbunden. Durch das Aufzeichnen, Speichern und Weitergeben von Daten, Wissen und gelebter Erfahrung wird das Festhalten von Gegenwart Teil einer komplexen Konstellation historischer, sozialer und sinnlicher Choreografien und Protokolle. Die Whole Life Academy Berlin erprobt kollaborative Formen der Wissensproduktion in Archiven. Dabei greift sie aktuelle Fragen der Dekolonisierung von Archiven und Objekten auf und legt marginalisierte Narrative offen.

Welche Commons-, Kollektiv- und Solidarität-orientierten Strategien können Archive angesichts von Gesundheits-, Wirtschafts-, Umwelt- und politischen Krisen anbieten? Wie können spezifische Erzählungen, Archivobjekte und Biografien in lokalen Archiven heute lesbar gemacht werden? Wie prägen die gegenwärtigen Formen menschlicher und nicht-menschlicher Zusammenhänge die Art und Weise, wie Archive gebaut sind und wie sie funktionieren?

Eingebettet in einen langjährigen Forschungsprozess entwickelt die internationale Whole Life Academy Berlin im April ein nomadisches Curriculum mit einem einwöchigen Programm aus Exkursionen, Seminaren und Archivsichtungen. Zehn Workshops verbinden Theorie, Praxis und ortsspezifische Forschung. Archivorte wie das Computerspielemuseum, das Harun-Farocki-Institut, das persönliche Archiv von Veronika Radulovic, das Lili-Elbe-Archiv, das Museum für Naturkunde Berlin und das Archiv des Schwulen Museums dienen als Grundlage. Von hier aus formulieren die Teilnehmer*innen ein Verständnis von zeitgenössischen und historischen Praktiken des Sammelns, Verknüpfens und Kategorisierens neu und erproben alternative Formen des Zugangs zu Archivmaterial mit analogen und digitalen Werkzeugen.

Mit Gastbeiträgen von Alice Creischer und Andreas Siekmann, Doreen Mende, Adam Jasper, Anna-Sophie Springer, Florian Wüst, Vadim Zakharov u. a.

Die Whole Life Academy Berlin wird von einem öffentlichen Abendprogramm mit Vorträgen, Gesprächen und Filmvorführungen begleitet. Vom 22. bis 24. April 2021 schließt sich der Archiv-Kongress im HKW an.

Die erste Ausgabe der Whole Life Academy fand im Mai 2019 in Dresden statt.

Wer kann teilnehmen?

Der Open Call richtet sich an Wissenschaftler*innen und Praktiker*innen aus Kunst, Geisteswissenschaften, Sozial- und Naturwissenschaften, Design und Architektur. Die Akademie fördert ein interdisziplinäres Arbeitsumfeld und begrüßt Bewerbungen von Master-Studierenden und Doktorand*innen, Künstler*innen, Schriftsteller*innen, Forscher*innen, Kurator*innen, Journalist*innen, Aktivist*innen und von Fachleuten, die in Institutionen mit Sammlungen, Archiven oder anderen Wissenssystemen arbeiten.

Die Teilnahme an der Whole Life Academy ist kostenlos. Für die Verpflegung ist während der gesamten Woche gesorgt. Reisekosten und Unterkunft können nicht übernommen werden. Das HKW kann die Teilnehmer*innen bei der Beantragung von Reisestipendien oder Fördermitteln unterstützen.

Anforderungen und Einreichung

Bewerber*innen sollten für die Dauer des Programms aktiv an einem Workshop teilnehmen und große Bereitschaft für interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit und engagierte Diskussionen mitbringen.

Das Programm findet auf Englisch statt.

Bitte geben Sie in Ihrer Bewerbung drei Workshop-Optionen in der bevorzugten Reihenfolge an, fügen Sie einen kurzen Lebenslauf und ein Motivationsschreiben bei. Das Motivationsschreiben sollte zwischen 200 und 400 Wörter lang sein und Informationen über Ihre Forschungsinteressen und/oder -praktiken in Bezug auf die Methoden der Akademie und die Notwendigkeit dieser Art von Archivforschung heute enthalten.

Bitte senden Sie die Bewerbung als pdf-Datei an

Bewerbungsfrist: 15. Januar 2021

#1: Archiv für die elfte Stunde

Mit Ollie George, Ekaterina Golovko, Edi Danartono Winarni

Wie wird eine singuläre Geschichtserzählung demontiert? Dieser Workshop, der als eine Versammlung von Körpern, Erzählungen und alternativen (Vor-)Annahmen gedacht ist, versucht, das „immaterielle Archiv“ zu durchdenken und seine (un)mögliche Konzeption vorzuführen. Die Teilnehmer*innen weben eine kollektive Erzählung des „Unarchivierbaren“ über die Wechselbeziehungen von Subjekt und Objekt. Geleitet werden sie von Positionen des dekolonialen Denkens, die sich in den Sammlungen von Objekten und Erzählungen außerhalb der hegemonialen Form(en) der westlichen Wissensproduktion verorten.

#2: Archivierung von Clubkulturen vom Spätsozialismus bis zur Ära des Social Distancing

Mit Megan Hoetger, Carlos Kong

Mit dem Blick auf die wenig bekannten Disko-Filme der DEFA greift der Workshop das turbulente Beispiel Berlins auf, um über Städte und die Architektur ihres Nachtlebens als Archive sich überlagernder Geschichten nachzudenken. Die DEFA (Deutsche Film-Aktiengesellschaft) war das staatliche Filmstudio der DDR. Leitende Fragen sind: Was bedeutet Archivforschung im Kontext einer körperlichen Beziehung zur Geschichte? Auf welche Weise können vergangene Zukunftsvisionen, die aus der Clubkultur heraus entstanden, archiviert werden? Wie kann dies auch in der Pandemie-Situation geschehen, in der die Zukunft der Tanzfläche immer schwerer vorstellbar scheint? Im Workshop agieren die Teilnehmer*innen als Archäolog*innen der Party und erforschen, wie die umstrittenen Lebensentwürfe und gegenwärtigen Überreste der Berliner Clubkulturen aufgedeckt und archiviert werden können.

#3: Desktop Shortcuts

Mit Geli Mademli, Jacob Moe, Marie Schamboeck

Wie ist Wissen in einer pulsierenden Metropole mit einer komplexen Geschichte von Teilung, Segregation und Entwurzelung verortet? Mit der Idee des Desktops als Schnittstelle zwischen dem Realen und dem Virtuellen und als offenem Raum, in dem standardisierte Wahrnehmungen von Archivierungsprozessen neu verhandelt werden, zielt dieser Workshop darauf ab, einen selbstreflexiven „Shortcut“ zu einer Methodik der Erforschung von kleinen und großen Formen der Wissensproduktion und ihrer visuellen Artikulationen zu entwickeln.

#4: Archivarischer Burnout im Zeitalter der Verwundbarkeit: [Ungehorsame] Commons und ihre Dilemmata, Spekulationen, Emotionen

Mit Özge Çelikaslan, Naz Cuguoğlu

Die Menschheit lebt in den katastrophalen Momenten einer historischen Rebellion: „The Earth is rebelling against the world, and the agents of planet Earth are floods, fires, and most of all critters“ (Franco „Bifo“ Berardi). Wie lässt sich dieses Zeitalter der Verwundbarkeit betrachten: als das Ende der Menschheitsgeschichte oder durch den Zusammenhalt und die Sorge füreinander? In diesem Workshop besuchen die Teilnehmer*innen Archiv-Commons, die als temporäre autonome Zonen existieren, um Räume für die gemeinsame Forschung zu schaffen. Sie werden gemeinsam über ihre Materialität im Kontext von Kollektivität, Konnektivität und Transversalität aber ebenso im Sinne von Isolation und Auslöschung diskutieren und nachdenken.

#5: Lebensgeschichten und Archive

Mit Arnika Ahldag, Eva Bentcheva, Gulzat Egemberdieva, Assaf Gruber, Ann Harezlak

Dieser Workshop untersucht die vielschichtige Beziehung zwischen Biografie und Archiven. Er blickt über subjektive Sammelstrategien und Kunstkenntnis hinaus und fragt: Wie spiegeln sich Biografien in Archiven wider? Die „Biografie“ ist hier im Spektrum zwischen Nationalstaat, Institutionen und individuellen Beweggründen situiert. Der Workshop untersucht so Menschen, die Archive aufbauen als Aktivist*innen, Vermittler*innen, Gatekeeper*innen und Diplomat*innen in transnationalen, postkolonialen und nicht-westlichen Archiven.

#6: Das pervertierte Archivbild

Mit Ayman Nahle

Ausgehend von den Archiven von Studio Baalbeck – welches man als nationales Filmerbe des Libanon bezeichnen könnte – geht es im Workshop um die verknüpften Ökonomien, die kulturelle Produktion im Allgemeinen und die Filmindustrie im Besonderen prägen und umgeben. Wie entfaltet sich die Geopolitik einer Region durch die Arbeit von Einzelpersonen und Institutionen? Wie kann Archivarbeit durch Forschung und Wiederaufbau die Feinheiten lokaler und globaler wirtschaftlicher, politischer und persönlicher Strukturen herausarbeiten?

#7: (Anpassung an) nicht-lineare Zeitachsen

Mit Marina Valle Noronha, Viktorija Šiaulytė

In diesem Workshop leitet der Spiralismus, eine literarische Bewegung, die in den 1960er Jahren in Haiti entstand, die Teilnehmer*innen an bei einer Suche nach Überresten von Freiheit und imaginierten Realitäten in Archiven. Indem sie den Spiralismus-Begriff weiterführen, stellen sie den konventionellen „cartesianisch“ linearen Zugang zu Objekten (und ihren Erzählungen) in Institutionen in Frage. Stattdessen entwickeln sie nicht-chronologische Perspektiven auf das Archivieren, Sammeln und Kuratieren in Form von konzeptuellen Infografiken, z. B. Illustration, Installation, Text, Audio, 3D oder digitale Formate.

#8: Ein Archiv westlicher Fluchtfantasien

Mit Viola Hildebrand-Schat, Paul Wiersbinski

Der Workshop befasst sich mit der Frage, wie Ideen von „reiner“ Natur, Unsterblichkeit und Raumfahrt in der westlichen Wissenschaft und Kunst immer auch eine Wunschvorstellung waren, um einer defizitären Existenz zu entkommen und sie zu verändern, statt ihre Grenzen zu akzeptieren. Die Teilnehmer*innen versuchen, ein eigenes Archiv über Fluchtfantasien zu schaffen – sowohl durch Theorie und Praxis, als auch durch mehrere Exkursionen zu Berliner Künstler*innen und Orten.

#9: Archive (Ver-)Lernen im Zeitalter des sechsten Aussterbens

Mit Priyanka Basu, Imani Jacqueline Brown, Steve Rowell, Dubravka Sekulic

Dieser Workshop befasst sich mit Archiven im Zusammenhang mit den sich überschneidenden Schauplätzen von Natur/Kultur, Klimawandel, Deep Time und gebauter Umwelt. Ist das Archiv zukünftig ein brauchbarer Verwahrungsort für potenziell erneuerbares Material? Kann es ein Beitrag zu einem Rückkopplungssystem der gegenseitig zugesicherten Zerstörung sein – eine irrationale Angstreaktion angesichts eines Verlusts, der das Noch-Nicht-Tote zum Bereits-Vergangenen verurteilt?

#10: Das hedonistische Archiv

Mit Daniela Duca, Ingrid Kraus, Ksenia Jakobson, Ting Tsou, Julian Volz, Marlena von Wedel

Während des gesamten Workshops werden sich die Teilnehmer*innen mit der queeren visuellen Kultur im postsowjetischen Russland befassen und die Synergien zwischen Queerness, kultureller Präsentation und der Visualisierung von Methoden der Selbstarchivierung thematisieren. Gemeinsam werden sie auch mögliche Bildungsstrategien der sogenannten Neuen Akademie, eine Gruppe, die in den 1980ern und 90ern in Leningrad aktiv war, beleuchten. Kann Hedonismus eine Alternative zu einem stumpfsinnig-systematischen und positivistischen Umgang mit Archiven sein, insbesondere wenn es um Praktiken geht, die den Gegensatz zwischen Leben und Kunst irrelevant machen?