Do Not Draw a Penis

Doodling with automated moderation

Do Not Draw a Penis

Do Not Draw a Penis

Today, algorithm-based artificial intelligence (AI) is used to control, calculate and predict increasingly complex processes. Machine learning is used for this: Algorithms are “fed” with a large amount of data from which they derive regularities.

To compile these data, Google uses freely accessible games in which, for example, players are asked to draw figures, which a bot comments on. “Is it a plane?” “Is it a broom?” “Ahh, I see, it’s a frog!” In 2018, Google published the dataset generated by this: more than 15 million drawings divided into 345 categories. Such freely accessible data sets are in turn used worldwide to train other AI projects. But with their categories they also provide a global social and ethical infrastructure. While you can find a “frog,” “angel” or “beard,” you won’t find, say, drawings of genitals and other morally “inappropriate” subjects.

Do Not Draw a Penis starts with the harmless and frictionless digital reality that companies like Facebook, Google, Baidu or WeChat strive to create: Users can freely scribble on a digital drawing pad. A bot comments on the drawings – and penalizes “immoral” ones. How can one rebel against the patronizing guidelines of the technological leviathans? Are there any digital loopholes?

Do Not Draw a Penis is available at HKW in one of the telephone booths from the early days of the Congress Hall – or online: donotdrawapenis.com

Do Not Draw a Penis

Kritzeln mit automatisierter Mäßigung

Do Not Draw a Penis

Do Not Draw a Penis

Algorithmenbasierte künstliche Intelligenz (KI) soll heute immer komplexere Vorgänge steuern, errechnen, vorhersehen. Dafür wird Machine Learning eingesetzt: Algorithmen werden mit einer großen Menge Daten „gefüttert“ und können daraus Gesetzmäßigkeiten ableiten.

Google setzt für das Erheben solcher Daten frei zugängliche Spiele ein, bei denen z.B. Spieler*innen Figuren zeichnen sollen, die ein Bot kommentiert: “Is it a plane?”, “Is it a broom?”, “Ahh i see, its a frog!” 2018 hat Google die daraus entstandenen Daten veröffentlicht – über 15 Millionen Strichzeichnungen, eingeteilt nach 345 Kategorien. Solche frei zugänglichen Datensets werden wiederum weltweit zum Trainieren von weiteren KI-Projekten genutzt. Doch mit ihren Kategorien formen sie auch eine ethische Infrastruktur: Während hier „Frosch“, „Engel“ oder „Bart“ zu finden sind, sucht man z. B. vergeblich nach Zeichnungen von Geschlechtsorganen und anderen moralisch „unpassenden“ Motiven.

Do Not Draw a Penis setzt bei der harm- und konfliktlosen digitalen Realität an, die Firmen wie Facebook, Google, Baidu oder WeChat anstreben: Auf einem digitalen Zeichenpad können die Nutzer*innen frei kritzeln. Ein Bot kommentiert die Zeichnungen – und bestraft „unmoralische“. Wie lässt sich gegen die bevormundenden Leitlinien der Technologie-Giganten rebellieren? Gibt es digitale Schlupflöcher?

Do Not Draw a Penis ist im HKW in einer der Fernsprech-Zellen aus den Anfangstagen der Kongresshalle zugänglich – oder auch online: donotdrawapenis.com