The Sound of Distance

New conceptions of music, space and architecture
2021, Oct 21, Thu — 2021, Oct 24, Sun

Photo: Simon Keckeisen

Photo: Simon Keckeisen

 

Collage: Sam Auinger

Collage: Sam Auinger

If HKW were one big instrument, what would it sound like? The four-day festival The Sound of Distance takes this question seriously and seeks answers in the expanded resonance chamber of concerts, performances, talks and sonic activations, indoors and outdoors, in a radius that includes the carillon in the neighboring bell tower and the echo of the surrounding government buildings.

Sound significantly determines the spatial perception of things and events. Sound waves are constantly in motion. The Sound of Distance makes it possible to experience them over different distances. Artists present works – some conceived especially for the festival – between guitar drones and cello sounds, sound installations and works by avant-garde composers like Annea Lockwood and Alvin Lucier. Much can be experienced by audience members in individual rhythms, with their own accents and intensities – whether the sounds reach all the way to the Bundestag or arise as otoacoustic emissions directly in the inner ear. Thus, along with acoustic perceptions, The Sound of Distance also sharpens the sense of personal location. Creating new configurations of human and object, visible and invisible, proximity and distance.

With Alvin Lucier, Andrea Belfi, Annea Lockwood, Anthea Caddy, crys cole, David Grubbs, Diana Deutsch, Dirk Rothbrust, Dodo NKishi & Tunde Alibaba, Dynamische Akustische Forschung, Hani Mojtahedy & Andi Toma, Helga de la Motte-Haber, Jan St. Werner, Judith Hamann, Louis Chude-Sokei, Marcin Pietruszewski, Maurice de Martin, Oren Ambarchi, Patricia Reed & J.-P. Caron, Sam Auinger & Katrinem, Sam Dunscombe, Stephen O’Malley, Wibke Deertz, Zwerm

Curated by Jan St. Werner and HKW

Concerts, sound installations, talks

Oct 21–24, 2021

The Sound of Distance

Neue Ideen für Musik, Raum und Architektur
Do., 21. Oktober 2021 — So., 24. Oktober 2021

Foto: Simon Keckeisen

Foto: Simon Keckeisen

 

Collage: Sam Auinger

Collage: Sam Auinger

Wäre das HKW ein einziges großes Instrument – wie würde es klingen? Das viertägige Festival The Sound of Distance nimmt diese Frage ernst und sucht Antworten im erweiterten Resonanzraum: bei Konzerten, Performances, Talks und sonischen Aktivierungen. Drinnen und draußen. In einem Radius, der das Carillon im benachbarten Glockenturm ebenso einschließt wie den Widerhall der umliegenden Regierungsgebäude.

Klang bestimmt maßgeblich die räumliche Wahrnehmung von Dingen und Ereignissen. Schallwellen sind ständig in Bewegung. The Sound of Distance macht sie über unterschiedliche Entfernungen erfahrbar. Zwischen Gitarren-Drones und Celloklängen, Sound-Installationen und Werken von Avantgarde-Komponist*innen wie Annea Lockwood und Alvin Lucier präsentieren Künstler*innen Arbeiten, die teilweise speziell für das Festival konzipiert werden. Einen Großteil davon kann das Publikum im individuellen Rhythmus erfahren, mit eigenen Akzenten und Intensitäten – ob die Sounds nun bis zum Bundestag reichen oder als otoakustische Emissionen direkt im Innenohr entstehen. So schärft The Sound of Distance mit der akustischen Wahrnehmung auch den Sinn für die eigene Standortbestimmung. Für neue Konfigurationen von Mensch und Objekt, Sichtbarem und Unsichtbarem, Nähe und Distanz.

Mit Alvin Lucier, Andrea Belfi, Annea Lockwood, Anthea Caddy, crys cole, David Grubbs, Diana Deutsch, Dirk Rothbrust, Dodo NKishi & Tunde Alibaba, Dynamische Akustische Forschung, Hani Mojtahedy & Andi Toma, Helga de la Motte-Haber, Jan St. Werner, Judith Hamann, Louis Chude-Sokei, Marcin Pietruszewski, Maurice de Martin, Oren Ambarchi, Patricia Reed & J.-P. Caron, Sam Auinger & Katrinem, Sam Dunscombe, Stephen O’Malley, Wibke Deertz, Zwerm

Kuratiert von Jan St. Werner und HKW

Konzerte, Klanginstallationen, Talks

21.–24.10.2021