Das Weinen der Vögel

Chigozie Obioma | Nicolai von Schweder-Schreiner

Video: Caro & Kaspar | Music: ‘Playground' by Douglas Dare | Published by Erased Tapes Music | Courtesy of Erased Tapes Records Ltd. | erasedtapes.com

 
Das Weinen der Vögel | Photo: Kaspar Lerch

Das Weinen der Vögel | Photo: Kaspar Lerch

Jury’s comment

Chigozie Obioma belongs to a generation of young Nigerian authors who are in the process not only of shaping the African novel of the twenty-first century, but also of breaking new ground in world literature. Das Weinen der Vögel (An Orchestra of Minorities) is a philosophical novel of rare ambition and breadth that questions the freedom of human will with relentless precision. We read of the fate of Chinonso, a poultry farmer who decides to sell his farm and pursue an academic degree in Northern Cyprus in order to have a better material future. It seems to him that without this ascent he can never marry the woman he loves, who was born in a higher social class. From here, Obioma unfolds his epic of the insulted and the humiliated. This story is passionately told by a 700-year-old guardian spirit. The spirit has accompanied several human lives and embodies the dualistic principle of the Igbo religion. The novel, which artfully blends the original proverbs and dictions of local traditions with English, was masterfully translated into German by Nicolai von Schweder-Schreiner.
— Daniel Medin, jury

Chigozie Obioma | © Jason Keith

Chigozie Obioma | © Jason Keith

Author: Chigozie Obioma

Chigozie Obioma lives in the United States and teaches creative writing at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. His first novel Der dunkle Fluss (The Fishermen) received many international awards and was nominated for the Man Booker Prize in 2015. Obioma appeared on Foreign Policy Magazine’s 100 Leading Global Thinkers list. His second novel, Das Weinen der Vögel (An Orchestra of Minorities), was also on the shortlist for the Booker Prize.

Nicolai von Schweder-Schreiner | © Christiane Bergmann

Nicolai von Schweder-Schreiner | © Christiane Bergmann

Translator: Nicolai von Schweder-Schreiner

Nicolai von Schweder-Schreiner has been translating from Portuguese and English since 1995, including works by Jennifer Clement, Douglas Coupland and José Saramago. In 1998 he was nominated for the German Youth Literature Prize. In 2009 he received the Hamburg Promotional Award for Literary Translations. Since 1999 he has published as a musician, composer and lyricist, also music for theater. He lives in Hamburg.

Das Weinen der Vögel

Chigozie Obioma | Nicolai von Schweder-Schreiner

Video: Caro & Kaspar | Musik: ‘Playground' von Douglas Dare | Published by Erased Tapes Music | Courtesy of Erased Tapes Records Ltd. | erasedtapes.com

 
Das Weinen der Vögel | Foto: Kaspar Lerch

Das Weinen der Vögel | Foto: Kaspar Lerch

Jurykommentar

Chigozie Obioma gehört einer Generation junger nigerianischer Autor*innen an, die im Begriff sind, nicht bloß den afrikanischen Roman des 21. Jahrhunderts zu prägen, sondern überhaupt der Weltliteratur neue Wege zu weisen. Das Weinen der Vögel ist ein philosophischer Roman von seltener Ambition und Breite, der mit unerbittlicher Präzision die Freiheit des menschlichen Willens hinterfragt. Wir begegnen dem Schicksal des Geflügelfarmers Chinonso: dieser beschließt, seinen Bauernhof zu verkaufen und in Nordzypern einen akademischen Abschluss zu erlangen, um sich eine bessere materielle Zukunft zu ermöglichen. Es scheint ihm, als könne er ohne diesen Aufstieg niemals seine Geliebte heiraten, die einer höheren Gesellschaftsschicht entspringt. Von hier aus entfaltet Obioma sein Epos über Erniedrigte und Beleidigte. Erzählt wird diese Geschichte auf leidenschaftliche Weise von einem 700-jährigen Schutzgeist. Dieser hat bereits mehrere Menschenleben begleitet und verkörpert das dualistische Prinzip aus der Religion der Igbo. Nicolai von Schweder-Schreiner hat diesen Roman, dessen Original Sprichwörter und Diktionen aus lokalen Traditionen kunstvoll mit dem Englischen vermischt, in meisterhafter Weise ins Deutsche übertragen.
— Daniel Medin, Jury

Chigozie Obioma | © Jason Keith

Chigozie Obioma | © Jason Keith

Autor: Chigozie Obioma

Chigozie Obioma lebt in den USA und unterrichtet Creative Writing an der University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Sein erster Roman Der dunkle Fluss wurde international ausgezeichnet und war 2015 u.a. für den Man Booker Prize nominiert. Obioma erschien auf der Liste der „100 Leading Global Thinkers“ des Foreign Policy Magazine. Das Weinen der Vögel ist sein zweiter Roman, auch er stand auf der Shortlist für den Booker Prize.

Nicolai von Schweder-Schreiner | © Christiane Bergmann

Nicolai von Schweder-Schreiner | © Christiane Bergmann

Übersetzer: Nicolai von Schweder-Schreiner

Nicolai von Schweder-Schreiner übersetzt seit 1995 aus dem Portugiesischen und Englischen, u.a. Jennifer Clement, Douglas Coupland und José Saramago. 1998 war er für den Deutschen Jugendliteraturpreis nominiert. 2009 erhielt er den Hamburger Förderpreis für Literarische Übersetzungen. Seit 1999 Veröffentlichungen als Musiker, Komponist und Texter, außerdem Musik für Theater. Er lebt in Hamburg.