Fri, Sep 24–Sun, Sep 26: Road closures and traffic obstructions around HKW. More...

Additional program

The additional event program takes place within the setting of the public archive viewing and at various locations in Dresden. It provides a variety of formats that explore discursive, performative, and material approaches to the notion of the archive and archival practices. The thematic lecture formats of the Tiny Desk Lecture Series are developed by the cooperation partners, launching from a specific object or archival practice. Situated within the space of the public archive viewing, the lecture series provides an informal setting where materials and objects are examined and questioned on their narratives, hidden ideologies, potentials, and relations. The subsequent evening program invites experts for three evening events that explore social and political aspects of archival practices and address the issue of the contemporary relevance of archival materials. Open conversations, film analyses, and roundtables will explore shifts in meaning and transformations within the archive context.

Program

Mon, May 20, 2019

6 pm—7.30 pm
Tiny Desk Lecture
Kunsthalle im Lipsiusbau

Experts from selected archives of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden, the City of Dresden, and the Free State of Saxony tell their stories using materials or objects from their collections. At the center of the conversation are fundamental questions about the status of the object, narrative strategies in the archive, shifts in meaning, and translation processes between the archive and the wider social world. Agnes Matthias, Curator for Research and Scientific Cooperation at the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden, for example, uses a photograph by Ricarda Roggan to present the ZEITKAPSEL. Musealer Raum exhibition as an image from the Josef Hegenbarth Archive. The exhibition is showing until 1 September 2019.

Concept: Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden

With Marion Ackermann (General Director of Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden), Sven Beckstette (Curator of the Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof − Museum für Gegenwart − Berlin), Stephanie Buck (Director of the Kupferstich-Kabinett at the Josef-Hegenbarth-Archiv Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden), Matthias Flügge (Rector of the Hochschule für Bildende Künste Dresden), Till Grahl (Scientific-Artistic Director of the Deutsches Institut für Animationsfilm Dresden), Kerstin Küster (Research Assistant at the Gerhard Richter Archiv Dresden), Michael Lailach (Curator and Research Assistant at the Kunstbibliothek, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin), Egidio Marzona (collector), Agnes Matthias (Curator for Research and Scientific Cooperation at the Staatliche Kunstsammlung Dresden), Andreas Schalhorn (Consultant for Modern and Contemporary Art at the Kupferstichkabinett of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin), Andrea Wettmann (Director of the Saxon State Archive), and Vera Wobad (Archivist at the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden)

8.30 pm—10 pm
Evening Program
Lichthof im Albertinum

The donation of the Marzona Collection to the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden and the Staatliche Museen Berlin is the starting point of this evening. The conversation is less concerned with the institutions but more so with the artists, designers, and producers whose material, works, and objects are part of the collection. How do these practitioners see this process of change? From their perspective, what happens to the works during the private collection’s transformation process into a public archive? The evening makes possible a change of perspective in the way we deal with archived material and material that is still to be archived.

Concept: Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden

With Godula Buchholz Liebig (Galerist), Yane Calovski (Artist), Mateusz Kozieradzki (ZW Foundation Archive Natalia LL), Katharina Sieverding (Artist), Stiletto Studio,s (Lighting Fixture Construction Company, One-man Artist Group), Franz Erhard Walther (Artist) und others.

Moderated by Marion Ackermann (General Director of Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden), Egidio Marzona (Collector), Moritz Wullen (Director of Kunstbibliothek Berlin, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin)

Tue, May 21, 2019

6 pm—7.30 pm
Tiny Desk Lecture
Kunsthalle im Lipsiusbau

[im]materiality – Using selected examples, representatives of the Pina Bausch Foundation present the material and digital archive of the foundation, and discuss the interface of materiality and immateriality.

Concept: Pina Bausch Foundation

With Bernhard Thull (Universität Darmstadt) and Ismaël Dia (Head of the Archive of the Pina Bausch Foundation)

8.30 pm—10 pm
Evening Program
Gewölbe im Lipsiusbau
Film Screening and Conversation

Comparative review of two different German versions of the film Nacht und Nebel (Nuit et Brouillard, France, 1956) by Alain Resnais: the West German version from the archive of the Oberhausen Short Film Festival (16mm, b/w) and the DEFA version (originally 35mm, b/w & color) in the form of a digitized video cassette from the Federal Film Archive (Bundesarchiv-Filmarchiv). The screening is followed by a discussion regarding the different effects of the two versions and their function as “portable places of remembrance”.

Concept: International Short Film Festival Oberhausen within the framework of Archive außer sich

With Mareike Bernien (Artist/ Kunsthochschule Kassel), Tobias Hering (Curator and Publicist, International Short Film Festival Oberhausen) and Nicole Wolf (Film Scholar, Anthropologist and Curator)

Wed, May 22, 2019

5 pm—6 pm
Performance
Kunsthalle im Lipsiusbau
schwanken with Tanja Krone and Clarissa Thieme

schwanken is a performative intervention into the exhibition space. Six performers from Dresden recite the original of Christa Wolf’s letter alongside translations in their own languages: a polyphonic/multilingual choir of political-social shifts and upheavals in relation to Clarissa Thieme’s artistic response to the AdA.

Performance with six performers and a text by Christa Wolf (2019)
With Ashraf Ayash, Ahmad Muhebbi, Thi Hong Hanh Nguyen, Lita Poliakova, Arthur Leo Weinhold, Peter Welchman

6 pm—7.30 pm
Tiny Desk Lecture
Kunsthalle im Lipsiusbau

Archive außer sich is a series of interdisciplinary research, event, and exhibition projects on film heritage and the archives in which it is found. What is cultural heritage? Who is addressed by it? Which communities, narratives, and communication formats are derived from it, and how stable are they? Or, to reformulate these questions: which as-yet unknown archives are producing the present? At the core is the idea of the Living Archive: research, digitization, and/ or restoration of archival materials are part of a contemporary artistic and curatorial practice that regards itself as participatory: the archive is a place of production. Beyond presenting their individual ideas, the project participants will also touch on the broader discussions taking place among themselves, with the aim of demonstrating the complexity and diversity of archival discourses.

Concept: Archive außer sich, a project by Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art

With participants of partner institutions Archive außer sich, consisting of the International Short Film Festival Oberhausen, silent green Film Feld Forschung, Harun Farocki Institute, SAVVY Contemporary, pong film and the Master’s program “Film Culture: Archiving, Programming, Presentation” at the Goethe University Frankfurt a. M.

Begleitprogramm

Das Begleitprogramm findet im Rahmen der öffentlichen Archivsichtung sowie an verschiedenen Orten in Dresden statt. Es bietet eine Vielzahl von Formaten, die diskursive, performative und materielle Zugänge zu einer Befragung des Archiv- und Archivierungsbegriffs erproben. Die Vortragsformate der Tiny Desk Lectures werden von den Kooperationspartnern täglich ausgehend von einem bestimmten Objekt oder einer bestimmten Praxis thematisch entwickelt. In einem informellen Setting inmitten in der Archivsichtung werden Materialien, Skizzen und Objekte nach ihren Geschichten, verborgenen Ideologien, Potenzialen und Verwandtschaften befragt. Das anschließende Abendprogramm lädt Expert*innen zu drei Abendveranstaltungen ein, die sich mit sozialen und politischen Aspekten des Archivs und Archivierens befassen und Fragen nach der Gegenwartsbezogenheit, Präsenz und heutiger Relevanz von Archivgut stellen. Offene Gespräche, Filmanalysen und Roundtables untersuchen Bedeutungsverschiebungen und Transformationen im Archivkontext.

Programm

Mo, 20.05.2019

18–19.30h
Tiny Desk Lecture
Kunsthalle im Lipsiusbau

Expert*innen aus ausgewählten Archiven der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin, der Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden und der Stadt Dresden wie des Freistaates Sachsen berichten anhand eines Materials oder Objekts der Sammlungen aus ihrer Archiv und Archivierungspraxis. Grundsätzliche Fragen nach dem Objektstatus, Erzählstrategien im Archiv, Bedeutungsverschiebungen und Übersetzungsvorgängen zwischen Archiv und Gesellschaft stehen dabei im Zentrum. Agnes Matthias, Kuratorin für Forschung und wissenschaftliche Kooperation der Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden, stellt beispielsweise anhand einer Fotografie von Ricarda Roggan die Ausstellung ZEITKAPSEL. Musealer Raum als Bild im Josef-Hegenbarth-Archiv vor, die dort noch bis 1.9.2019 zu sehen ist.

Konzept: Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden

Mit Marion Ackermann (Generaldirektorin Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden), Sven Beckstette (Kurator der Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin), Stephanie Buck (Direktorin Kupferstich-Kabinett mit Josef-Hegenbarth-Archiv Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden), Matthias Flügge (Rektor Hochschule für Bildende Künste Dresden), Till Grahl (Wissenschaftlich- Künstlerischer Leiter Deutsches Institut für Animationsfilm Dresden), Kerstin Küster (wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin Gerhard Richter Archiv Dresden), Michael Lailach (Kurator und wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter der Kunstbibliothek, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin), Egidio Marzona (Sammler), Agnes Matthias (Kuratorin für Forschung und wissenschaftliche Kooperation Staatliche Kunstsammlung Dresden), Andreas Schalhorn (Referent für moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst am Kupferstichkabinett der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin), Andrea Wettmann (Direktorin Sächsisches Staatsarchiv), Vera Wobad (Archivarin Archiv der Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden)

20.30–22h
Abendprogramm
Lichthof im Albertinum

Die Schenkung der Sammlung Marzona an die Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden und die Staatlichen Museen Berlin bildet den Ausgangspunkt dieses Abends. Dabei sollen weniger die Institutionen im Zentrum der Unterhaltung stehen, sondern gerade diejenigen Künstler*innen, Designer*innen und Produzent* innen zur Sprache kommen, deren Material, Arbeiten und Objekte Teil der Sammlung sind. Wie sehen Künstler*innen, deren Werke die Sammlung ausmachen, diesen Veränderungsprozess? Was geschieht aus ihrer Sicht mit den Werken im Transformationsprozess von einer Privatsammlung zum öffentlichen Archiv? Der Abend erlaubt einen Perspektivwechsel im Umgang mit dem archivierten oder noch zu archivierendem Material.

Konzept: Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden

Mit Godula Buchholz Liebig (Galeristin), Yane Calovski (Künstler), Mateusz Kozieradzki (ZW Foundation, Natalia LL Archive), Katharina Sieverding (Künstlerin), Stiletto Studio,s (Beleuchtungskörperbauunternehmen, Ein-Mann-Künstlergruppe), Franz Erhard Walther (Künstler) und anderen.

Moderiert von Marion Ackermann (Generaldirektorin Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden), Egidio Marzona (Sammler), Moritz Wullen (Direktor Kunstbibliothek Berlin, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin)

Di, 21.05.2019

18–19.30h
Tiny Desk Lecture
Kunsthalle im Lipsiusbau

[im]materiality – Akteur*innen der Pina Bausch Foundation stellen anhand ausgewählter Beispiele sowohl das materiale als auch digitale Archiv der Pina Bausch Foundation an der Schnittstelle von Materialität und Immaterialität vor.

Konzept: Pina Bausch Foundation

Mit Bernhard Thull (Universität Darmstadt) und Ismaël Dia (Leiter Archiv der Pina Bausch Foundation)

20.30–22h
Abendprogramm
Gewölbe im Lipsiusbau
Filmpräsentation und Gespräch

Vergleichende Sichtung zweier unterschiedlicher deutscher Sprachfassungen des Films Nacht und Nebel (Nuit et Brouillard, Frankreich, 1956) von Alain Resnais: der westdeutschen Fassung aus dem Archiv der Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen (16mm, s/w) und der DEFA-Fassung (ursprünglich 35mm, s/w & Farbe) in Form einer digitalisierten Videokassette aus dem Bundesarchiv- Filmarchiv. Anschließendes Gespräch über die unterschiedliche Wirkung der beiden Fassungen und ihre Funktion als „tragbare Erinnerungsorte“.

Konzept: Internationale Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen im Rahmen von Archive außer sich

Mit Mareike Bernien (Künstlerin/ Kunsthochschule Kassel), Tobias Hering (Kurator und Publizist, Internationale Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen) und Nicole Wolf (Filmwissenschaftlerin, Anthropologin und Kuratorin)

Mi, 22.05.2019

17–18h
Performance
Kunsthalle im Lipsiusbau
schwanken mit Tanja Krone and Clarissa Thieme

schwanken ist eine performative Intervention im Ausstellungsraum, in der sechs Performer*innen aus Dresden in ihren Muttersprachen das Original sowie die Übersetzungen eines Briefes von Christa Wolf rezitieren: ein mehrstimmiger/mehrsprachiger Chor politisch-gesellschaftlicher Verschiebungen und Umbrüche in Relation zu Clarissa Thiemes künstlerischer Verarbeitung des AdA.

Performance mit sechs Performer*innen und einem Text von Christa Wolf, 2019
Mit Ashraf Ayash, Ahmad Muhebbi, Thi Hong Hanh Nguyen, Lita Poliakova, Arthur Leo Weinhold, Peter Welchman

18–19.30h
Tiny Desk Lecture
Kunsthalle im Lipsiusbau

Archive außer sich beschäftigt sich als Serie von interdisziplinär angelegten Forschungs-, Veranstaltungs und Ausstellungsprojekten mit dem filmkulturellen Erbe und seinen Archiven. Was ist kulturelles Erbe, welche Gemeinschaften und Narrative, welche Adressaten und Vermittlungsformate leiten sich daraus ab und wie beständig sind sie? Oder: Welche noch unbekannten Archive bringt die Gegenwart hervor? Zugrunde liegt die Idee des Living Archive: Erforschung, Digitalisierung und/oder Restaurierung von Archivinhalten sind Teil einer partizipativ verstandenen künstlerischen und kuratorischen Gegenwartspraxis. Das Archiv ist ein Ort der Produktion. Die Projektteilnehmer*innen stellen nicht nur ihre Themen, sondern auch den gemeinsamen Diskussionsstand vor, um die Komplexität und Vielfalt von Archivdiskursen darzulegen.

Konzept: Archive außer sich, ein Projekt des Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst

Mit Teilnehmer*innen der Partnerinstitutionen von Archive außer sich, bestehend aus den Internationalen Kurzfilmtagen Oberhausen, silent green Film Feld Forschung, Harun Farocki Institut, SAVVY Contemporary e.V., pong film und dem Masterstudiengang „Filmkultur: Archivierung, Programmierung, Präsentation“ der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt a. M.