Right the Right

Ideas for Music, Copyright and Access
2019, Nov 21, Thu — 2019, Nov 24, Sun

Chicks on Speed | Video still, Melissa E. Logan, Edit: Elfe Brandenburger. Camera: Steven Aaron Hughes

Chicks on Speed | Video still, Melissa E. Logan, Edit: Elfe Brandenburger. Camera: Steven Aaron Hughes

Hermeto Pascoal and band | Photo: Gabriel Quintão

Hermeto Pascoal and band | Photo: Gabriel Quintão

Dan Bodan | Photo: Julia Burlingham

Dan Bodan | Photo: Julia Burlingham

Mitch & Mitch & Kassin | Photo: Tomasz Dubiel

Mitch & Mitch & Kassin | Photo: Tomasz Dubiel

Copyright is in crisis. Since digitization at the latest it’s become clear that the many design flaws in copyright law impede the work of creative people. Musicians in particular struggle with the lack of legal certainty and inscrutable payment mechanisms. Digital technologies not only transform creative practices in music and media culture, but also how supply and access are regulated, such as by content filters.

So in the future will the assertions of intellectual property rights decide what music is created and who can listen to it? How are power relations distributed in times of platform economics and streaming services? How could protective and utilization models be redesigned in the interest of art and the public? What rights and regulations make sense in a globalized world? Right the Right explores the problems and proposed changes, future scenarios, enhancements and alternatives for music copyright in concerts, performances, lectures, presentations and discussions.

With concerts by the legendary Brazilian multi-instrumentalist Hermeto Pascoal, who several years ago decided to renounce royalties for the use of his compositions; performative commissioned works on audio ID technologies by Chicks On Speed and Jasmine Guffond, algorithmically processed compositions by Dan Bodan; a joint concert by the copyright critics Mitch & Mitch and copyright advocate Kassin and a sound installation by Jan St. Werner (Mouse On Mars) based on audio material from the US indie rock band The National.

With lectures and discussion input from the artists Holly Herndon & Mat Dryhurst, the legal scholars Ruth Okediji and Niva Elkin-Koren, the economics historian and music streaming researcher Rasmus Fleischer, the free-software artist group Constant, the blockchain expert Carlotta de Ninni and many others.

More about the program…

Part of The New Alphabet

Nov 21–24, 2019

Concerts, talks, performances

Evening ticket: 13€/10€
Festival pass: 30€
Tickets online

Talks and film free admission

Program
Wednesday, Nov 20
Thursday, Nov 21
Friday, Nov 22
Saturday, Nov 23
Sunday, Nov 24

Stay up-to-date on the HKW program with our weekly newsletter.
Register here

Chicks on Speed, Videostill, Melissa E. Logan, Bearbeitung: Elfe Brandenburger. Kamera: Steven Aaron Hughes
Hermeto Pascoal und Band, Foto: Gabriel Quintão
Dan Bodan, Foto: Julia Burlingham
Mitch & Mitch & Kassin, Foto: Tomasz Dubiel
Howie Lee, Foto: Jun Yokoyama

Do., 21. November 2019 — So., 24. November 2019

Right the Right

Ideas for Music, Copyright and Access

Konzerte, Talks, Performances

21.–24.11.2019

Das Urheberrecht und das Copyright sind in der Krise. Spätestens seit der Digitalisierung zeigt sich: Die zahlreichen Konstruktionsfehler dieser Gesetze erschweren Kreativen zunehmend ihre Arbeit; insbesondere Musiker*innen kämpfen mit mangelnder Rechtssicherheit und undurchsichtigen Vergütungsmechanismen. Digitale Technologien transformieren nicht nur kreative Praktiken in der Musik- und Medienkultur, sondern auch, wie Angebot und Zugang reguliert werden, z.B. in Form von Content-Filtern.

Bestimmt also in Zukunft die Durchsetzung geistiger Eigentumsrechte darüber, welche Musik entsteht und wer sie hören kann? Wie werden die Machtverhältnisse in Zeiten von Plattformökonomie und Streamingdiensten verteilt? Wie könnten Schutz- und Verwertungsmodelle im Interesse von Kunst und Öffentlichkeit neu gestaltet werden? Welche Rechte und Regulierungen sind sinnvoll in einer globalisierten Welt? Right the Right untersucht Problematiken und Änderungsvorschläge, Zukunftsszenarien, Erweiterungen und Gegenentwürfe zum Musik-Copyright in Konzerten, Performances, Vorträgen, Präsentationen und Diskussionen.

Mit Konzerten des legendären brasilianischen Multiinstrumentalisten Hermeto Pascoal, der vor einigen Jahren beschloss, auf Tantiemen für die Nutzung seiner Kompositionen zu verzichten; performativen Auftragsarbeiten zum Thema Audio ID-Technologien von Chicks On Speed und Jasmine Guffond, algorithmisch verarbeiteten Kompositionen von Dan Bodan; einem gemeinsamen Konzert der Copyright-Kritiker Mitch & Mitch mit dem Copyright-Befürworter Kassin, einem Live-Set von Howie Lee, dem originalitätskritischen Star-Produzent aus Beijings neuer Undergroundszene und einer Sound-Installation von Jan St. Werner (Mouse On Mars), die auf Audio-Material der US-Indie-Rock-Band The National basiert.

Mit Vorträgen und Diskussionsbeiträgen der Künstler*innen Holly Herndon & Mat Dryhurst, der Juristinnen Ruth Okediji und Niva Elkin-Koren, des Wirtschaftshistorikers und Musikstreamingforschers Rasmus Fleischer, der Free Software-Künstler*innengruppe Constant, der Blockchain-Expertin Carlotta de Ninni u.v.m.

Mehr zum Programm…

Im Rahmen von Das Neue Alphabet