Illiberal Arts, Installation view, © Studio Bowie / HKW
Illiberal Arts, Installation view, © Studio Bowie / HKW
Illiberal Arts, Installation view, © Studio Bowie / HKW
Illiberal Arts, Installation view, © Silke Briel / HKW
Illiberal Arts, Installation view, © Studio Bowie / HKW
Steve Reinke, The Natural Look, 2014, video still, Courtesy of the artist and Galerie Isabella Bortolozzi
Constantina Zavitsanos, Tests for Visa Dove Pan, 2021, Courtesy of the artist
Anja Kirschner, PATTERN#02, 2020-2021, Courtesy the artist
Jordan Strafer, PEP (Process Entanglement Procedure) Video still, 2019, Courtesy of the artist

2021

Illiberal Arts

Exhibition, performances, workshops, publication, podcasts

Exhibition
Sep 11–Nov 21, 2021

A podcast series with Anselm Franke and Kerstin Stakemeier will explore the themes of the exhibition.

In the collapse of the liberal capitalist world order, its illiberal core is exposed – the unfreedom of the dispossessed and the willingness of the propertied to use violence. Art, too, is the venue for these forces. A project on artistic life’s work: Perhaps what became art doesn’t necessarily have to remain art?

The liberal capitalist world order that prevailed after 1989 is today in a stage of advanced disintegration. The collapse of this order exposes the illiberal core of its freedoms and forms of ownership shaped by the market: the violent unfreedoms of the dispossessed as well as the willingness of the propertied to use violence. Art, too, reveals itself as the venue of these forces and their exclusions: Through the downfall of liberality, the modern institution of “veranstaltlichte Kunst” (“institutionalized art”, Arnold Hauser) and its social legitimacy are also increasingly called into question.

The exhibition and publication project Illiberal Arts is a search for forms concerning an artistic “Lebensarbeit” (“life’s work”, Lu Märten, publicist and art critic, 1879–1970) initiated with international artists, poets and authors. In the cracks of the decaying forms of market accumulation, anti-identitarian, communal horizons burst open, as do collective forms of perception and political spontaneities. The project subjects these to a practical test. For Lu Märten, “a person’s whole life’s work” was considered artistic; what was artistic didn’t always have to become art. Perhaps what became art doesn’t necessarily have to remain art either.

With contributions by Cassandra Press, Raven Chacon, Cut away, with effects (2021), Bill Dietz, Stephan Dillemuth, Övül Ö. Durmuşoğlu, Thomas Eggerer, Frank Engster, Ciarán Finlayson, keyon gaskin, Melanie Gilligan, Larne Abse Gogarty, Nicholas Grafia, Tamar Guimarães, Natascha Sadr Haghighian, Danny Hayward, Johanna Hedva, Ho Rui An, Anne Imhof, Pauline Curnier Jardin with the Feel Good Cooperative (Dana, Giuliana, Alexandra Lopez, Serena Olcuire, Gilda Star, Barby Valentina), Lisa Jeschke, Karrabing Film Collective, Aristilde Paz Justine Kirby, Anja Kirschner, Dani Leder, Jota Mombaça, Rosalind C. Morris, MYSTI, Jenny Nachtigall, Henrike Naumann, Fumi Okiji, Orakel, Ana Teixeira Pinto, Steve Reinke, Mikołaj Sobczak, Juliana Spahr, Jordan Strafer, Sunset Open Call (Kasi Althaus, Elena Peters Arnolds, Kathy Seitzinger Hepburn, Laura L. LePere, Aude Lèvere, Andrea Victoria Paradiso, Denise Pinnell, Christin Rothe, Suzie Sullivan, Amy Sutryn, Rosana VanHorn), Marina Vishmidt, Simone White, Philip Wiegard, Kandis Williams, Constantina Zavitsanos

Curated by Anselm Franke and Kerstin Stakemeier

Part of The New Alphabet

Illiberal Arts, Ausstellungsansicht, © Studio Bowie / HKW
Illiberal Arts, Ausstellungsansicht, © Studio Bowie / HKW
Illiberal Arts, Ausstellungsansicht, © Studio Bowie / HKW
Illiberal Arts, Ausstellungsansicht, © Silke Briel / HKW
Illiberal Arts, Ausstellungsansicht, © Studio Bowie / HKW
Steve Reinke, The Natural Look, 2014, video still, Courtesy of the artist and Galerie Isabella Bortolozzi
Constantina Zavitsanos, Tests for Visa Dove Pan, 2021, Courtesy die Künstlerin
Anja Kirschner, PATTERN#02, 2020-2021, Courtesy the artist
Jordan Strafer, PEP (Process Entanglement Procedure) Video-Still, 2019, Courtesy die Künstlerin

2021

Illiberal Arts

Ausstellung, Performances, Workshops, Publikation, Podcasts

Ausstellung
11.09.–21.11.2021

In Kürze erkundet eine Podcast-Serie mit Anselm Franke und Kerstin Stakemeier die Themen der Ausstellung.

Im Zerbrechen der liberal-kapitalistischen Weltordnung zeigt sich ihr illiberaler Kern – die Unfreiheit der Enteigneten und die Gewaltbereitschaft der Besitzenden. Auch die Kunst ist Austragungsort dieser Gewalten. Ein Projekt zur künstlerischen Lebensarbeit: Vielleicht muss, was Kunst wurde, nicht notwendig Kunst bleiben?

Die liberal-kapitalistische Weltordnung, die nach 1989 durchgesetzt schien, befindet sich heute im Stadium fortgeschrittener Desintegration. Das Zerbrechen dieser Ordnung legt den illiberalen Kern ihrer durch den Markt geformten Freiheiten und Eigentumsformen offen: die gewaltsamen Unfreiheiten der Enteigneten ebenso wie die Gewaltbereitschaft der Besitzenden. Auch die Kunst zeigt sich als Austragungsort dieser Gewalten und ihrer Ausschlüsse: Durch den Ruin der Liberalität stehen auch die moderne Institution der „veranstaltlichten Kunst“ (Arnold Hauser) und ihre gesellschaftliche Legitimität mehr und mehr in Frage.

Das Ausstellungs- und Publikationsprojekt Illiberal Arts ist eine mit internationalen Künstler*innen, Dichter*innen und Autor*innen initiierte Formsuche zur künstlerischen Lebensarbeit (nach Lu Märten, Publizistin und Kunstkritikerin, 1879–1970). In den Rissen der zerfallenden Akkumulationsformen des Marktes brechen anti-identitäre, gemeinschaftliche Horizonte auf, kollektive Wahrnehmungsformen und politische Spontaneitäten. Diese unterzieht das Projekt einem Praxistest. Für Lu Märten galt „die ganze Lebensarbeit eines Menschen“ als künstlerisch: Was künstlerisch war, musste nicht immer schon Kunst werden. Vielleicht muss, was Kunst wurde, auch nicht notwendig Kunst bleiben.

Mit Beiträgen von Cassandra Press, Raven Chacon, Cut away, with effects (2021), Bill Dietz, Stephan Dillemuth, Övül Ö. Durmuşoğlu, Thomas Eggerer, Frank Engster, Ciarán Finlayson, keyon gaskin, Melanie Gilligan, Larne Abse Gogarty, Nicholas Grafia, Tamar Guimarães, Natascha Sadr Haghighian, Danny Hayward, Johanna Hedva, Ho Rui An, Anne Imhof, Pauline Curnier Jardin with the Feel Good Cooperative (Dana, Giuliana, Alexandra Lopez, Serena Olcuire, Gilda Star, Barby Valentina), Lisa Jeschke, Karrabing Film Collective, Aristilde Paz Justine Kirby, Anja Kirschner, Dani Leder, Jota Mombaça, Rosalind C. Morris, MYSTI, Jenny Nachtigall, Henrike Naumann, Fumi Okiji, Orakel, Ana Teixeira Pinto, Steve Reinke, Mikołaj Sobczak, Juliana Spahr, Jordan Strafer, Sunset Open Call (Kasi Althaus, Elena Peters Arnolds, Kathy Seitzinger Hepburn, Laura L. LePere, Aude Lèvere, Andrea Victoria Paradiso, Denise Pinnell, Christin Rothe, Suzie Sullivan, Amy Sutryn, Rosana VanHorn), Marina Vishmidt, Simone White, Philip Wiegard, Kandis Williams, Constantina Zavitsanos

Kuratiert von Anselm Franke und Kerstin Stakemeier

Im Rahmen von Das Neue Alphabet