A Kind of World War

A Film essay by Anselm Franke & Erhard Schüttpelz

Video: HKW & Volte, 2021

Curators’ statement

Aby Warburg’s famous lecture on the Hopi snake ritual in Arizona is one of the most commented art history transcripts of the 20th century. But while Warburg’s snake ritual essay is firmly anchored in the canon of art history, to a wider public –especially in Europe – little is known about its source, the Hopi snake ritual and its history. A Kind of World War is dedicated to what Aby Warburg largely ignored himself: that not only the ritual, but also the images of the ritual – to whose global distribution Warburg contributed – have a political history.

The film traces the parallels and divergencies between the ritual acts of image-making and the historical events of Hopi snake rituals and Warburg’s slide lecture about these rituals at Bellevue Sanatorium in Kreuzlingen. At the time of the lecture, on April 21, 1923, Aby Warburg had been a patient in the psychiatric clinic for two years. For him, the lecture in front of patients and physicians – the publication of which he subsequently prohibited – was a performative picture act to free himself from his internment, a means of escape. For the Hopi, the snake ritual and its media popularization were a means of avoiding the immediate threat of the destruction of their own social structure by the US settler society. Once this threat was averted, the Hopi prohibited the production and distribution of images of the ritual.

A Kind of World War seeks to demonstrate that Warburg’s art history, insofar it outlines an internal history of the European psyche, must be read in conjunction with its external counterpart, the history of colonization, war and cultural entanglement. Once these omitted histories are taken into account, Warburg’s text with its image transfers from Oraibi to Kreuzlingen can act as material and template for an intercontinental art history yet to come.

Anselm Franke and Erhard Schüttpelz

A Kind of World War

Ein Filmessay von Anselm Franke & Erhard Schüttpelz

© Guillaume Cailleau

© Guillaume Cailleau

Kuratorisches Statement

Aby Warburgs berühmter Vortrag zum Schlangenritual der Hopi in Arizona ist einer der meistkommentierten kunstwissenschaftlichen Texte des 20. Jahrhunderts. Doch während Warburgs Schlangenritualtext fest im Kanon der Kunstgeschichte verankert ist, ist über seine Quelle, das Schlangenritual der Hopi und dessen Geschichte, einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit wenig bekannt – zumal in Europa. A Kind of World War widmet sich der auch von Aby Warburg selbst weitgehend ignorierten politischen Geschichte der Bilder dieses Rituals, an deren Verbreitung er teilhatte.

Der Film folgt den Parallelen und Divergenzen zwischen den rituellen Bildakten und historischen Ereignissen der Hopi-Schlangenrituale sowie Warburgs Dia-Vortrag darüber im Sanatorium Bellevue in Kreuzlingen. Aby Warburg war zum Zeitpunkt des Vortrags, am 21. April 1923, seit zwei Jahren Patient der psychiatrischen Klinik. Für ihn war der Vortrag vor Patient*innen und Ärzten – dessen Veröffentlichung er im Anschluss untersagte – ein performativer Bildakt zur Befreiung aus seiner Internierung, ein Fluchtmittel. Für die Hopi war das Schlangenritual und dessen mediale Popularisierung ein Mittel, sich der unmittelbaren Bedrohung der Zerstörung der eigenen Gesellschaftsstruktur durch die US-Siedlergesellschaft zu entziehen. Sobald diese Gefahr abgewendet war, verboten die Hopi die Produktion und Distribution von Bildern des Rituals.

A Kind of World War zeigt auf, dass Warburgs Kunstgeschichte, seine Skizzen zu einer inneren Geschichte der europäischen Psyche, zusammen mit ihrem äußeren Pendant gelesen werden müssen: der Geschichte von Kolonisierung, Krieg und kulturellen Verflechtungen. Denn wenn diese Geschichten berücksichtigt werden, dann kann Warburgs Text mit seiner Bildwanderung von Oraibi nach Kreuzlingen als Material und Vorlage für eine zukünftige interkontinentale Kunstgeschichte dienen.

Anselm Franke & Erhard Schüttpelz