HKW will be closed from June 11 to 16. Tickets for Wassermusik are available online. More…

Curatorial Statement

In 1993, the British historian and cultural scientist Paul Gilroy published the book The Black Atlantic – Modernity and Double Consciousness. In it, he describes the emergence of a hybrid and polyphonic African diaspora “counterculture of modernity,” which, according to the back cover is “not specifically African, American, Caribbean, or British, but all of these at once.” Here, music plays a prominent role as a means of communication. In addition, Gilroy insistently pointed out the dominant role played by slavery in the project of Western modernity, thus correcting the historical picture. HKW dealt with the “Black Atlantic” for the first time in 2004 with a large-scale consolidated program.

Gilroy saw his book as an experiment, an initial foray. “Black Atlantic culture is so massive and its history so little known that I have done scarcely more than put down some preliminary markers for more detailed future investigations,” he wrote in the preface. Roughly 25 years after the book’s publication (and 15 years after the HKW program), Wassermusik is now taking up Gilroy’s theses and looking back at the Black Atlantic once again: How have things evolved?

One major focus of the music program of Black Atlantic Revisited is on the Atlantic South: artists from Brazil (Gilberto Gil, Milton Nascimento, Virgínia Rodrigues, Luedji Luna), Colombia (Louis Towers, Maria del Rosario), South Africa (B.C.U.C.), from the Cape Verde Islands (Mario Lucio & Simentera, Miroca Paris) as well as transatlantic music projects such as Maravillas de Mali and Angelique Kidjo’s Celia Cruz program illustrate the relevance of Gilroy’s theses beyond the northern hemisphere. The film program refines the picture with feature and documentary films about Capoeira, the Afrobeats of Cuba and the struggle of the poet and scientist Amílcar Cabral against the Portuguese colonial powers of Cape Verde and Guinea Bissau.

What’s more, the Echoes of the South Atlantic conference in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut is part of a larger artistic research project by the Goethe-Institut on trans-South Atlantic dialog. Participants include Felwine Sarr, Gabi Ngcobo and Nanette Snoep, with keynotes delivered by Achille Mbembe and Paul Gilroy himself.

Detlef Diederichsen, curator

Vom 11. bis 16.6. bleibt das HKW geschlossen. Tickets für die Wassermusik sind online erhältlich. Mehr…

Kuratorisches Statement

1993 veröffentlichte der britische Historiker und Kulturwissenschaftler Paul Gilroy das Buch The Black Atlantic – Modernity and Double Consciousness. Er beschreibt darin die Entstehung einer hybriden und polyfonen afrodiasporischen „Gegenkultur der Moderne“, die laut Klappentext „nicht spezifisch afrikanisch, amerikanisch, karibisch oder europäisch ist, sondern all dieses zusammen“. Musik spielt hier als Kommunikationsmittel eine herausragende Rolle. Außerdem wies Gilroy eindringlich auf die tragende Rolle der Sklaverei im Projekt der Westlichen Moderne hin und korrigierte so das historische Bild. 2004 setzte sich das HKW in einem großen Verbundprogramm zum ersten Mal mit dem „Black Atlantic“ auseinander.

Gilroy sah sein Buch als einen Versuch, einen ersten Vorstoß: „Die Kultur des Black Atlantic ist so riesenhaft und ihre Geschichte so wenig bekannt, dass ich kaum mehr getan habe als ein paar erste Markierungen für zukünftige, detailliertere Untersuchungen zu setzen“, schrieb er im Vorwort. Rund 25 Jahre nach Erscheinen des Buches (und 15 Jahre nach dem HKW-Programm) nimmt jetzt die Wassermusik Gilroys Thesen auf und schaut ein weiteres Mal auf den Black Atlantic: Wie haben sich die Dinge entwickelt?

Ein Hauptfokus des Musikprogramms bei Black Atlantic revisited liegt auf dem atlantischen Süden: Künstler*innen aus Brasilien (Gilberto Gil, Milton Nascimento, Virgínia Rodrigues, Luedji Luna), Kolumbien (Louis Towers, Maria del Rosario), Südafrika (B.C.U.C.), von den Kapverdischen Inseln (Mario Lucio & Simentera, Miroca Paris), sowie transatlantische Musikprojekte wie die Maravillas de Mali oder Angelique Kidjos Celia-Cruz-Programm illustrieren die Relevanz von Gilroys Thesen über die nördliche Halbkugel hinaus. Das Filmprogramm schärft das Bild mit Spiel- und Dokumentarfilmen über Capoeira, die „Afrobeats of Cuba“ und den Kampf des Dichters und Wissenschaftlers Amílcar Cabral gegen die portugiesische Kolonialmacht der Kapverden und Guinea-Bissaus.

Dazu kommt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut die Konferenz Echoes of the South Atlantic, die Teil eines größeren künstlerischen Forschungsprojekt des Goethe-Instituts zum trans-südatlantischen Austausch ist. Zu den Teilnehmern gehören Felwine Sarr, Gabi Ngcobo und Nanette Snoep, die Keynotes halten Achille Mbembe und Paul Gilroy persönlich.

Detlef Diederichsen, Kurator