From Nov 2 the HKW program continues in digital form. The building is closed. More…

Curatorial Statement

On the History of this Exhibition

After Ernst Gombrich failed to get the Bilderatlas Mnemosyne into a publishable form in the 1930s, a number of lists identifying individual images remained in the Warburg Institute Archive. Dorothée Bauerle was able to draw on these sources when she conducted the first comprehensive investigation of the Bilderatlas in the late 1970s. In the late 1980s, she left her research notes to the Transmediale Gesellschaft Daedalus. The Viennese group (Werner Rappl e.a.) began its research in around 1990 and published the entire Bilderatlas with a near complete set of captions in 1994. Another decisive advance in knowledge about the origins of the Bilderatlas during this period was Peter van Huisstede’s PhD thesis, De Mnemosyne beeld-atlas van Aby M. Warburg: een laboratorium voor beeldgeschiedenis (1992). The Daedalus captions appeared in expanded form in the Bilderatlas that Martin Warnke published in 2000 in the context of Warburg’s Gesammelte Schriften, but they still contained various errors and omissions. These were only sporadically corrected in the translations—into French, Italian, Spanish, Hebrew, Japanese, and Polish.

In May 2012, the Forschungsgruppe Mnemosyne in Hamburg launched an extensive series of events and exhibitions on the Bilderatlas that took place at the venue 8. Salon, in Hamburg. The group’s members included among others Marcel Hüppauff, Jochen Lempert, Christian Rothmaler, Katha Schulte, Philipp Schwalb, Kolja Gollub, Regine Steenbock, Knut Wittmaack, and us. Above all, our focus was on developing a commentary about each panel; the captions were only occasionally checked and corrected. In spring 2016, we asked the Warburg Institute if we could search its Photographic Collection for the original images for two panels from the 1920s. The idea was to show panels 32 and 48 as part of an exhibition of the reconstruction of the Bilderatlas by the Forschungsgruppe Mnemosyne planned for the following summer at the ZKM │ Zentrum für Kunst und Medien, Karlsruhe, at the invitation of Peter Weibel. Most of the images that Warburg had handled himself were located relatively quickly, so we were encouraged to expand the experiment and search for all of the “original” panels. In autumn 2016, we gained the support of David Freedberg, then Director of the Warburg Institute, who gave us the go-ahead for the project. He had intended to show the original version of the Bilderatlas in London, but resigned as director just a few months later, bringing the cooperation to a halt for the time being.

In 2018, HKW in Berlin responded positively to our proposal to stage an exhibition of the recovery of the original version, and this initiative led to a revival of the cooperation with the Warburg Institute. Bill Sherman, the new director, put great effort into finally making our undertaking possible. Some periods of intense research in the Photographic Collection in 2019 achieved the result we had hoped for, identifying about 80 percent of the originals for the Bilderatlas as a whole. We were supported by the Institute’s archivist, Claudia Wedepohl, and Paul Taylor, and Rembrandt Duits from the Photographic Collection team, and crucially by Lorenza Gay. Mateusz Sapija, Susanne Förster, and Amirkhan Saifullin also worked with us at various times in the Photographic Collection. At the same time we reviewed and amended the captions systematically, with Joacim Sprung and Giovanna Targia supplying valuable pointers from afar.

In the end, less than a dozen of the 971 images still lack certain data on location, place of publication, or authorship. The numbering system used in the Gesammelte Schriften was retained on the grounds that it has become the international standard, even if it is inconsistent in places. Where it was not possible to find the originals in the Warburg Institute we drew on the Photographic Collection and the Warburg Institute Library to identify substitutes. Apart from anything else, in certain cases we were forced to use “originals” that had been altered in the interim—for example, cropped or remounted. Keeping the provisional character of Warburg’s work was uppermost. Thanks to the kind support of Bill Sherman and Uwe Fleckner we were also able to access material from the collections of the Zentralstelle für wissenschaftliche Sammlungen, Universität Hamburg. We also drew on data from Daedalus and from the archive of Forschungsgruppe Mnemosyne / fluid.

With the publication of the Folio volume Aby Warburg: Bilderatlas Mnemosyne – The Original in April 2020 we were able to present the state of our research.

Roberto Ohrt and Axel Heil, curators

Ab 2.11. läuft das HKW Programm digital weiter. Das Haus bleibt geschlossen. Mehr…

Kuratorisches Statement

Zur Entstehung der Ausstellung

Nachdem es Ernst Gombrich in den 1930er Jahren nicht gelungen war, den Bilderatlas Mnemosyne in eine Publikationsform zu bringen, blieben einige Listen mit Identifizierungen der Einzelabbildungen im Archiv des Warburg Institute zurück. Auf diese Quellen konnte Dorothée Bauerle zurückgreifen, als sie Ende der 1970er Jahre die erste umfassende Untersuchung des Bilderatlas durchführte. Ihre Unterlagen überließ sie der Transmedialen Gesellschaft Daedalus (Werner Rappl u. a.), die um 1990 ihre Recherchen begann und 1994 den gesamten Atlas mit einer weitreichenden Identifizierung seiner Bilder veröffentlichte. Einen entscheidenden Schritt für das Wissen über die Genese des Atlasses brachte in diesen Jahren die Promotionsschrift von Peter van Huisstede De Mnemosyne beeldatlas van Aby M. Warburg: een laboratorium voor beeldgeschiedenis (1992). In dem Bilderatlas, den Martin Warnke 2000 im Rahmen der Gesammelten Schriften Warburgs herausgab, waren die Angaben der Daedalus-Gruppe weiterentwickelt; sie enthielten allerdings immer noch Lücken und Fehler. Dieser Forschungsstand wurde mit den Übersetzungen – ins Französische, Italienische, Spanische, Hebräische, Japanische, Polnische – fortgeschrieben und nur punktuell korrigiert.

Im Mai 2012 gründeten wir in Hamburg die Forschungsgruppe Mnemosyne, mit der wir eine lange Veranstaltungs- und Ausstellungsreihe zum Atlas im 8. Salon in Hamburg durchführten. Zu dieser Gruppe gehörten unter anderem Marcel Hüppauff, Jochen Lempert, Christian Rothmaler, Katha Schulte, Philipp Schwalb, Kolja Gollub, Regine Steenbock und Knut Wittmaack. Wir konzentrierten uns vor allem auf die Erstellung eines Kommentars zu jeder Tafel; die Bildlegenden wurden nur stellenweise überprüft und korrigiert. Im Frühjahr 2016 schlugen wir dem Warburg Institute vor, in dessen Photographic Collection für zwei Tafeln die Originalabbildungen aus den 1920er Jahren zu suchen. Die Idee war, Tafel 32 und Tafel 48 bestückt mit Originalabbildungen aus dem Warburg Institute in der Ausstellung zur Rekonstruktion des Atlas der Forschungsgruppe Mnemosyne im Zentrum für Kunst und Medien (ZKM) Karlsruhe zu zeigen, zu der Peter Weibel uns eingeladen hatte. Ein großer Teil der Abbildungen auf den Tafeln, die Warburg selbst in die Hand genommen hatte, kam in relativ kurzer Zeit zum Vorschein – ein Erfolg, der uns ermutigte, den Versuch auf die „originalen“ Elemente aller Tafeln auszudehnen. Im Herbst 2016 konnten wir David Freedberg, seinerzeit Direktor des Warburg Institute, für diesen Plan gewinnen und erhielten von ihm den Auftrag, das Vorhaben umzusetzen. Er wollte die Originalversion des Atlas in London zeigen, trat einige Monate später jedoch von seinem Amt zurück, und so ruhte die Zusammenarbeit zunächst.

2018 ging das HKW auf unseren Vorschlag ein, die Wiederherstellung der Originalversion zum Gegenstand einer Ausstellung zu machen. Aufgrund dieser Initiative kam es zur Erneuerung der Kooperation mit dem Warburg Institute. Bill Sherman, der neue Direktor, unterstützte das Vorhaben mit dem ihm eigenen Elan. Unsere Recherchen in der Photographic Collection führten zum erhofften Ergebnis: Auch für den gesamten Atlas konnten wir etwa 80 Prozent der Originale des Bilderatlas sicherstellen. Wir wurden von der Archivarin des Instituts, Claudia Wedepohl, und dem Team der Photographic Collection – Paul Taylor und Rembrandt Duits – sowie maßgeblich von Lorenza Gay unterstützt. Daneben waren Mateusz Sapija, Susanne Förster und Amirkhan Saifullin mit uns in der Photographic Collection tätig. Zugleich überprüften und ergänzten wir systematisch die Bildlegenden, wobei Joacim Sprung und Giovanna Targia uns aus der Ferne wertvolle Hinweise gaben.

Nur für knapp ein Dutzend der insgesamt 971 Abbildungen fehlen nun noch einzelne Angaben zum Verbleib, Erscheinungsort oder zur Autorschaft. Die Nummerierung der Gesammelten Schriften wurde beibehalten, da sie sich mittlerweile international durchgesetzt hat, auch wenn sie zum Teil nicht nachvollziehbar ist.

Wo es nicht möglich war, die Originale zu finden, haben wir die Bestände der Photographic Collection und der Bibliothek des Warburg Institute benutzt, um Ersatzabbildungen zu generieren. In einigen Fällen mussten wir Originale verwenden, die zwischenzeitlich verändert worden waren, zum Beispiel beschnitten oder auf einen anderen Träger montiert. Dank der freundlichen Unterstützung von Bill Sherman und Uwe Fleckner konnten wir auf Material der Zentralstelle für wissenschaftliche Sammlungen, Universität Hamburg, zurückgreifen. Außerdem standen uns die Bilddaten von Daedalus (Wien) und dem Archiv der Forschungsgruppe Mnemosyne / fluid zur Verfügung.

Im April 2020 konnten wir mit der Publikation des Foliobandes Aby Warburg: Bilderatlas Mnemosyne – The Original den Stand unserer Forschungen vorlegen.

Roberto Ohrt und Axel Heil, Kuratoren