HKW will be closed from June 11 to 16. Tickets for Wassermusik are available online. More…

The Whole Life: Archives and Reality

Photo: Marcus Schneider

Photo: Marcus Schneider

Photo: Marcus Schneider

Photo: Marcus Schneider

In the spatial setting of a public archive viewing in the Lipsiusbau, various positions from the visual and performing arts, journalism, dance, film and theory present different methods and practices examining archival holdings. Based on individual objects of the Archiv der Avantgarden (AdA) of the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden, insights and traces in various archive locations, times and narratives will unfold. They form object-, time- and location-related case studies that test the possibilities of knowledge production in archives and experiment with new, cross-disciplinary methods. At the same time, the archive settings provide the framework for public lectures and performances that deal with the emergence, transformation and disappearance of archives on the basis of specific archive holdings.

A congress of international experts will deal with present players, methods and conditions of the institution of the archive while, in an interdisciplinary academy, young researchers have an opportunity to gain deeper insights into the contents and forms of the archives involved. The program is being developed in close cooperation with Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art (and partners), Pina Bausch Foundation and Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden (SKD).

The Archiv der Avantgarden (AdA) was compiled by the collector Egidio Marzona and handed over to the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden at the end of 2016. The collection consists of artistic works and sketches, letters and photographs, everyday objects, furniture and design objects: collections of objects by the Bauhaus, the Milanese Memphis group or the Braun company, alongside artworks by the Fluxus movement and Russian avant-garde journals. These are just a few examples of the abundance and complexity of the collection, which potentially condenses “the whole life” of different places and times and makes the historical connections of current issues visible: How is historical design reflected in the digital? How do radical social utopias of the workers’ movement affect today’s political discourses? How are the collective working practices of international artistic avant-gardes of the twentieth century linked to contemporary corporate cultures?

With the AdA as a starting point, the project understands archives as social networks of object biographies. They have the potential to create links between research and social practice, political contexts, cultural life and local structures. With methods of artistic and curatorial research, the project expands a spatially limited understanding of the archive and activates archival sites as part of interdisciplinary research practices. At the same time, questions of indexicality, tectonics and the development of archive holdings as well as their historical and contemporary testimony will be discussed. On the practical level, the project will address the current development of AdA in order to allow the archive to become a place of contemporary discourse.

Das ganze Leben. Archive und Wirklichkeit

Foto: Marcus Schneider

Foto: Marcus Schneider

Foto: Marcus Schneider

Foto: Marcus Schneider

Im räumlichen Setting einer öffentlichen Archivsichtung im Lipsiusbau sind eine Woche lang unterschiedliche Positionen aus den Bereichen bildende und darstellende Kunst, Journalismus, Tanz, Film und Theorie zu sehen, die vor dem Hintergrund ihrer jeweiligen Methoden und Praktiken Archivbestände befragen. Ausgehend von einzelnen Objekten des Archivs der Avantgarden (AdA) entfalten sich so Einblicke und Spuren in unterschiedliche Archivorte, Zeiten und Narrative. Sie bilden objekt-, zeit- und ortsbezogene Fallstudien, die Möglichkeiten der Wissensproduktion in Archiven erproben und mit neuen, disziplinübergreifenden Methoden experimentieren. Die Archiv-Settings bilden zugleich den Rahmen für öffentliche Vorträge und Lecture Performances, die sich anhand konkreter Archivbestände mit dem Entstehen, der Transformation und dem Verschwinden von Archiven auseinandersetzen.

Ein Kongress mit internationalen Expert*innen widmet sich den gegenwärtigen Akteur*innen, Methoden und Zuständen der Institution Archiv. In einer interdisziplinären Akademie haben junge Forscher*innen Gelegenheit für tiefere Einblicke in Inhalte und Formen der beteiligten Archive. Das Programm entsteht in einer engen Kooperation von Arsenal – Institut für Film- und Videokunst e.V. (und Partner*innen), Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW), Pina Bausch Foundation und Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden (SKD).

Das Archiv der Avantgarden (AdA) wurde von dem Sammler Egidio Marzona zusammengetragen und Ende 2016 den Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden übergeben. Die Sammlung besteht aus künstlerischen Werken und Skizzen, Briefen und Fotografien, Alltagsgegenständen, Möbeln und Designobjekten: Objektsammlungen des Bauhaus, der Mailänder Gruppe Memphis oder der Firma Braun neben Kunstwerken der Fluxus-Bewegung und russischen Avantgarde-Magazinen. Dies sind nur einige Beispiele für die Fülle und Vielschichtigkeit der Sammlung, in der sich potenziell „das ganze Leben“ unterschiedlicher Orte und Zeiten verdichtet und die historische Verknüpfungen aktueller Fragestellungen sichtbar werden: Wie spiegelt sich historisches Design im Digitalen wider? Wie wirken radikale soziale Utopien der Arbeiter*innenbewegung auf heutige politische Diskurse? Wie sind die kollektiven Arbeitspraxen internationaler künstlerischer Avantgarden des 20. Jahrhunderts mit den Unternehmenskulturen der Gegenwart verknüpft?

Mit dem AdA als Ausgangspunkt versteht das Projekt Archive als soziale Netzwerke von Objektbiografien. Sie haben das Potenzial, Verbindungen zwischen Forschung und gesellschaftlicher Praxis, politischen Kontexten, kulturellem Leben und lokalen Strukturen herzustellen. Durch Methoden der künstlerischen und kuratorischen Forschung findet eine Erweiterung eines räumlich begrenzten Archivbegriffs und die Aktivierung von Archivorten als Teil heutiger Archivpraxis statt. Zugleich werden Fachfragen rund um die Indexikalität, Tektonik und Erschließung von Archivbeständen sowie ihrer historischen oder zeitgenössischen Zeugenschaft diskutiert. Auf der praktischen Ebene wird es um die aktuelle Entwicklung des AdA gehen, um das Archiv als Ort zeitgenössischer Diskurse erfahrbar werden zu lassen.