Glückliche Fälle

Yevgenia Belorusets | Claudia Dathe

Video: Caro & Kaspar | Music: „For the Penguins“ by David Allred, published by Erased Tapes Music, courtesy of Erased Tapes Records Ltd, erasedtapes.com

 
Glückliche Fälle | Photo: Kaspar Lerch

Glückliche Fälle | Photo: Kaspar Lerch

Jury’s comment

“What cannot be measured?
- my smile
- your caring
- our mutual misunderstanding”

These portraits of mostly women between Kiev and Donbass are impressive and stubborn, full of headstrong observations and wowful statements. They are based on encounters and conversations from several research trips, but are literarily shaped, hyper-realistic, not documentary and contrasted with photos. The concise density shows what the latency of the occupation and uprising does to the lives of florists, sisters and beauty salon customers – those forgotten by history. According to the preface, the title of Yevgenia Belorusets’s book was originally THE HISTORY OF TAXES. Fragments of the Work ‘The Early History of Humankind.’ We have nothing less before us than this fantastic endeavor and its consequential failure, outstandingly translated by Claudia Dathe.
— Daniela Seel, jury

Yevgenia Belorusets | © Olga Tsybulska

Yevgenia Belorusets | © Olga Tsybulska

Author: Yevgenia Belorusets

Yevgenia Belorusets is a photographer, artist and writer. She lives in Kiev and Berlin, working at the intersection of art, media and society. Belorusets is involved in a number of cultural and political initiatives.

Claudia Dathe | © Björn Hänssler

Claudia Dathe | © Björn Hänssler

Translator: Claudia Dathe

Claudia Dathe studied translation and business administration in Leipzig, Pyatigorsk (Russia) and Kraków. After working abroad for many years in Kazakhstan and Ukraine, she worked at the Slavic Seminar at the University of Tübingen from 2009 to 2016. Since March 2016 she is head of the cultural advisory center of the Bürgerstiftung Jena. She regularly conducts European cultural and civil society projects, manages translation workshops and translates literature from Russian and Ukrainian by, among others, Andrey Kurkov, Serhiy Zhadan, Ostap Slyvynsky and Yevgenia Belorusets.

Glückliche Fälle

Yevgenia Belorusets | Claudia Dathe

Video: Caro & Kaspar | Musik: „For the Penguins“ by David Allred, published by Erased Tapes Music, courtesy of Erased Tapes Records Ltd, erasedtapes.com

 
Glückliche Fälle | Foto: Kaspar Lerch

Glückliche Fälle | Foto: Kaspar Lerch

Jurykommentar

„Was ist nicht zu messen?
– mein Lächeln
– deine Fürsorglichkeit
– unser gegenseitiges Missverstehen“

Eindrücklich und widerborstig sind diese Porträts von zumeist Frauen zwischen Kiew und dem Donbass, voll eigensinniger Beobachtungen und wowsiger Sätze. Sie beruhen auf Begegnungen und Gesprächen während mehrerer Recherchereisen, sind jedoch literarisch gestaltet, hyperrealistisch, nicht dokumentarisch, und durch Fotos kontrastiert. In prägnanter Verdichtung zeigt sich, was die Latenz von Besatzung und Aufstand mit dem Leben von Floristinnen, Schwestern, Kundinnen im Kosmetikstudio macht ‒ den von der Geschichte Vergessenen. DIE GESCHICHTE DER STEUERN. Fragmente der Arbeit ‚Die frühe Geschichte der Menschheit‘ sollte Yevgenia Belorusets‘ Buch laut Vorwort ursprünglich heißen. Nicht weniger als dieses fantastische Unterfangen und sein naturgemäßes Scheitern haben wir vor uns, von Claudia Dathe exzellent übersetzt.
— Daniela Seel, Jury

Yevgenia Belorusets | © Olga Tsybulska

Yevgenia Belorusets | © Olga Tsybulska

Autorin: Yevgenia Belorusets

Yevgenia Belorusets ist Fotografin, Künstlerin und Schriftstellerin. Sie lebt abwechselnd in Kiew und Berlin und arbeitet an den Schnittstellen von Kunst, Medien und Gesellschaft. Belorusets engagiert sich in einer Reihe kultureller und politischer Initiativen.

Claudia Dathe | © Björn Hänssler

Claudia Dathe | © Björn Hänssler

Übersetzerin: Claudia Dathe

Claudia Dathe studierte Übersetzungswissenschaft und Betriebswirtschaftslehre in Leipzig, Pjatigorsk (Russland) und Krakau. Nach längeren Auslandstätigkeiten in Kasachstan und der Ukraine arbeitete sie von 2009 bis 2016 am Slavischen Seminar der Universität Tübingen. Seit März 2016 leitet sie die Kulturberatungsstelle der Bürgerstiftung Jena. Regelmäßig führt sie europäische Kultur- und Zivilgesellschaftsprojekte durch, leitet Übersetzungswerkstätten und übersetzt Literatur aus dem Russischen und Ukrainischen, u. a. von Andrej Kurkow, Serhij Zhadan, Ostap Slyvynskyj und Yevgenia Belorusets.