Open Call: The Whole Life Academy

AdA - Archiv der Avantgarden | © Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden. Photo: David Pinzer

AdA - Archiv der Avantgarden | © Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden. Photo: David Pinzer

Archives are the memory space of a society. As an institution they deeply shape the lived realities in a transforming present. In a so called era of post-truth, archives reflect and effect worldviews and knowledge constellations, documenting networks, power relations, and actors, in time and beyond time. Archival objects, thus, are much more than a record or representation of a past condition; they provoke a certain relationship between past, present, and future and mobilize temporal and topographic categories. Therefore it is necessary to encourage new approaches to collecting, researching, and archiving, to develop strategies that integrate marginalized realities of the past for a better understanding of contemporary complexities.

The Archiv der Avantgarden (AdA), a unique repository donated by the Berlin collector Egidio Marzona to the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden (SKD), is in the process of transformation from a private collection into a public archive. This collection encompasses around 1.5 million items combining artworks, prototypes, magazines, design objects and documentation of artistic production. As an archive it provides an index of twentieth-century aesthetic thinking and a record of the time’s sociopolitical ethics and utopian ideals, opening up questions regarding the constitution of an archive and its relation to contemporary sociopolitical developments.

These potential formulations launch the project The Whole Life: Archives and Reality—a collaboration of Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden (SKD), Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW), Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V. / Archive außer sich, and Pina Bausch Foundation—and outline the agenda for a week-long Academy to be held between May 19 and 25, 2019 in Dresden.

The Academy features a curriculum that includes excursions, working sessions, research, and public presentations. It will allow for a hands-on exploration of documents, films, works of art, and artifacts, connecting the AdA to participating partner archives, SKD archives and selected locations across Dresden. Participants will apply their questions, methods and practices to explore nomadically aesthetic discourses, the cultural topography of the archive, and its political agency. How can an archive’s materialized descriptions of complex cultural milieus become a tool to unravel collaborative knowledge production? How can we render visible the relations, genealogies, and resistances of the materials and objects of an archive?

The week culminates in a Congress (May 23 to 25), bringing together interdisciplinary experts and objects in order to explore archival material, locate traces, and narrate biographies, fusing the formats of the conference and public archive exploration.

Who can participate?

The call for participation is addressed to master’s and doctoral students from a wide range of disciplinary backgrounds including the arts, humanities, social and natural sciences, design, and architecture. We also welcome applications from independent artists, self-organized writers, intellectuals, researchers, curators, coordinators, editors, journalists, activists from outside academia, or from professionals working within institutions with collections, archives, or other representational systems of knowledge.

Participation in the Academy is free of charge. Accommodation and catering will be provided for all participants throughout the curriculum. Participants are expected to finance their own travel costs. A limited number of needs-based travel grants can be provided upon request. Please contact us as soon as possible for further information.

Childcare can be offered upon request.

Submission

We are seeking proposals consisting of a short CV and a motivation letter in which a research question must be formulated. The motivation letter should be between 300 and 500 words in length and include information about your own research interests and/or practices as well as a statement about which kinds of settings, formats, and methods in connection to the AdA and archives in general you believe need negotiation—both inside and outside academia. Please include contact details for one or two references if possible and send proposals as pdf files to

Deadline for submission of applications:
Dec 15, 2018

Notification of acceptance:
Jan 18, 2019

Requirements

Applicants should be committed to interdisciplinary collaboration and engaged discussion. Active participation is expected during both the Academy program and the Congress.

The program will be conducted in English.

If you are concerned that your level of proficiency in English is sufficient to attend the program, please contact us and we will try to organize a translator for you.

Further Information:

The Whole Life Academy is a collaboration of Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V. / Archive außer sich, Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW), Pina Bausch Foundation, and Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden. It is part of HKW´s project The New Alphabet, supported by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media due to a ruling of the German Bundestag.

Open Call: The Whole Life Academy

AdA - Archiv der Avantgarden | © Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden. Foto: David Pinzer

AdA - Archiv der Avantgarden | © Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden. Foto: David Pinzer

Archive konstituieren den Erinnerungsraum einer Gesellschaft. Als Institutionen prägen sie die Lebensrealitäten einer in stetem Umbruch begriffenen Gegenwart. Im sogenannten postfaktischen Zeitalter spiegeln und generieren Archive Weltbilder und Wissenskonstellationen, sind sie doch in der Lage, Netzwerke, Machtbeziehungen und Akteur*innen zu dokumentieren – in einer Zeit und über sie hinaus. Archivobjekte sind somit weit mehr als Momentaufnahmen oder Repräsentationen vergangener Zustände: Sie provozieren ein spezifisches Verhältnis zwischen Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft und setzen chronologische und topografische Kategorien in Bewegung. Vor diesem Hintergrund scheint es zentral, neue Ansätze des Sammelns, Forschens und Archivierens anzuregen, die Strategien entfalten, um marginalisierte Realitäten der Vergangenheit einzubeziehen und damit zu einem besseren Verständnis der komplexen Zusammenhänge in der Gegenwart zu gelangen.

Das Archiv der Avantgarden (AdA), das der Berliner Sammler Egidio Marzona den Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden (SKD) in einer Schenkung übergeben hat, befindet sich in Transformation – von einer privaten Sammlung in ein öffentliches Archiv. Diese Sammlung umfasst rund 1,5 Millionen Objekte, die Kunstwerke, Prototypen, Zeitschriften, Designobjekte und Dokumentationen künstlerischer Produktion miteinander vereint. Als Archiv bietet sie nichts Geringeres als einen Index des ästhetischen Denkens sowie ein Verzeichnis der soziopolitischen Ethiken und utopischen Ideale im 20. Jahrhundert. Im AdA werden Anknüpfungspunkte für grundlegende Fragen zur Konstitution eines Archivs und seinen Beziehungen zu zeitgenössischen gesellschaftspolitischen Entwicklungen deutlich.

Dieses Potenzial ist Ausgangspunkt des Projekts Das ganze Leben. Archive und Wirklichkeit – einer Kooperation von Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V. / Archive außer sich und Pina Bausch Foundation. Es bildet den Rahmen für eine einwöchige internationale Akademie, die vom 19. bis 25. Mai 2019 in Dresden stattfinden wird.

Das Curriculum der Akademie umfasst Exkursionen, Workshops, Objektsichtungen, Archivrecherchen und öffentliche Präsentationen. Im Vordergrund stehen dabei praxisorientierte Untersuchungen von Dokumenten, Filmen, Kunstwerken und Artefakten, die auch Verbindungen zu teilnehmenden Partnerarchiven, Archiven der SKD und ausgewählten Orten in Dresden knüpfen. Die Teilnehmer*innen können ihre eigenen Methoden und Praktiken anwenden, um ästhetische Diskurse, kulturelle Topografien des Archivs und dessen politische Wirkmächtigkeit zu erkunden. Wie können die Beschreibungen komplexer kultureller Milieus in einem Archiv genutzt werden, um Formen kollektiver Wissensproduktion zu dekodieren? Wie werden die Beziehungen, Genealogien und Widerstände der Objekte eines Archivs sichtbar?

Die Akademie mündet in einen Kongress (23.–25.05.), der Expert*innen und Objekte jenseits disziplinärer Grenzen zusammenführt. Ziel ist es, in einem Zusammenspiel von Archivsichtung und Konferenz Materialitäten zu erforschen, Spuren zu lokalisieren und Biografien zu erzählen.

Wer kann teilnehmen?

Das Programm richtet sich an Master-Studierende und Doktorand*innen aus einem breiten disziplinären Spektrum wie Kunst, Geisteswissenschaften, Sozial- und Naturwissenschaften, Design und Architektur. Bewerbungen von Künstler*innen, Autor*innen, Forscher*innen, Kurator*innen, Designer*innen, Redakteur*innen, Journalist*innen, Aktivist*innen, die außerhalb der Wissenschaft arbeiten, sind ebenso willkommen wie von Expert*innen, die in Institutionen mit Archiven und Sammlungen arbeiten.

Die Teilnahme ist kostenlos. Unterkunft und Verpflegung werden für alle Teilnehmer*innen während des Programms bereitgestellt. Reisekosten können nicht übernommen werden. Eine begrenzte Anzahl von bedarfsabhängigen Reisestipendien kann auf Anfrage zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns diesbezüglich so schnell wie möglich für weitere Informationen.

Kinderbetreuung kann bei Bedarf angeboten werden.

Bewerbung

Bewerbungen sollten aus einem kurzen Lebenslauf und einem Motivationsschreiben bestehen, in dem eine Forschungsfrage formuliert werden muss. Das Motivationsschreiben sollte zwischen 300 und 500 Wörtern umfassen und Informationen über die eigenen Forschungsinteressen und / oder -praktiken enthalten. Es sollte darüber hinaus Vorschläge anführen, welche Kontexte, Formate und Methoden Ihrer Ansicht nach in Verbindung mit dem AdA und Archiven im Allgemeinen diskutiert werden sollten. Bitte geben Sie nach Möglichkeit Kontaktdaten für eine oder zwei Referenzen an. Bitte senden Sie Ihre Bewerbung als PDF-Datei an

Frist für die Einreichung der Bewerbungen:
15.12.2018

Benachrichtigung über die Annahme:
18.01.2019

Anforderungen

Bewerber*innen sollten eine große Bereitschaft zu interdisziplinärer Zusammenarbeit und engagierter Diskussion mitbringen. Aktive Teilnahme wird sowohl während des Akademieprogramms als auch während des Kongresses vorausgesetzt.

Das Programm findet in englischer Sprache statt.

Wenn Sie Bedenken haben, ob Ihre Englischkenntnisse ausreichen, um an dem Programm teilzunehmen, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte und wir werden versuchen, eine*n Dolmetscher*in für Sie zu organisieren.

Weitere Informationen:

The Whole Life Academy ist eine Kooperation von Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V. / Archive außer sich, Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW), Pina Bausch Foundation und Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden. Die Akademie findet im Rahmen des HKW Projekts Das Neue Alphabet statt, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien aufgrund eines Beschlusses des Deutschen Bundestages.